We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Kilbirnie hotels

Brentwood Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Kemp St, Kilbirnie, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Brentwood Hotel to your Saves list
Brentwood Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
55%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kilbirnie
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
WJKH Wellington, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (112)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (31)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    38
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
28
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a conference and unfortunately my first impression was a bad one due to the grouchy woman on the front desk. Just one (the other was lovely) and so I don't unfairly implicate others, the rude one's first name starts with a K and ends with an N :-) In all the extensive number of places I've... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WJKH - thank you for submitting a review of your recent conference stay at the Brentwood Hotel. I am extremely disappointed that your initial experience of our service from one our reception staff was rude and grouchy. I would like to offer you my unreserved apologies for this poor service you received and assure you that the matter will... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our third time staying at the Brentwood and again I was disappointed and left feeling like they didn't want us there, all because of a few grumpy ladies on the front desk. All three times they have not smiled, acted as if we were an inconvenience to them for asking any questions. The other staff on the floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna W – thank you for submitting your comments and review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. I was disappointed to read that our reception team have not provided you with the level of level of service on the occasions you gave stayed to make you feel welcome. I have discussed your comments with the reception team... More

Melbourne, Vic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here because it is close to the airport and they have an excellent airport shuttle service. It even runs at 3.45am which is the shuttle I had to catch to get the early 6am flight to Melbourne. I stayed here on two different nights. The first time I heard no noise whatsoever. The second time I did notice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear slinky1100 - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent airport stopover. I am pleased you found our location and shuttle service convenient for the purpose of your stay. It was also good to read that you found the hotel comfortable and that the staff were helpful in ensuring the return... More

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Came here for overnight stay as I had a work commitment at the airport. Would recommend this for short stay :) Service - Friendly service all-round. From pick-up to drop-off, great service. Value - Reasonable price for quite a big room and have all the amenities you need. Sleep - Quite a comfortable bed and had 1x double plus 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MJJC_1982 - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you were well looked after by all of our team from the time of your airport pick up to your drop off. We certainly appreciate your extensive review of our services and facilities and... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Thanks BRENTWOOD hotel for making our meeting run smoothly. Except for Wednesday, all staff was very welcoming and helpful. On our last day we got pushed out of our conference room at about 4 pm?!? Anyway food was lovely, staff was very friendly. I recommend this hotel to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lisa_glenfield – thank you for submitting a review of your recent conference stay at the Brentwood Hotel. We appreciate your favourable comments regarding the friendly helpful service you received and that you enjoyed the food. We have reminded our staff to allow guests time to pack up in conference rooms before they commence clearing. Thank you for your recommendation... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My one-night stay here was unscheduled, as I was obliged to leave the hotel in central Wellington that I had been staying in at minimal notice. The food was great, and room service was a lot cheaper than it was at the Rydges Hotel, Also, it was a lot more convenient for my flight home to the UK, as I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HughO1962 - thank you for submitting your review of your stay at the Brentwood Hotel from last July. I am pleased that by coming across your receipt from your stay, this prompted you to post a review. Certainly our location is very convenient for the airport which was beneficial to you on that occasion. I was interested to read... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The facilities are a little dated, but the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff was excellent and always met me with a smiling face, even when I had to be shuttled to the airport at 4am! The location is great for quick stopovers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ReineS - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and that our location was ideal for your stopover. I trust that we will have the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel through Wellington. Regards Anthony Dey, General Manager More

Glen Innes, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If your after a quick stopover with a free airport shuttle and 24 hr reception, this may be your place to stay. We had to wait about 25 minutes for the bus, after having advised in advance of our arrival time, not the end of the world, but at 12.30 a.m, perhaps a little disappointing. The room was fine, without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear michael l – thank you for submitting a review of your recent stopover with the Brentwood Hotel. I can understand you were disappointed in having to wait for the shuttle upon your arrival. As rule we are unable to pre-arrange pick up from the airport as our drivers are unable to wait at the airport due to the pick-up/drop... More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a single level convention hotel very close to Wellington airport. It is a rambling place with accommodation wings going in various directions. The corridors have variously old worn carpets or vinyl and are pretty uneven in places. The room I had was 1960's style. The heater was ancient and gave off a tiny amount of heat. The paint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AbhayHamilton - thank you for submitting your comments and review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. The hotel was constructed in the 1960’s and is a low rise timber building with accommodation wings connecting off the central courtyard pool. Aspects of the original rimu timber have been retained to reflect the design style of the hotel. All... More

Travelers are raving about these Kilbirnie hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Checked into this hotel at 3am after work. Walked down the creepy ship like hallway that smells of musty to my room.. which had a huge stain beside the bed of.... who knows what and the stench of rotting carpet. Around 6am the airport (which sounds like it has a taxiway through the hotel) fired up as did the creaky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jordan M - thank you for submitting your comments and review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. I am disappointed to read that your stay was less than satisfactory and sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations. We had recently experienced a leak from a hose in the corridor in that particular wing with the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Brentwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Hotel

Address: 16 Kemp St, Kilbirnie, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kilbirnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brentwood Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Wellington
Brentwood Hotel Greater Wellington/Kilbirnie

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
116

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer