We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Linsmohr Hotel

Pittmeddan | By Ellon, Ellon AB41 7NY, Scotland
Linsmohr Hotel
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
9
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed at this hotel last Saturday. My allocated room was no.1 which was very very nice and pleasant with all amenities. My only complaint was that the shower cubicle was very small (I'm of average height and weight) and I struggled to wash comfortably. The staff I spoke to were very friendly and I very much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants,food always to a high standard,staff attentive and friendly.wheelchair access is through the public bar but once inside the restaurant we were given a larger table to accommodate us .The only negative thing is that there can be a long wait between courses,other than that would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited on a Saturday night and although not busy it still had a nice atmosphere as homely and warm. Service was good and menu was extensive as had quite a large selection of specials although not sure if these would be on every day. All in all a good visit and pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've eaten here plenty of times before and ate here recently with friends. Have absolutely no complaints on the service, however the food is a different matter. The Asian Salmon was dry and over cooked and the noodles swimming in grease. The steak arrived completely covered in a huge pile of fried onions, fine if you like onions but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ayrshire scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

what a gem this was to find, another night spent up in this area and I was booked into the linsmohr hotel. this was my first time here and what a great surprise it was, terrific room, terrific meal and great staff. the hotel has a large dining area and lounge, well, a brasserie and a public bar. the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeenshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I dined here last night. I had previously booked a table for 15. I was asked to create a set menu, because of the amount if people dining. I had to choose 4 starters, 5 mains and 4 puddings. We were sat to our table on time and all served drinks quickly. Service was slow and i had to ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldmeldrum
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

My husband and I visited the Linsmohr Hotel on Friday night and the meal was delicious with staff that were always smiling and happy to advise on choices when asked Starters were Spanish Prawns - zingy and fresh in the mouth Beef and tattie soup - well the best flavour I have ever tasted Mains Sirloin Steak - cooked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen T, Owner at Linsmohr Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! The last few months have been so tough since we bought the property in August but comments such as this make everything worthwhile and reminds me why hospitality is such a brilliant industry to be involved with. We really do believe in the potential of the Linsmohr if it is given the right care and attention... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I just came back from very good lunch. After reading all those horrible reviews I wanted to check for myself how the place is doing and surprise .. very good .. we had a beautiful meal, service was standard not with smile but good, waiting time very reasonable even with 60th birthday party at the next table and few more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen T, Owner at Linsmohr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Slavo Thank you very much indeed for a very positive review. It is good to know that local people do not always put every faith in the subjective reviews posted on this forum and are willing to at least try the Linsmohr for themselves first before making any assumptions. You were quite right in your review, I do not... More 

Anerdeenshire
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Returned after several months and not quite as good as I remembered but still good food. However,nothing particularly special. Service very slow and long wait between courses.I would agree with other reviews that it seems to have gone downhill .

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

“Worst meal ever” Reviewed 5 October 2014 NEW We booked a table at this restaurant to celebrate a special birthday. We had been on previous occasions and really enjoyed it. First impressions when we walked in were that it had gone down hill. Toilets waste paper towel bins overflowing, soap,dispenser empty. Ordered our meal and after a long wait our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stephen T, Owner at Linsmohr Hotel, responded to this review

This reviewer never mentioned a problem with the public toilets over the duration of the evening in question and neither did any other customers. I can assure everyone that they are checked and maintained regularly by our staff. If however during a busy evening an issue requires attention, a simple and discreet word to one of us can easily and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question