We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The York Hotel

1 - 3 St Margarets Terrace, Weston super Mare BS23 1AH , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The York Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The York Hotel
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    32
    19
    23
See reviews for
27
65
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Brilliant location, so central to walk in either direction, classy, friendly, spotlessly clean, welcoming and great food with a view from room 102 to die for. Myself and my fiance stayed here for one night (wish it had been two) a break without my children. I asked for the best room and we got a superb room with a huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hardly a good welcome.The Manager was put out as he couldn't find the booking although did decide I could stay. Wish I hadn't. I was given a room and a TV remote ''we don't usually allow guests to have them as they steal them.'' I was shown to a room no larger than a single bed. I asked for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. On check in there was no booking found in your name you was accommodated as requested with a single room. When you asked for a larger room you was offered a double room at £10.00 extra for the night which you declined. The... More 

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Visited the york hotel this afternoon and i have to say was pleasantly impressed. A classy wine bar on the first level and a patio that you could sit and watch the people go by for hours. Nothing to loud or crazy and all staff are very friendly. I haven't seen the rooms so can't comment however going by what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The reception area is more like a Halfway house with a huge screen showing camera views of the whole hotel which gave me an uneasy feeling in the room!! No warm welcome keys just handed over with a take it or leave attitude. Breakfast was served in a bar full of lads still drinking from the night before and wearing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The room has a double bed with new bedroom furniture a large sofa, large tv on the wall over the fire place, there is a separate dressing area & large bathroom with bath & shower. if there was a problem with your room did you inform a member of staff.? The Reception has the surveillance... More 

Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here for a quick one night stay - fantastic location and our room was superb - probably the best bed and shower we have ever had in a hotel - we love Weston but this hotel experience was a big plus will definitely stay here for any future visits

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

enjoyable stay and friendly staff have stayed at this hotel a few time, very close to everywhere and nice to be near the beach front and pier, The staff are helpful and pleasant, and we will go back to the hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed for one night at this hotel in February. Its location is in a perfect place opposite the Grand pier. A shopping centre behind it and many bars and restaurant's around. You can park your car in the shopping centre multi storey car park located behind the hotel. 24 hours parking will cost £10. The hotel itself is, clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

After being messed around by Premier Inns I booked this out of desperation. Then read the reviews and felt very apprehensive. We were greeted by a very friendly manager who explained the gist of everything. Given our key and directed to our room "202". Still feeling nervous, having two twelve year old girls to look after, I opened the door.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I booked this hotel for my husband and I to celebrate my birthday when I read the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about staying there butttttttttt when we got there I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised . We arrived there at 2pm and check-in was from 3pm but we were given our key straight away and allowed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you back soon. More 

uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We had the unfortunate experience of staying here in December. There is noting good about this hotel, the staff are rude, the place is filthy, the bed is dirty and very old so lumpy and uncomfortable. They make you pay a £10 deposit to use a remote control for the tv in your room!!!! The hotel has lots of bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you was not happy with your room you could of come to reception & if possible i could of changed your room. If you had come to reception & complained about the room i would of personally come & inspected your room & if as dirty as reported... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question