We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darwin FreeSpirit Resort

901 Stuart Highway, Holtze, Northern Territory 0829, Australia (Formerly Palms Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Claire H Greater Brisbane, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    116
    92
    43
    24
    25
See reviews for
113
106
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (300)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Hobart
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 nights and were advised when we booked in that we would have to move to another site after that time. When we went to the office to find another site (at this park) they said there was no site that would accommodate our vehicle and the customer service people were not interested. The showers weren't always hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danella_FreeSpirit, Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear GardenLoverCygnet Thanks for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review on our park. We apologise if you felt our customer service staff were not interested – I can assure you that is not the case. Our reception staff are working tirelessly to ensure all our guests get the site and dates that they... More 

Greater Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully kept, very clean and tidy, friendly campsite which is close to Darwin. 3 pools, clean and tidy facilities, great bar with happy hour. Kid and also couple friendly. Lots of space on sites. Powered sites are good. Helpful, friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Claire H Thanks so much for your kind words – they are appreciated. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in future. I will ensure your comments are shared with our team to say thanks to them for their tireless efforts too. Safe travels! Regards Danella More 

Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed a couple of weeks in the campsite because it was the cheapest option at this time. I hated it! The staff were treating us like sh**. Sometime rude with us and creating some rules to make us leave. (like allowing only one tent per site instead of two and four people in total per site.) The laundry machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danella_FreeSpirit, Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear ChaM23 We are pleased to know you enjoyed our swimming pool and that you found it relaxing, and also that the showers were clean and had good water pressure - thank you. Apologies if your stay with us was not as you had hoped and we regret that you didn’t like our conditions of stay. We had people sharing... More 

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a couple of nights here in our motor home. The staff were so friendly on arrival we were given a welcome pack with all sorts of information about what we could do in and around Darwin for our stay. The amenities were very clean and plentiful and the bins were emptied every day, a very quiet park. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danella_FreeSpirit, Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear KLG62 Thank you for your lovely review – we love knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to provide you with information to make your time in Darwin memorable and we hope you enjoyed your free drink. Safe travels and we hope to welcome you back in future. Regards Danella More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm not sure why this place is so popular. It's half an hour out of town and not cheap. My husband, went in to the bistro for dinner but found the music was uncomfortably loud so left. He went in for breakfast, waited to order at the bar, for 7 minutes, but the staff just kept walking past him so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear sarinozi Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our park. We do our best to meet the needs of all our travellers, however sometimes we just don’t seem it get it right, and on this occasion it seems we haven’t. I do wish you had brought some of these concerns to my attention during your stay... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in easy and was easy to find site. We were down the far back corner of the park. Hoping for a nice refreshing swim after a long drive but the pools are freezing. So slightly disappointed with that. We headed to the two free water parks near the park. The main resort area was way too far away. Ammenties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Amy B Thanks for your review - we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to know that you thought we have a good location and that you love Darwin – cause we do too! Your comments re the pool are noted – this is the first year we... More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked into a powered site, plenty of room for large vans and a good level site. Ablution block is a little old and could do with a refresh but seems to handle the load OK. The pool and restaurant are excellent, ideal for a quite meal. While about 16Kms from Darwin centre it is close to Palmerston Shopping centre and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danella_FreeSpirit, Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear gpcarro Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you will be back again next year - we are also sure you will enjoy the premium powered sites. Your comments re the amenities block are noted and we... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

At last a caravan where children are treated with kindness and respect. Our Kids have enjoyed daily afternoon swims, and an activity program for kids began on our second week, due to Darwin school holidays. Big credit to the Activity Co-ordinator, Maddy. Maddy was well liked by all the children and had them engaged and happy in all activities (craft,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear “robbie350” Thanks for your kind words – we love knowing that you had a great experience when staying with us recently. We will be sure to share your kind words with all our entire team as they are all working very hard at the moment trying to ensure all our guests are looked after and enjoying their stay. We... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well to give 1 star is too much in my opinion , I was appalled to see how these people 'do business' ! In no way at any time was I treated as a guest , except for check in ! I was more of a burden to this park , well that is the impression I got ! If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gemma H Thanks for your review and we regret that your stay with us was not as you had hoped. There are 2 sides to every story and without us going “tit for tat” on all the issues you mention, we’ll agree to disagree.  We appreciate and respect all our guests, and only ask that they abide by... More 

Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We stayed here for 8 nights in a palm cabin have stay here 3 times before The bathroom was filthy it needs a good clean with exit mould We didnt get a clean service at all or even a change of towels The Meals at elements restrauant are very poor we had chicken parma and the chicken was raw we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Darwin FreeSpirit Resort, responded to this review

Dear Everblast Firstly thank you for staying with us for a 3rd time, we really appreciate your business and I sincerely apologise for the less than satisfactory experience you seem to have received on this occasion. I do wish you had brought these issues to my attention during your stay so I could have rectified these immediately. We have had... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holtze
8.8 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#4 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
8.6 mi away
Elan Soho Suites
Elan Soho Suites
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
8.8 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
5.0 mi away
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Howard Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay