We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Salty Dog Inn

Hotel website
242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach, New Zealand
Special Offer
WIFI + BREAKFAST INCLUDED
The Salty Dog Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Snells Beach B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
frostoff59
Review This Hotel

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having stayed one night, the room was well equipped, and had a spa bath, it was clean tidy and spacious. There was a bar and restaurant next door serving excellent food. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The only complaint was that it stated it had sky tv and free wireless? The wi fi cost$3 an hour and tv... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed in your stay. The Bar does have free wifi however if you want the internet in your room it is $3.00 for 200mb or a total of one hour surfing the net. The TV's do have 7 channels but if you want more you could join us in the Bar. Hopefully you will consider... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 3 nights and had a room across from the main building, so very quiet. had all the amenities including very inexpensive laundry, which we had done. Presented well- folded and sweet smelling on return. Great food at the inn restaurant- especially scallops. Another advantage can buy a bottle of wine at the bar and drink for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes we are we lucky to have a great Liquor store within walking distance at the top of the driveway. I am glad you found a new favorite wine. We do hope we might see you again one day soon. Until then safe travels kind regards Debbie. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Stayed one night and ate at the Irish pub attached to this accomodation. Lovely room with massive comfy bed and massive shower. the fridge needs replacing as it was rusty but otherwise this was a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoy your stay and look forward to your safe return someday soon. Warm regards Debbie More 

Auckland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This homely little inn and restaurant were exactly what we wanted for an easy and close getaway from Auckland. The staff were all very friendly and relaxed, our room was clean and spacious. The bed was HUGE and very comfortable. The TV promised was very small though, but there was plenty of entertainment so we didn't need it all that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that we suited your needs. The menu was designed for sharing on valentines day so maybe you can come stay with us again and enjoy our a la carte menu. Take care until then. Warm regards Debbie More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We found this motel very comfortable and set in attractive grounds. The staff were friendly. The units were of a good size and clean. The only downside could be that the cooking equipment was limited. However, with a restaurant/bistro on site and a good breakfast included, who wants to cook.?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return one day soon until then, stay safe. Kind regards Debbie More 

Tweed Heads, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

By no means flash very comfy great meals staff could not be faulted home away from home we had a great time enjoyed Fridays karaoke fab night we could walk to all amenities beach shops but the hotel its self was good to enjoy sit back and relax would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We were looking for a place to stay for a weekend getaway. This place was very reasonably priced $140.00 for the night including breakfast. The Salty Dog Inn is near to the beach (walking distance) and close to shops etc (also walking distance). It is great having the pub on the location as you can have a quiet drink and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes we have live music till the end of Feb every weekend. We hope we might see you again. More 

Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
77 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We had a clean, large room at the end of the block (room 10) on the ground floor. Plenty of light and space to sit outside at the side. The bolt on the back door was missing so would be easy to break in. Wifi in the bar is free. Efficient same day laundry service The shower had no stall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We stayed at The Salty Dog Inn 6th Dec for a night too get away. The rooms were ok clean but need some updating. The bins were horrible in the kitchen they were very dirty (don't think a paper bins are meant to be in a kitchen). Also the Tv was very small and the couch very uncomfortable. Wifi is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Debzverne, Manager at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

We pride ourselves on great customer service so I am not sure how you were so let down by us. Sorry you were disappointed in your stay. This is not normal feedback for us. Our website has our menu's stated and Bistro has many options including fried food as it is to absorb alcohol part of our host responsibility within... More 

auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

My partner and I decided to get away for a spur of the moment roadtrip out of Auckland for one night. We picked the Salty Dog Inn because of the driving distance from Auckland (just over an hour) and the wee Pub attached to the Inn which serves Guinness (a compulsory for my Irish partner). On arrival we were shown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and sadden the food was not the best. We do have a new chef on who started with us 2 weeks ago in Bistro's so I will make sure that his food is looked over. Thanks for the feedback and we hope you will stay with us again soon. Kind regards Debbie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (52)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question