We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Glyn Valley Historic Inn

Llanarmon Road, Glyn Ceiriog LL20 7EU, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save
You added The Glyn Valley Historic Inn to your Saves list
The Glyn Valley Historic Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 4 Glyn Ceiriog B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
David W Chester
Add Photo

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Chester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here for a meal as we were visiting a friend in Glyn ceriog. We were served very quickly and the food we ordered arrived soon as well. The food was ok ,not fantastic but ok . I would eat here again as the staff were very friendly but don't expect anything other than standard tasty pub grub .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped in for a couple of drinks after our afternoon walk around the valley and really enoyed ourselves. Everyone was friendly, there was a great log fire, and there was a pool table / sky sports too. Would definitely return if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Pawl il-Baħar, null, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Really love this B&B. Glyn Ceriog is a beautiful place to visit and we always use the Glyn Valley. Great breakfast with plenty to eat, great rooms. Markus always makes you feel welcome. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Glyn Valley hotel was ideal for our plans over the few days in the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were adequate for what we needed and yes I can't compliment them enough on the service. The rooms were a little unclean , and while I'm not particularly fussy over things like that , marks on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlynValleyHotel, Owner at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

The Glyn Valley Inn is a 180 year old listed historic Inn. Due to the size of the rooms it is a logistical nightmare to fit the appropriate size of beds into the limited space. Some of the beds are valuable antiques, which are difficult to match to modern comfort. As to the Housekeeping complaints, the raised issues will be... More 

Manchester, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Last night I had the pleasure of visiting The Glyn Valley Hotel in Glyn Cieriog with a friend. There were a few friendly locals who greeted us when we arrived. and a very nice and warm log fire.We were also greeted by the host Marcus whom we found very attentive and nice. The waitress was a pleasant young lady who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GlynValleyHotel, Owner at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal and service, we always strive for satisfaction from every customer. See you in the summer! More 

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I was halfway through a long walk and was passing the Glyn Valley Inn when I thought I'd nip in and take a look as I'd passed by it in the car a number of times before and never stopped. It's a delightfully traditional pub inside which is obviously the hub of village life. I initially felt that it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

Markus was kind to accommodate my mother at short notice, late at night. She ended up staying 3 nights. When we cancelled the 4th on the day we were not charged which was considerate. I thought £45 for a single room was expensive for bed and breakfast. The room was very clean and recently decorated. It was, however, very small.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed three nights at Glyn Valley Hotel. It is located exactly in the town centre where all the roads meet. The room was comfortable and clean - with TV, tea and coffee, and ensuite shower. The bed was also very comfortable. Marcus and Ellie were very polite and accomodated all my needs, including some vegan alternatives for the breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
willhelmtell, Manager at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you again. From Markus and the Team More 

Shoreham-by-Sea
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Being four touring motorcyclists we needed a good location to explore north Wales. We came across The Glyn Valley Hotel and, at short notice, booked ourselves in for two nights. We were greeted by Marcus who, from the moment we walked in, couldn't do more for us. He even invited us to put our motorcycles in his private drive so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
willhelmtell, Manager at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It's always a pleasure to serve appreciative guests, it makes all the difference to a full day's work. We all look forwards to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Markus and Team More 

wirral cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stopped for lunch on a glorious Sunday.the food was un eatable .my husband had a very poor beef pie and anaemic frozen chips . My special Swiss kidney dish was badly cooked, the rositi was at least hot.All massively overpriced for what it was.very disappointed it's such a beautiful part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
willhelmtell, Owner at The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you found the meal disappointing. Our food is cooked by an award winning Swiss chef who uses only fresh local ingredients, so we don't know what has caused the problem. We weren't aware you had a problem with your meal as your dishes came back empty. If we were made aware of the problem we would... More 

Travelers are raving about these Glyn Ceiriog hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glyn Valley Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay