We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Richmond-upon-Thames hotels

Richmond Gate Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 - 158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Richmond Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Gate Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
61%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
julieawin Southwold
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    100
    71
    43
    23
See reviews for
57
144
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southwold
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stay her every time I come to London and am always thrilled with the quality of the room, especially how clean and tidy it is. The house keeping staff are amazing. Very comfortable bed and windows that open with fresh air! A lovely garden and fabulous spa facility. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent range of breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Richmond Hill is always a wonderful location with a beautiful view. This hotel matches this in many ways. It is a big hotel but because of the structure has a fairly cosy feel. Its part of a chain and as such has that large hotel feel. It is definitely not boutique.We stayed in a standard room that has the classic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Should not be classed as 4 star. Staff were pleasant and friendly, but inefficient. We had to ask ourselves about pool use and breakfast. Room was basic. Spacious but basic. Instead of a double bed we had 2 singles pushed together, not what you'd expect in a 4 star. Also the shower, although powerful was very low. I'm 6ft and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the most enjoyable stay and have to compliment the staff for making our stay so pleasurable especially voicing our bad experience on the last visit and we thank the hotel for lovely rooms and stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Richmond is a gem, cannot believe its been on the door stop for twenty years. Stayed at the Richmond gate, from the minute we walked in the reception staff were so welcoming easy checkin and the room was lovely. Cream tea, warm scones freshly made yummy. Best location you could ask for, and the spa a welcome relaxing experience. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was very pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to read comments about the service team members have provided thank you for highlighting this. We do pride ourselves on aiming to deliver a memorable food and beverage experiences for all... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What can I say would not bother again!! Paid £150 for the room and got offered a basement room with no daylight at all. The only positive weather was great outside but I could not see any of it when in the room! Breakfast not much better cold no baked beans and hardly any cereal. Will not be going back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that your stay was such a disappointment but thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on this site . Your experience at Richmond Gate was clearly far removed from your expectations and I am truly sorry about that. The age of the building with its oldest parts dating back to 1715 does mean... More

guidlford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, room in the gods but amazing view over Richmond park. Good size room, bathroom adequate overall a lovely stay. Breakfast very nice too. Right near the town and a lovely walk as soon as you left the building. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us, and how much you had enjoyed breakfast. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond. Nick Henry General Manager More

Essex, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just back from a three night stay at the Richmond Gate Hotel. Great location - especially during the summer, for views and walks along the river. Plenty of parking - it was free to park unlike its neighbouring hotel. Comfortable and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond. Nick Henry General Manager More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Richmond Gate because we were going to Twickenham for the rugby International, on arrival we were told we had been upgraded which turned out to be a very basic double room which had a single wardrobe, a carpet covered with dirty marks and a large stain from rain on the ceiling and it also smelt of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments .I was very sorry to read that the standard of accommodation you were provided was at the very best poor. We do have a local maintenance program in place to help continually pick up on day-to-day wear and tear we have however clearly let you down on this occasion. It would be useful to... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at Richmond Gate Hotel with our wedding guests at the end of February. We felt the rooms were reasonably priced for what they were but we were very impressed by the levels of service we received, the staff couldn't do enough to help. This was highlighted by the Hotel kindly storing our wedding cake the night before the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a your review - I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Richmond Gate and, in particular, delighted with your comments regarding the team members. They work exceptionally hard to try and deliver the best possible customer care and it is very gratifying for them to read feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming... More

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152 - 158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.