We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England
Hotel amenities
The Old Colonial
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Colonial to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
andrea p pound
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    29
    5
    27
See reviews for
17
68
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
pound
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely clean spacious rooms good breakfast and a cracking place to have a meal in the restaurant cheap too,close to all shops right on beach front definitely stay here again only bad thing was the windy weather but that couldn't be helped

Was this review helpful? Yes
wales
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This property lacked any welcoming factor from the staff, Wasn't asked if we enjoyed our stay, the room needed to be re-cleaned, the bed looked as if the cleaner made it got tired then sat on it. I assume the previous guest had cut themselves because their plaster was still on the floor. The carpet had come away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was an emergency visit on Boxing Day to rescue our elderly mum, whom was really not enjoying her stay over Christmas at a hotel (actually it was more like a detention center meets care home for the elderly) about 10 minute walk from The Old Colonial, we were on a rescue mission! The Old Colonial was the cheapest hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Attleborough
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here January 2015 - not a good time to stay by the sea-side. However, the Old Colonial had a wonderful view of the beach and bay right at its front door. From our spacious room we could see the new pier but, of course, it was closed during our overnight stop over. The evening meal and breakfast food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Robin, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and should you return to explore Weston in the future please call when you book and we will endeavour to allocate you a room on the first floor. Kind regards Mel More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were massive and so were the beds. Came with free parking and you looked out the window and had sea views. Great stop over for small breaks. Only downside i had a small child which they were aware of and was not given a cot

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Marie, Thank you for giving us your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay last week. Can I take this opportunity to apologise for the lack of a cot, when you come again if there is not one provided please just pop down and speak to a member of the team and they will only be too... More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

With free parking included (Weston Super Mare parking is ridiculously expensive and a real put off) this was a splendid stay. Centrally located and ion the sea front makes the location top notch. A warm welcome and good standard accommodation made this a most enjoyable stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thankyou for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay here in Weston Super Mare. If you are visiting again please ring us on 01934 620739 and we can tailor any requirements you may have in future personally for you. Kind regards Mel More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

we havent stayed here although it looked very nice and has a car park next door but we ate there and the food was very nice. We were unsure about staying on the front with the parking but it didn`t seem to be a problem and we stayed in a marstons place in bridgewater and we were very impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. With regards to parking we do have allocated free parking for our hotel guests and if you book directly through us you can receive 20% off your meals. More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

When we arrived at the old colonial we was welcomed and a very fast check in so we were really happy... Evening meal in the restaurant down stairs was brilliant and then we went to bed early for an early start the next day... We could hear every word spoken by the guests next door and could hear them walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Dave and Vix Thank you for taking the time to give your honest feedback following your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that your stay was marred by what transpired to be a burst waste pipe leading from the bath in your room . Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and therefore on this occasion we were... More 

Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel just ordered a meal. Waited almost an hour it appeared that our meal was taken to another table which they happily ate even though there was 3 of them and only 2 meals!!!! When questioned they asked for our table number which there wasn't one so advised them I advised the girl behind the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, I apologise unreservedly that your recent visit was not to the standards we wish to achieve. All feedback gives the tools to coach our teams performance and continually improve however unfortunately there appears to have been a serious communication breakdown on this occasion. I have contacted you via e mail and hope that you are happy with the... More 

Hartlepool, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The Old Colonial had been recommended to us so when we visited Weston yesterday we thought we'd try it out. We printed free drink vouchers off the internet before we went. We had been told they do a 2 for £10 menu but when we got there, we couldn't see one on our table so we ended up paying 8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldC101, General Manager at The Old Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Zoe, Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent visit. I am glad that you enjoyed your pepperoni pies. Our team are only too happy to help should you have any queries about an offer you have seen and have spare menus to hand behind the bar. Kind regards Mel Bowden General Manager The Old Colonial More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay