We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England
Hotel amenities
The Old Colonial
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Colonial to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Richard C Nantwich, United Kingdom
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    28
    5
    26
See reviews for
16
64
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With free parking included (Weston Super Mare parking is ridiculously expensive and a real put off) this was a splendid stay. Centrally located and ion the sea front makes the location top notch. A warm welcome and good standard accommodation made this a most enjoyable stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thankyou for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay here in Weston Super Mare. If you are visiting again please ring us on 01934 620739 and we can tailor any requirements you may have in future personally for you. Kind regards Mel More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

we havent stayed here although it looked very nice and has a car park next door but we ate there and the food was very nice. We were unsure about staying on the front with the parking but it didn`t seem to be a problem and we stayed in a marstons place in bridgewater and we were very impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. With regards to parking we do have allocated free parking for our hotel guests and if you book directly through us you can receive 20% off your meals. More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

When we arrived at the old colonial we was welcomed and a very fast check in so we were really happy... Evening meal in the restaurant down stairs was brilliant and then we went to bed early for an early start the next day... We could hear every word spoken by the guests next door and could hear them walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Dave and Vix Thank you for taking the time to give your honest feedback following your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that your stay was marred by what transpired to be a burst waste pipe leading from the bath in your room . Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and therefore on this occasion we were... More 

Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel just ordered a meal. Waited almost an hour it appeared that our meal was taken to another table which they happily ate even though there was 3 of them and only 2 meals!!!! When questioned they asked for our table number which there wasn't one so advised them I advised the girl behind the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, I apologise unreservedly that your recent visit was not to the standards we wish to achieve. All feedback gives the tools to coach our teams performance and continually improve however unfortunately there appears to have been a serious communication breakdown on this occasion. I have contacted you via e mail and hope that you are happy with the... More 

Hartlepool, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The Old Colonial had been recommended to us so when we visited Weston yesterday we thought we'd try it out. We printed free drink vouchers off the internet before we went. We had been told they do a 2 for £10 menu but when we got there, we couldn't see one on our table so we ended up paying 8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Zoe, Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent visit. I am glad that you enjoyed your pepperoni pies. Our team are only too happy to help should you have any queries about an offer you have seen and have spare menus to hand behind the bar. Kind regards Mel Bowden General Manager The Old Colonial More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This was a last minute get away treat for our anniversary. And we couldn't fault anything about aour stay.the room was clean with lovely views over looking the sea front and our evening meal was nice and breakfast was great. All staff were friendly and made sure you were looked after

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We often go for a drink in the Old Colonial but decided to eat there for the first time. Ordered a chicken burger for myself, whilst my boyfriend had the wild Boar burger. Our order didn't take too long to come out, and was presented well. I've got a bit of a weird thing about cold food touching hot, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Had lunch here today 20oz mixed grill advertised not for faint hearted, Must have been the price £13.50 Coz I was still hungry and was extremely dissatisfied with portions, Girlfriend had rump n scampi £9.45 was nice but again not worth money. Both plates were exactly same size considering mine was 20oz

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

this was a surprise birthday my darling girlfriend had booked a few weeks back. we got there we had a few drinks before we could check in nice big place, so my girlfriend went on to check us in,we had a big surprise we got to move to a better room number 6, we had a storm coming where we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hitchin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Old Colonian is in a fantastic location, close to the beach and pier. it benefits from a great pub / restaurant and is competitively priced. However, after a long and tiring day of working, we finally reached the hotel and rang the bell at reception. Nothing. We held on for a few minutes then rang again. After a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay