We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel

The Grange, Old Gloucester, Northwoods, Winterbourne BS36 1RP, England
Hotel amenities
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winterbourne
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Paul19 England
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    88
    79
    31
    25
See reviews for
58
103
9
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at this hotel for one night . The approach and the setting is stunning. We stayed in room 102, the room was in need of updating. The area outside of our room appears to be a smoking area for staff as the area was strewn with cigarette ends. In short a stunning location, impressive building exterior, our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport Gwent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed on the Friday before Valentines night, On arrival we were checked in with no fuss & went to the bar, we had a few drinks before going to the room for a freshen up. Although there was a wedding reception going on & the bar was very busy the staff worked hard to keep everybody happy. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked on a special 2-night deal, which included dinner the first night. We knew we would be getting to the hotel after the kitchen shut, but had already been told we could order from room service which we did. Great setting and handy for getting around Bristol. The only two gripes were that one of the three deserts available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well the hotel was advertised as a elegant 4 star hotel in a historic building and it said "Try a sophisticated lunch or dinner menu in the Acorn Restaurant ". We were disappointed on arrival to find that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment which we were not advised of. The restaurant was closed and a make shift restaurant was made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review, we like to hear about guests stays whether it is positive or negative and we use it as a tool for future improvements. We have now finished our refurbishment in the restaurant, sorry that you had to dine in the function room while you were here, we now have a wonderfully redecorated... More 

Cambs. UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One night stay to visit my son at uni. Price wa much lower than hotels closer to city even on Sunday night. Rooms grounds and restaurant hig standard. No real compaints. Deinitely go back. Staff friendly .

Was this review helpful? Yes
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back. The grounds are really lovely during the summer so hopefully you can pay us another visit then. Kind Regards Josh Watts General Manager More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long drive I was looking forward to a coffee in the room, but the UHT milk was off and curdled in the hot coffee. I thought I would relax in front of the TV, but it didn't work. Both issues were quickly resolved, but not a good start. At dinner I had to wait over 20 minutes for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. I have passed your feedback onto the relevant managers and we will implement corrective measures. I hope you will give us the opportunity to show that we can get it right, please contact me directly next time you stay and I will make... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winterbourne hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived on the 6 March 2015 to find that renovations were being done to the restaurant and it was closed, a temporary restaurant had been made in another room. It would have been nice to have been advised that this was happening before we booked. When asked the receptionist did not know how long the renovations were going to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I'm pleased you liked your bedroom. We have now finished our refurbishment in the restaurant, sorry that you had to dine in the function room while you were here, we now have a wonderfully redecorated area and would love for you to visit again. We did have a notice on our website informing guests of the planned works.... More 

exeter
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was as I expected, Clean & comfortable, No complaints there. However I wasn't Impressed with the breakfast service, Firstly we were told there was no table free, so we had to sit in another room & wait to be called. We must of had to wait 15mins before being taken to our table. We went up to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory, this is way below the level of service we expect at Mercure Grange Hotel. I am fully investigating the events of the morning in question and rest assured corrective... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my extended family enjoyed a really good sunday lunch from the brasserie menu which catered for a wide age range the staff were extremely helpful and friendly displaying the cakes we had brought and providing plates and napkins at no extra cost a most enjoyable experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you and your family had a lovely time, the team will be delighted to hear this. Kind Regards Josh Watts General Manager More 

Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a treat, wonderful food - could not fault the service and staff as they were very attentive. the room was quiet and spotlesly clean. buffet breakfast was the best i have ever had -great choice here. The hotel needs alittle TLC new decorating to some areas - but on the value break that we was on at £89.00 for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had such a great experience, I shall share your kind words with the team. With regard to the hotel needing updating, you are indeed correct and our full ground floor refurbishment is underway as of Monday,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question