We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snells Beach Motel

Certificate of Excellence
289 Mahurangi East Rd, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snells Beach Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Snells Beach Motel
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. Snell's Beach is really a quiet place and I can recommend the path by the sea for a good walk. The room was large and the bathroom was excellent. The pool was good. The only problem with Snell's Beach is the dearth of good eating places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Booked into the snells beach motel as I was taking my children away for a little mini break and they advertise that they had a heated pool. It helps that this motel is owner run as the friendly greeting on arrival and map pointed out of what to do in the area was very welcoming. Our 2 bedroom apartment/unit was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

My family and I stayed a night at this charming and beautifully maintained property in late January for my nephew's wedding. Located in the middle of a quiet rural town the motel had well proportioned rooms that were immaculately clean and nicely presented. Given the motel was full that weekend noise from other units was imperceptible and we enjoyed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We were disappointed in our stay here. The furnishings were tired. The beds were very uncomfortable. The location was fine, near some restaurants and the beach in mainly a residential area. Sorry to report our opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt this way. We try so hard to ensure the 100% satisfaction of all our guests, so as you had requested twin beds in a downstairs Unit, we had put you in a 2 Bedroom Unit at no extra charge. All of our twin/single beds were new last year, and that Unit had a new Sofa 2... More 

Ross on Wye UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Our room was very clean with all the equipment etc required in the kitchen area. It was conveniently located a short distance from shops, restaurants and the beach. There was an outside area with table and chairs. We slept extremely well but we're disappointed that wifi was not included in the price of the room as it was in most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All wifi is now Free of Charge at the Motel. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This place is very clean. Amazing location. Free wifi! We got the room with the microwave and mini fridge, score! A little on the pricey side but there's not much you can do about that. Books up quick so plan ahead! Felt safe and clean here, definitely recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Chelsea. All units have at least a stove top, microwave and fridge - and free wifi! More 

chester,UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

This motel is clean and tidy, spick and span. Proprietors Dianne and Robin have got a good business here; all details are covered: they've thought of just about every detail. Comfy beds, beautiful linen, Sky TV., and very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Comfortable room with the standard New Zealand equipped kitchenette, rooms very close together with little space on the balconies. We had smokers next door and the smoke drifted in. Paid $10 for Wi-Fi (used $2 worth) through outside company,but could not use it again on the rest of our trip in NZ, Suggest for the higher cost of this motel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

we came here a couple of weeks ago as we had first gone to Walton Park lodge in Warkworth and decided to find other accomodation as we were not happy at all to stay there ,a wise choice. the rooms are peaceful , clean and have everything that we needed. Family friendly and also couples were loving being here. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We had a two bed unit for my family of four. Very comfortable beds, clean and well maintained throughout the unit. Site is also of a simmilar standard and well maintained. Will stay again on our next visit up here without hesitation. Only negative which is minor is that the rooms we had only had a view of the courtyard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay