We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Colonial

30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England
Hotel amenities
The Old Colonial
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Karen S Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    32
    7
    30
See reviews for
19
78
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Eaten here as a local several times recently, and the food is consistently of a good standard, staff are warm and welcoming, to the returning seasonal visitor just be aware this is the no longer an all day 2 for 10, it's now only 2 for 10 Monday to Thursday 12 till 5

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Originally booked through booking.com however after chatting over the phone to the owner decided to change the stay to a weeks holiday. Was advised to cancel the booking online and rang back and spoke to another helpful lady who took my card details. Due to it being a surprise holiday for my mums 60th we declined the offer of confirmation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Plus points: Friendly check in and bar staff, big spacious clean rooms, fantastic breakfast Negative points: Shower is by far the worst I have ever seen. It barely drips water. I couldn't wash my hair during our stay as I know it would have been impossible to rinse the shampoo out. Walls are paper thin. We were in Room 7... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi there, I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectation if you would like to call on 01934 620739 I can discuss this with you further. Kind regards Mel More 

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin, it is part of The Marstons Brewery chain and offers budget, no frills accommodation and food. The rooms are clean apart from a few stray cobwebs, and well equipped with flat screen tv's and drinks making items and the staff are helpful and friendly. The food is what you would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Jon, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to submit a review. Kind regards Mel More 

Yorkshire - England
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on my own on Monday of this week for one night. I usually travel with my wife. The weather was fantastic so my review might be slightly influenced by that. My room was recently refurbished and very comfortable. Fantastic sea view too and I had dinner on the veranda. The food is basic pub grub but very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi there I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to ensure that there are spaces at all times for our residents to avoid any problems with the adjacent car park. Kind regards Mel More 

Alicante Province, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The Old Colonial is a Public House with guest rooms Bedrooms overlooking the promenade and pier is a perfect location for a seaside holiday With free parking and a great selection of meals at all times of the day you dont need to go else where The rooms are large with a settee that makes you feel you have your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

HI Alan, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Mel More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We decided on this inn because it was on the beachfront and close to the pier and different attractions in Weston Super Mare. The room was a good size for a couple and we had no problems with the hotel, we just had noisy neighbours in the room next to us, which was a shame. Would recommend to anyone looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Amy, Thank you for your feedback I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Mel More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I came in with my family for lunch, only to receive a frosty reception whilst ordering drinks. We then found out that their popular two for £10 meal deal wasn't available "because it's a bank holiday". We decided to order food anyway, because the food has been good before, however the food was a complete disappointment. We ordered 2 steak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thank you for your comments following your recent visit I am sorry it was not up to your expectation I would welcome the chance to discuss this with you if you could call me on 01934 620739. Kind regards Mel More 

paphos
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Great room and great location. Not sure how they get bad reviews as have stayed in far worse as i stay in many hotels in the country. Location right on the beach and parking included. Maybe i was lucky but got a great sea view room. Large room with settee in front of tv. Large bathroom and ample towels. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Mel More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Although on here it states 'free parking' there isn't any... £5 for 4 hours parking as we left our car at the Colonial to walk around. went in for a Mocha Latte and it was presented well :) toilets are clean too... came back on the evening for a dessert which was spot on, overall it's great and would go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

HI there, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We do have some free parking for our hotel residents but unfortunately only limited room however there is free parking on the street behind us. Kind regards Mel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities