We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The York Hotel

1 - 3 St Margarets Terrace, Weston super Mare BS23 1AH , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The York Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The York Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    33
    20
    23
See reviews for
27
68
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Roytonian, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hubby & I have just returned from a 5 day coach trip staying at The York and I cannot praise the staff highly enough for helping to make it such an enjoyable holiday. Admittedly the place doesn't look much from the outside, apart from it's great central location, and it certainly isn't the most inviting of interiors (no lounge area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

hotel right on the front , clean and tidy , all staff work hard to make your holiday enjoyable . FOOD IS PLAIN AND WELL COOKED they do not mess with it and call it presentation . the lady who manages the hotel seems to have her finger on the pulse and make sure all is run well . Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you back again soon. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Firstly; me and my boyfriend has taken our child to Weston for the day decided to stop at this hotel for food, we order a cheese burger with chips and salad, breaded plaice and chips with salad & a child's sausage, chips and beans! It was good (not great) and to my disgust my salad was BROWN! I had spoken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly i have not received a email from you about this lettuce issue as i answer all my emails. The salad we use is a mixed salad & comes in pre packed for freshness & was only opened that morning. I take all complaints very seriously & i don't understand why you didn't ask to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lets start with the positives... comfortable and clean bed. Clean room. made booking through booking.com whose policy is you pay on arrival. Was very surprised to find payment taken at time of booking. room expensive for what it was. No breakfast included. Limited supply if basic tea and coffee items. Tiny shower room. Staff unhelpful and uninformative in relation to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Booking.com do not take any money if you look further down the confirmation email you will see the hotels policies that we take the 1st night stay as deposit & we have done this since we have been with booking.com. it is the same... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Brilliant location, so central to walk in either direction, classy, friendly, spotlessly clean, welcoming and great food with a view from room 102 to die for. Myself and my fiance stayed here for one night (wish it had been two) a break without my children. I asked for the best room and we got a superb room with a huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Hardly a good welcome.The Manager was put out as he couldn't find the booking although did decide I could stay. Wish I hadn't. I was given a room and a TV remote ''we don't usually allow guests to have them as they steal them.'' I was shown to a room no larger than a single bed. I asked for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. On check in there was no booking found in your name you was accommodated as requested with a single room. When you asked for a larger room you was offered a double room at £10.00 extra for the night which you declined. The... More 

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Visited the york hotel this afternoon and i have to say was pleasantly impressed. A classy wine bar on the first level and a patio that you could sit and watch the people go by for hours. Nothing to loud or crazy and all staff are very friendly. I haven't seen the rooms so can't comment however going by what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to welcome you back in the near furture. More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

The reception area is more like a Halfway house with a huge screen showing camera views of the whole hotel which gave me an uneasy feeling in the room!! No warm welcome keys just handed over with a take it or leave attitude. Breakfast was served in a bar full of lads still drinking from the night before and wearing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The room has a double bed with new bedroom furniture a large sofa, large tv on the wall over the fire place, there is a separate dressing area & large bathroom with bath & shower. if there was a problem with your room did you inform a member of staff.? The Reception has the surveillance... More 

Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Went here for a quick one night stay - fantastic location and our room was superb - probably the best bed and shower we have ever had in a hotel - we love Weston but this hotel experience was a big plus will definitely stay here for any future visits

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

enjoyable stay and friendly staff have stayed at this hotel a few time, very close to everywhere and nice to be near the beach front and pier, The staff are helpful and pleasant, and we will go back to the hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay