We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Richmond-upon-Thames hotels

Richmond Gate Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% OFF Room Rate
Save Saved
You added Richmond Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Gate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
63%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
helenwadd Broadstairs, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (400)
  • Photos (86)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    119
    81
    45
    24
See reviews for
65
166
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My Husband booked this hotel as a Travel zoo deal for my birthday present. We wanted to do river walking for two days so this wonderful hotel on Richmond Hill certainly fitted the bill. The staff were good on arrival and our room was comfortable. Great bed, i did ignore the ripped duvet cover, We had done our 10 mile... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremely disappointed to read that you felt that “dinner was a disgrace” I was also frustrated to read that the Duty Manager did not have the opportunity to rectify your problems whilst you were with us - I am sure that my management team could have offered or some alternative suggestions for dinner if they had been aware... More

Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here just for one night on a Groupon offer which included cream tea and breakfast. We arrived before check in, the hotel stored our case while we went into Richmond. Staff on reception were friendly and polite. Our room was downstairs, fairly small but had everything you need, bathroom had bath and shower (very good shower), on the negative... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a good stay .I certainly take on board the other observations you have made.With regard your comments to our hot breakfast offering I can confirm that our current company breakfast standard does exclude these items. It is only through comments... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife stayed here the night before our wedding and I did the night of. It's a nice, old school hotel in a great location, nice staff on reception. On her first day there was a groom in the room opposite who decided to have a party, all good fun but not at 2am. The staff went and asked them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. Congratulations! I was delighted to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that your wife was disturbed by noise from other guests, not ideal the night before the big day. It is always great to read coments about the team and the service... More

UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location very good near to the Park entrance, also easy for walking into the town. Plenty of seats with brilliant views on way down and up. Accommodation - very clean and very comfortable, excellent sized room very comfortable bed very well stocked bathroom. Everything you need in the way of ironing board, iron sewing kit etc Staff excellent professional, friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed your dining experience.It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you... More

London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WE visited the Richmond Gate Hotel for afternoon tea including a glass of champagne recently. Nice meet and greet, but bizarrely we were the only guest in the dining room so little to no atmosphere. The tea itself was ok but nothing special. The cakes in particular were average and not many of them. The scone and cream was nice,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. It is only through comments such as those you have made that we are able to improve our standard and service. Thank you once again for your feedback Nick Henry General Manager More

Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Started off with a scumptious cream tea in the beautiful restaurant, made even better with the friendly and helpful staff....room was absolutely stunning and full of character also, with a totally comfy bed to top it off! Lovely relaxing time spent in the pool and hydropool, followed by a lie down on the sun loungers with a glass of bubbles.....breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond. Nick Henry General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this as part of a deal, overnight stay, breakfast, afternoon tea with Prosecco. Hotel is in a good location, just outside the gates of Richmond Park, at the top of Richmond Hill. We checked in and opted for our afternoon tea when we arrived. We were shown to a room where the tea was served, we asked if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I was very sorry to read that you described your stay with us as “nothing special” I am genuinely disappointed that you felt this was the case please accept my apology. I wish to assure you that if the Duty Manager had been made aware of the error you have identified with regard the... More

Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here twice in the past couple of years and one of the nicer hotels I've ever stayed at. My room was very clean and generally quite well presented. My only real criticism is the television is a little complicated to operate - it took me five minutes of fiddling with mine which I don't mind, but it's a word... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. I certainly take on board your comments relating to the TV and we are currently looking at upgrading this facility. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back... More

Southwold
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

II had a truly excellent steak tonight followed by delicious watermelon sorbet! What more could a weary traveller ask for!! The food has improved dramatically over the past year. Thank you Massimo! My room is very comfortable and the air on is great for hot evenings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to see that you had returned once again and enjoyed your stay with us so much as your previous visits. I know Massimo was thrilled by your comments thank you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond. Nick... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed multiple times at Richmond Gate Hotel and it makes me sad to lower my review rating. This is a lovely hotel in a great location in beautiful Richmond. We love the beautiful suites with fireplace and marble baths. The room we stayed in was still lovely, even though it is showing signs of wear, as is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website .We do place a high level of focus on staff training and service , and I have to say that I am extremely disappointed to read about your experience. As you are a regular guest I was further surprised to read that both new and old team members did not... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Richmond Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
68

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer