We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brentwood Hotel

16 - 20 Kemp St, Kilbirnie 6241, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brentwood Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this place overnight prior to taking a flight connection for an international flight. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and provides free wifi albeit fairly limited - but good enough for checking emails. I chose the hotel for its proximity to the airport and shuttle service. Value for money hotel for this purpose.

Helpful?
Thank Muzza_129788
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Muzza_129788 - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. It is good to read that our location and shuttle service served the purpose for your stay and that you found your stay value for money. I trust that we may have the opportunity to host you again the next... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived after 14 hours flight late in Wellington. We booked this hotel through booking.com and really appreciated the pick-up from the airport. It was really late, so we went immediately to our room. The room was very, very basic and I didn't have the feeling it was all very clean. Next day, we left without having any food in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia v
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia v - thank you for submitting your comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your stay late last year. It is disappointing to read that you felt the room was not that clean and I do apologise if that was the case. It is good to read that you appreciated the airport shuttle service and felt the... More 

Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed overnight in December. Appreciated the shuttle service as we arrived in the early hours of the morning. Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly helpful staff both at reception and breakfast area. However, we did think the price for breakfast a bit much.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl B - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your stay late last year. It is good to read that the shuttle service worked well for you and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I trust that we may have the opportunity to host you again the next time... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean room, comfortable beds, great cheeseburgers and beers, fast wifi. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The airport pickup and drop off was quick and very professional. We had such a great stay! Highly recommended. We will be back again!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt Zion T
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt Zion T - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the cheeseburgers and beers. It is also good to read that you appreciated the airport shuttle service. We look forward to seeing you on your... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here in December and was not impressed by the age of the rooms and no free Wifi. After finding a large white Tail it was no surprise. a small area where dinner was served and I thought that a group of youths should have been given their own room as they were very noisy and to have breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cam P
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cam P - thank you for submitting your comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. I am disappointed that overall your stay with us fell short of your expectations. We do offer limited free Wifi so it is disappointing if this was not offered to you at the time of your check in. I can... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kilbirnie hotels

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights in December. Not a bad place really and was extremely cheap but it is a deceptively long way away from the CBD. Very close and convenient to airport so would be a good overnighter. Room was pretty old but had everything you could want. Overall everything was clean and tidy but is aged.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Akkadian
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Akkadian - thank you for submitting your comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. The Hotel is located approx. 6 km from the city centre making it accessible by private or public transport rather than by foot, however as you mention is convenient to Wellington Airport. It is pleasing to read that you found the... More 

Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

My husband & I booked a 2 night stay as a base. We flew with Air NZ to another destination the following day. The hotel provided us with transfers to and from the airport and made sure we had a comfortable stay. Our room was very clean, a credit to the staff. The bed was comfortable. The location is close... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donovan42
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donovan42 - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. It is good to read that you found our location ideal for the time you were in Wellington and our close proximity to the local Kilbirnie shopping precinct. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness of your room and the... More 

Davis, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

The Brentwood Hotel served purposes quite well during our New Zealand trip. We stayed here twice, upon arrival from States for an early flight to the South Island and prior to our very early departure to Australia. The rooms are large and clean. Beds were comfortable. The rooms provide a tea kettle, tea and cookies. The hotel provides excellent 24... More 

Helpful?
Thank neko100
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear neko100 - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stays. It is good to read that our location close to the airport served your needs well both at the time of your arrival and departure from the country. It is also pleasing to hear that you found the staff friendly... More 

Orange
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Very handy to airport, which is why I stayed. Apart from the entrance way and reception, it all has a rather tired look. Free Wifi lasts about 15 minutes and then I wouldn't pay for more . Rooms clean, and had food delivered which was OK. Won't rush back.

Helpful?
Thank Richard O
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard O - thank you for submitting your comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. I appreciate you choosing to stay at the Hotel due to our location and I trust that you found this convenient. We trust that you enjoyed your travels in NZ. Regards Anthony Dey, General Manager More 

Frankfort, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

In many ways I felt like I was in the Twilight Zone. 70's music on the intercom. 70's décor in the rooms. But it had real charm and the staff and waitress were great. I thought the breakfast was too expensive compared to Sydney. Dinners were nice.

Helpful?
Thank T816BCjamesc
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T816BCjamesc - thank you for submitting your comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel after your recent stay. I am pleased you found the Hotel had charm and that the staff were helpful. It is also good to read that you enjoyed dinner in the Hotel. We trust that you enjoyed your travels in NZ. Regards Anthony Dey, General... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbirnie
2.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#20 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#12 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#22 of 49 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
InterContinental Wellington
#4 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
2.5 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay