We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Salty Dog Inn

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach, New Zealand
The Salty Dog Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Snells Beach B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
915barbara Glen Eden Auckland
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    45
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Glen Eden Auckland
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a great time, staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic meals in the restaurant. Have visited many times and will return and recommend to all. Visited for wedding anniversary lots of places to visit and everything on the door step.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Fantastic that you enjoyed your time with us again. As you said there are many fun things to do in our little region with everything at your fingertips. We look forward to your return. Kind regards Debbie More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We bought a "Grab One" voucher - 2 people, 2 nights accommodation, 2 cooked breakfasts... awesome value for $155. Whilst I telephoned to book our weekend, an error was made and ultimately we were upgraded from a studio to an executive apartment with two double bedrooms and a huge spa bath! Check in was smooth and efficient (thanks Moses) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Their was a mix up with your booking as we had a new staff member took the call over the phone and only booked you in the system for one night hence the upgrade to the suite. Thank you for the comments regarding the kitchen equipment we... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was very disappointed with both the accommodation and food. The bathroom smelt of mildew, the toilet had mould on it. After using the shower the walls were dripping wet all night, as bathroom has no extractor fan. The TV was tiny, and although the unit was advertised as having Sky TV, it had only two Sky channels, which barely counts.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a disappointing stay. I am also not sure why you had difficulty getting the sky channels as we have 6 sky channels in the rooms. The Hotel is 20 years old however this is the first time in the past 3 years we have been here to have had such a bad review. Our Pizza's... More 

Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Had a very nice stay thankyou although it would have been good to know that breakfast was included. Our booking confirmation said nothing to this effect and we found out on checkout. Booked with Booking.com so something needs to be done so that guests are fully informed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Fantastic feedback I will get this sorted ASAP. I had know idea it was not appearing on our confirmations. Thank you and sorry. More 

Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Lovely service, great Guinness, great food. I love the friendly atmosphere of Snells Beach and the Salty Dog is a place I go regularly to unwind, have a few pints and talk to the locals. Love the Salty Dog

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

We are please you love to come to the Salty. Thank you for your feedback it means a lot to us all. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

The Salty Dog in would have to be one of the best places I have stayed in a long time, the facilities were great, the rooms were comfortable, the bar has a great atmosphere and friendly locals, the Mussel fritters are to die for!! I will be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Jeff you have made my day. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. The famous Mussel fritters are a real hit and when we recently changed the menu that was one item not to be taken off. We look forward to you joining us on one of our theme nights or karaoke nights in the near future.... More 

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We've stayed at the Salty Dog many times before. However - a while ago we heard some negative comments - and were unsure about a return visit. We're glad we ignored the comments - as we found the Salty Dog was even better than our last visit. The service was very friendly and helpful - Moses in particular was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for not taking in too much of the negative you had heard. We try our best and it is very sad to hear when people have had a bad experience, and we all understand once something goes wrong the night pretty much snowballs for that guest and very hard to bring them back to understanding a mistake was... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The staffs are very nice from the time you check in. They even given you suggestions on where to go and what to do. The rooms are clean and the place is very accessible with a lot of food choices in the inn.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice feedback place we hope that we will see you again some time soon. Warm regards Debbie and the team More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

I have dined at the restaurant here several years ago and found it very good, but we have just spent 3 nights on a short break and it was delightful. Very friendly staff, nice atmosphere but done out like an old English pub. Very good food, with bistro menu and a full restaurant. Lots to do round the area as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review you have written. Thank you for the nice feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards Debbie More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The Salty Dog was a value for money one night stop over. The room was clean & tidy and a generous size. When we booked, they were offering - breakfast included, which is always nice at an Inn. The staff were nice & friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed you time with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.2 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
3.7 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
11.3 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 6 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
5.0 mi away
Matakana Country Lodge
Matakana Country Lodge
#3 of 10 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
4.0 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 10 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay