We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darwin FreeSpirit Resort

901 Stuart Highway, Holtze, Northern Territory 0829, Australia (Formerly Palms Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    86
    40
    21
    21
See reviews for
108
98
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Kununurra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We have stayed many times at this park and it's great for kids and parents. Facilities are super and the pool is clean. Food always good and cabins generally in good clean condition. We'll run, organised park that is a credit to the management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Darwin Freespirit for 3 days in a cabin. Everything was easy and enjoyable. I checked in early in the morning, reception opens at 7.30am. If you check in any earlier they have it set up so you can access your keys when you get there. The cabin I stayed in was set up well. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely spacious park, friendly staff - all smile. Plenty of pools to choose from. Amenities very good and spotless. Have been on road for 7 months and this park was one of the best we have stayed in - a real oasis after travelling up through middle of Oz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Fremantle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The facilities here couldn't be faulted. The bathrooms were clean, the cooking facilities were generous & well maintained. We didn't use the laundry facilities but they also looked great. The pool was gorgeous. The staff were friendly & helpful. We were staying in a campervan with grandparents and kids & we were all very happy with the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear TwoPlusTwo_13 Thanks so much for your kind words – we are very pleased to know you enjoy your stay with us. We will ensure your kind words are passed onto the entire team. Safe travels and we hope to welcome you back in future. Regards Danella, Sean and all the team at DF More 

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my favourite place to stay. The location may appear to be far from some places, but I think it is situated with easy access to the city, casuarina, Palmerston and major industrial areas. The accommodation suits singles, couples and families with exceptional cabins with various sizes. I love the gardens and pool. If this wasn't here in darwin,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear J9c10 Wow - thanks for your awesome review and kind words - we are really pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Danella, Sean and all the team at DF More 

Darwin, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the park for a week. Was outstanding. conducted a wedding there and the service was excellent. Michelle the planner went over and above our expectations . One suggestion for improvement a pool bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear 347dan Thanks for your awesome review. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was excellent. We agree that a in-pool bar would be great addition and we will put that onto our wish list of improvements for the future. Also thank you for the special mention of Michelle – I will... More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I would like to say I stayed in January for2 weeks for work I found every thing to be great compared to some parks the rooms were great the food was great the staff were great so overall the whole stay was great and I will be staying there again as I spend a lot of time in Darwin for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear John O Thanks for your great review and we are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next work trip to Darwin. Regards Danella More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This appears to be a great caravan park but a few let downs experience as a downer. We were staying with our young girls 1 and 2. The high chair we were given was mouldy and falling apart, when asked for a suitable one we were told that's the best they had and even agreed that they wouldn't put their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Daniel_Brennan We are pleased to know you had an overall relaxing stay with us and thanks for your feedback. Apologies for the mix up with housekeeping and towels not being left during your service, as the bed linen and all towels should have been changed at this time. We will follow this up with our housekeeping manager to ensure... More 

Palmerston, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We have stayed several times at this resort and have found it to be clean and family friendly. Would recommend to anyone wanting a fun, easy getaway. The fact that there are 3 pools means they are not over populated. Great place to explore and has lots to do so you can entertain the kids without leaving the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rachael M Thanks for your kind words and for your continued patronage of our holiday park. We appreciate when our guests take the time to give us feedback and to share their experiences with others. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Danella More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Ok. The worst experience! We are local Top End people. This place was our10 year old son's favorite place to stay when we had to go to Darwin. I called recently to book AGAIN only to be told that we were in trouble as we had left our cabin in a mess, that it took the cleaners over an hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rachel B We are disappointed to read your recent post. Your last stay with us was in October 2014 and unfortunately the room was left in a state that required extra cleaning. We never accused you of partying in the room or having alcohol as your review mentions. We spoke with you to explain the grievances encountered from your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question