We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snells Beach Motel

Certificate of Excellence
289 Mahurangi East Rd, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snells Beach Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Snells Beach Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    39
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

One night stopover on 2nd April 15 with my wife on our way to Coromandel , a friendly greeting with efficient booking in service, information was provided as to where things were, directed to a very good fish & chip shop opposite which we used and it was very good. Nice clean motel with good size rooms, the pool was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Myself and three friends shared the weekend here. We were greeted by a friendly host. The room was very comfortable and clean. Walking distance to the beach and local pub. Hop in the car and drive to many great activites not far away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. Snell's Beach is really a quiet place and I can recommend the path by the sea for a good walk. The room was large and the bathroom was excellent. The pool was good. The only problem with Snell's Beach is the dearth of good eating places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Booked into the snells beach motel as I was taking my children away for a little mini break and they advertise that they had a heated pool. It helps that this motel is owner run as the friendly greeting on arrival and map pointed out of what to do in the area was very welcoming. Our 2 bedroom apartment/unit was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

My family and I stayed a night at this charming and beautifully maintained property in late January for my nephew's wedding. Located in the middle of a quiet rural town the motel had well proportioned rooms that were immaculately clean and nicely presented. Given the motel was full that weekend noise from other units was imperceptible and we enjoyed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We were disappointed in our stay here. The furnishings were tired. The beds were very uncomfortable. The location was fine, near some restaurants and the beach in mainly a residential area. Sorry to report our opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt this way. We try so hard to ensure the 100% satisfaction of all our guests, so as you had requested twin beds in a downstairs Unit, we had put you in a 2 Bedroom Unit at no extra charge. All of our twin/single beds were new last year, and that Unit had a new Sofa 2... More 

Ross on Wye UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Our room was very clean with all the equipment etc required in the kitchen area. It was conveniently located a short distance from shops, restaurants and the beach. There was an outside area with table and chairs. We slept extremely well but we're disappointed that wifi was not included in the price of the room as it was in most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All wifi is now Free of Charge at the Motel. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This place is very clean. Amazing location. Free wifi! We got the room with the microwave and mini fridge, score! A little on the pricey side but there's not much you can do about that. Books up quick so plan ahead! Felt safe and clean here, definitely recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Chelsea. All units have at least a stove top, microwave and fridge - and free wifi! More 

chester,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

This motel is clean and tidy, spick and span. Proprietors Dianne and Robin have got a good business here; all details are covered: they've thought of just about every detail. Comfy beds, beautiful linen, Sky TV., and very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Comfortable room with the standard New Zealand equipped kitchenette, rooms very close together with little space on the balconies. We had smokers next door and the smoke drifted in. Paid $10 for Wi-Fi (used $2 worth) through outside company,but could not use it again on the rest of our trip in NZ, Suggest for the higher cost of this motel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
11.2 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.8 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Matakana Country Lodge
Matakana Country Lodge
#3 of 10 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 6 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay