We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darwin FreeSpirit Resort

901 Stuart Highway, Holtze, Northern Territory 0829, Australia (Formerly Palms Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Share an Experience

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    84
    40
    21
    21
See reviews for
105
96
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (276)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I would like to say I stayed in January for2 weeks for work I found every thing to be great compared to some parks the rooms were great the food was great the staff were great so overall the whole stay was great and I will be staying there again as I spend a lot of time in Darwin for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear John O Thanks for your great review and we are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next work trip to Darwin. Regards Danella More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This appears to be a great caravan park but a few let downs experience as a downer. We were staying with our young girls 1 and 2. The high chair we were given was mouldy and falling apart, when asked for a suitable one we were told that's the best they had and even agreed that they wouldn't put their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Daniel_Brennan We are pleased to know you had an overall relaxing stay with us and thanks for your feedback. Apologies for the mix up with housekeeping and towels not being left during your service, as the bed linen and all towels should have been changed at this time. We will follow this up with our housekeeping manager to ensure... More 

Palmerston, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We have stayed several times at this resort and have found it to be clean and family friendly. Would recommend to anyone wanting a fun, easy getaway. The fact that there are 3 pools means they are not over populated. Great place to explore and has lots to do so you can entertain the kids without leaving the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rachael M Thanks for your kind words and for your continued patronage of our holiday park. We appreciate when our guests take the time to give us feedback and to share their experiences with others. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Danella More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Ok. The worst experience! We are local Top End people. This place was our10 year old son's favorite place to stay when we had to go to Darwin. I called recently to book AGAIN only to be told that we were in trouble as we had left our cabin in a mess, that it took the cleaners over an hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rachel B We are disappointed to read your recent post. Your last stay with us was in October 2014 and unfortunately the room was left in a state that required extra cleaning. We never accused you of partying in the room or having alcohol as your review mentions. We spoke with you to explain the grievances encountered from your... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

If your looking for a 5 star hotel this is not it. Darwin is expensive and this was a great alternative toast luxury hotel. It is self catering shich I love. You are only serviced once a week., which I also love. You can relax. Pool was wonderful and there are meals available is site if you want. Cabins comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jan c Thanks for your kind words. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks also for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Regards Danella More 

Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

A must stay, highly recommended. We had a ball, close to everything, great pool to cool off. Staff were awesome and accommodated our every need. The restaurant was a highlight for us as we keep saying we had the best Thai curry ever and the Barra was absolutely sensational. I think the best time to come to the territory is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andrew T Wow - thanks so much for your awesome review - we are so pleased to know you enjoyed staying with us. We will be sure to share your kind words with our entire team as they work hard everyday to provide a product that suits the needs of all our guests. We hope to see you again... More 

Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Pay top dollars for motels in Darwin? Why would you when you have freedom of comfort choice, fresh air, great location with easy access. All meals and drinks are served with smiles 7 days a week as is the great office staff, right through to the ground staff, very friendly and most helpful. It's a pleasure to stay where you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Barry T Wow, thanks so much for your kind words. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and also the holiday park experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards Danella More 

Katherine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

As always the service and staff were fantastic,the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was amazing ($5 pancakes OMG) and the grounds and amenities were clean and tidy. Dissapointed I asked for Territorian rate when I arrived and was told No, our trip was a last minute one and the first place I went as usual when arriving to Darwin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chloe W Thanks again for your great review, however sorry that the “Territorian rate” which we mentioned last time wasn’t offered & that Emma wasn’t available to speak to - Emma no longer works for us. What the staff should have informed you is that at the moment we have a “Wet Season Special” available to all guests -... More 

Lake Munmorah, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We returned again this year - October 2014, (previously 10 nights in Oct/Nov 2013) and stayed 12 nights, again in a Garden Cabin. Very nice accommodation with adequate inclusions. Courteous staff throughout the Resort, from booking (months ago) to check out. Noisy neighbours on a couple of nights finally settled down, but lovely and quiet the rest of the time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay B Wow - thanks for your awesome review. We work hard to provide a holiday park experience for all our guests that’s one they remember for all right reasons - so we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Your comments re the pricing are noted and we are doing our best... More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We were unfortunate enough to stay at another park for 2 nights, and had enough of construction noise, donga works and workers leaving at 4.30am!!! We discovered the FreeSpirit Resort, which was cheaper, cleaner, and very family orientated. It was a breath of fresh air. Even thoughtful enough to have the simple things, like ceiling fans in the ablutions blocks!!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Veronica R Wow, thanks so much for your lovely review - we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We try hard to provide a holiday park that meets the needs of all our guests so it’s great to know you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, that our staff were helpful and also the added... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question