We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Salty Dog Inn

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach, New Zealand
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Salty Dog Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    47
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Tauranga
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

At first we thought this was a value for money motel with all the essentials,i.e.comfortable bed, hot shower with good quality linen. And it seemed that until someone had their shower in the unit above us and we couldn't hear the TV and had to turn it up loud to hear, the same in the night when they used the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruawai, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we found the room to be great the only downside was the bar manager i found him to be rude thought we would of been treated a bit better being house guests. The breakfast was the best breakfast i've had for a long time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The apartment was clean with everything we needed, but very tired and very dated. The spa bath was lovely but only a couple of the jets worked. We wanted a single bedroom or studio which were sold out so booked a 2 bedroom which most other places would offer at the 1 bedroom rate as we weren't going to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
northland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place as it has its own restaurant and bar. Set back from the road makes it relatively quiet. The room had a few stains on the carpet was warm enough after turning the heater on for awhile. The only bug bear I have is that I lept thinking there was a car starting up and idling outside all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pukehina Beach NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a single traveller it is great to arrive at a comfortable clean room with excellent reception staff plus a restaurant and bar for convenience. A great stay. The property is also close to shops and was in walking distance to the venue where my function was held.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glen Eden Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great time, staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic meals in the restaurant. Have visited many times and will return and recommend to all. Visited for wedding anniversary lots of places to visit and everything on the door step.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Fantastic that you enjoyed your time with us again. As you said there are many fun things to do in our little region with everything at your fingertips. We look forward to your return. Kind regards Debbie More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We bought a "Grab One" voucher - 2 people, 2 nights accommodation, 2 cooked breakfasts... awesome value for $155. Whilst I telephoned to book our weekend, an error was made and ultimately we were upgraded from a studio to an executive apartment with two double bedrooms and a huge spa bath! Check in was smooth and efficient (thanks Moses) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Their was a mix up with your booking as we had a new staff member took the call over the phone and only booked you in the system for one night hence the upgrade to the suite. Thank you for the comments regarding the kitchen equipment we... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Was very disappointed with both the accommodation and food. The bathroom smelt of mildew, the toilet had mould on it. After using the shower the walls were dripping wet all night, as bathroom has no extractor fan. The TV was tiny, and although the unit was advertised as having Sky TV, it had only two Sky channels, which barely counts.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a disappointing stay. I am also not sure why you had difficulty getting the sky channels as we have 6 sky channels in the rooms. The Hotel is 20 years old however this is the first time in the past 3 years we have been here to have had such a bad review. Our Pizza's... More 

Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Had a very nice stay thankyou although it would have been good to know that breakfast was included. Our booking confirmation said nothing to this effect and we found out on checkout. Booked with Booking.com so something needs to be done so that guests are fully informed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Fantastic feedback I will get this sorted ASAP. I had know idea it was not appearing on our confirmations. Thank you and sorry. More 

Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Lovely service, great Guinness, great food. I love the friendly atmosphere of Snells Beach and the Salty Dog is a place I go regularly to unwind, have a few pints and talk to the locals. Love the Salty Dog

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

We are please you love to come to the Salty. Thank you for your feedback it means a lot to us all. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.2 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
3.7 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
11.3 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 6 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
3.7 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay