We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Snells Beach B&Bs / inns

The Salty Dog Inn

242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WIFI + BREAKFAST INCLUDED
The Salty Dog Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Salty Dog Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Snells Beach B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
June D Tweed Heads, New South Wales, Australia
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Tweed Heads, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

By no means flash very comfy great meals staff could not be faulted home away from home we had a great time enjoyed Fridays karaoke fab night we could walk to all amenities beach shops but the hotel its self was good to enjoy sit back and relax would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for a place to stay for a weekend getaway. This place was very reasonably priced $140.00 for the night including breakfast. The Salty Dog Inn is near to the beach (walking distance) and close to shops etc (also walking distance). It is great having the pub on the location as you can have a quiet drink and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes we have live music till the end of Feb every weekend. We hope we might see you again. More 

Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
78 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a clean, large room at the end of the block (room 10) on the ground floor. Plenty of light and space to sit outside at the side. The bolt on the back door was missing so would be easy to break in. Wifi in the bar is free. Efficient same day laundry service The shower had no stall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We stayed at The Salty Dog Inn 6th Dec for a night too get away. The rooms were ok clean but need some updating. The bins were horrible in the kitchen they were very dirty (don't think a paper bins are meant to be in a kitchen). Also the Tv was very small and the couch very uncomfortable. Wifi is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debzverne, Manager at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

We pride ourselves on great customer service so I am not sure how you were so let down by us. Sorry you were disappointed in your stay. This is not normal feedback for us. Our website has our menu's stated and Bistro has many options including fried food as it is to absorb alcohol part of our host responsibility within... More 

auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

My partner and I decided to get away for a spur of the moment roadtrip out of Auckland for one night. We picked the Salty Dog Inn because of the driving distance from Auckland (just over an hour) and the wee Pub attached to the Inn which serves Guinness (a compulsory for my Irish partner). On arrival we were shown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and sadden the food was not the best. We do have a new chef on who started with us 2 weeks ago in Bistro's so I will make sure that his food is looked over. Thanks for the feedback and we hope you will stay with us again soon. Kind regards Debbie More 

Perth. WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We decided to break our trip north and stopped at the Salty Dog, picked on name alone. A good choice, as it proved to be an excellent stop over. The rooms were clean and tidy, with plenty of space and good facilities. The dining area in the Inn was terrific, the service was spot on and even better the meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I remember you as I walked you to your room on check-in. We are very pleased you enjoyed you short time with us and only hope that you may have more time next time to spend in our lovely region. Take care until we meet again. Kind regards Debbie More 

Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Wanted to get out of Auckland for a night. Good size room. Great Location and quite place. Super with the Pub and Restaurant close. Yummy Breakfast. Will defiantly stay again soon. Close to shops and Beaches.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Manager at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased we meet your needs and look forward to your return in the future. Take care till then. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful staff - the accommodation was very comfortable, well maintained and ideal for our purposes and we really enjoyed the bar and food service. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and were made to feel very welcome throughout. Nothing we needed seemed to be any trouble to staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

What lovely feedback and very much appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. Take care until then. Kind regards Debbie More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We have stayed many times over the years at Salty the Dog. This time it was a treat for my birthday and honestly have to say we were very disappointed. On arrival at 4pm there was no one around at reception - it was raining hard - my husband had to wander round trying to find someone to help us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

This is very disappointing feedback and I am somewhat surprised. We have a door bell at the reception (outside if doors are closed) which should have sent someone to you immediately. The Rooms do have sky and DVD players, but yes they are small TV's. We hope that people who come to our lovely region will enjoy our hotel and... More 

Tewantin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

This property is located in a beautiful part of N.Z. The room was large with a basic shower room. The TV was miniscule - like a PC monitor. The main criticism was that the external lights stayed on too long, making it not dark at sleep time. Good for one night stay. However the staff were brilliant, thank you Moses!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are blessed to live in such a beautiful part of NZ with a beautiful community. I hear your feedback regarding the lighting staying on till late, and this is due to the fact we have a licence in the bar to 1am This means we need to keep the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Salty Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Inn

Address: 242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Salty Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (52)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay