We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Glyn Ceiriog B&Bs / inns

The Glyn Valley Historic Inn

Llanarmon Road, Glyn Ceiriog LL20 7EU, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Glyn Valley Historic Inn to your Saves list
The Glyn Valley Historic Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
71%
Ranked #3 of 4 Glyn Ceiriog B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
TezcanM Exeter, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (14)
  • Photos (3)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed three nights at Glyn Valley Hotel. It is located exactly in the town centre where all the roads meet. The room was comfortable and clean - with TV, tea and coffee, and ensuite shower. The bed was also very comfortable. Marcus and Ellie were very polite and accomodated all my needs, including some vegan alternatives for the breakfast.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
willhelmtell, Manager at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you again. From Markus and the Team More

Shoreham-by-Sea
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Being four touring motorcyclists we needed a good location to explore north Wales. We came across The Glyn Valley Hotel and, at short notice, booked ourselves in for two nights. We were greeted by Marcus who, from the moment we walked in, couldn't do more for us. He even invited us to put our motorcycles in his private drive so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
willhelmtell, Manager at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It's always a pleasure to serve appreciative guests, it makes all the difference to a full day's work. We all look forwards to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Markus and Team More

wirral cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stopped for lunch on a glorious Sunday.the food was un eatable .my husband had a very poor beef pie and anaemic frozen chips . My special Swiss kidney dish was badly cooked, the rositi was at least hot.All massively overpriced for what it was.very disappointed it's such a beautiful part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
willhelmtell, Owner at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you found the meal disappointing. Our food is cooked by an award winning Swiss chef who uses only fresh local ingredients, so we don't know what has caused the problem. We weren't aware you had a problem with your meal as your dishes came back empty. If we were made aware of the problem we would... More

Travelers are raving about these Glyn Ceiriog hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Well we went in after a new year drive the young staff are amazing. Owner not so. We had afternoon tea it was over priced the scones were old the cream on the scones was sour and at £11.95 could have gone the milk bar in Chirk which their tea was amazing do not go for tea drink the beer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
willhelmtell, Owner at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

Apologies for an, in your words, bad experience! After a 20+ hour New years eve party, I might have come across a tad jaded, that's why I passed you on to a bubbly and competent young lady! Our afternoon tea costs £5.95 per person, not £11.90 each! As I personally prepared your order and all the others that afternoon, I... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed two nights on an autumn break, with dinner. Friendly, relaxed and a great location. Breakfast and dinner both good, and the room was warm and comfortable. (Warm being important, since it snowed while were there.)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only frequented the Inn to eat both friday and saturday night last weekend. We were staying in a cottage on a farm a mile or so away. on the first night after we had beautiful mouthwatering meals from lamb burgers, steaks and pasta dishes. they make all their own sauces and they're to die for. I was moaning that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
wa87bd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Glyn Valley Hotel is a friendly , relaxed pub with rooms .It is easy to find in this quiet village in a steep valley . Local bitters are served in the bar together with the usual other drinks . The service was good . The double room was comfortable and clean . We enjoyed our meal in the dining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel ticked all our boxes for a great Christmas break. Great location with stunning views. Heidi and Marcus (the owners) were very welcoming and accommodating. The food was delicious and the bedroom warm, comfortable and clean. The only thing missing was the snow! We are looking forward to going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as friends had organised a Reunion in the hotel. The room ws comfortable, the food good, and the staff very friendly. The hotel was easy to find nd is in a very picturesque position in the valley. Always a smile in the morning and last thing at night. If only other hotels could give such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We love walking and headed into Wales. We had decided to stay at The Glyn Valley Hotel...what a find! It's a haven hidden in a little bit of countryside that looks just like a Swiss valley. Marcus who owns the hotel really went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. Lovely meals by the fire, and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Glyn Valley Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glyn Valley Historic Inn

Address: Llanarmon Road, Glyn Ceiriog LL20 7EU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Glyn Ceiriog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Glyn Valley Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of the enchanting Ceiriog Valley, midway between Chirk and the magnificent Pistyll Rhaeader Waterfalls, our Hotel offers the ideal centre for a short break or long stay holiday. The scenery is magnificent, any many outdoor pursuits such as trout fishing, cycling, rambling, pony trekking and parascending are available locally, with three golf courses only 15 minutes drive away. We would be happy to make all arrangements in advance of your visit. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Glyn Valley Historic Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer