We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Morecambe hotels

Clarendon Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74-76 Marine Rd West | West End Promenade, Morecambe LA4 4EP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Clarendon Hotel to your Saves list
Clarendon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
HappyWanderer018 BOLTON
  • Overview
  • Reviews (105)
  • Photos (48)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
17
50
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BOLTON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights Thursday - Saturday two weeks ago. Difficult to fault anything about the accommodation, food or staff. Sizable room with a sea view if you were in the right spot. Bathroom adequate only minor gripe was that only 2 or 3 TV channels worked but I do not go away to watch the telly. Other reviews suggested the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel for just 2 night, but wished we had stayed another couple of nights. The room we were given was very spacious, the bathroom had a bath and a shower which is lovely, as these you usually only get a shower. We had a sort of a view of the sea, but the parking is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two night for the Tutti Frutti Festival.We had sea views which were amazing!! The Staff were so welcoming and helpful. The Hotel was clean no problems at all. We had an evening meal in the restaraunt which was really nice and good value! Breakfast too was excellent. We will definatly stay here again. Its an old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clarendon H, Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and such kind comments too! So glad you enjoyed your stay and meals here, i will pass the comments back to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Clarendon soon. Kind Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager More

La Romana, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Recommend to try this place out, but I have to say the service was terrible. The waiter could not even spend a minute to go through the desert menu before throwing it on the table and running off!! For the price you would expect better service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am very sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. We do not usually go through the dessert menu with guests unless requested. I have spoken to the Restaurant team regarding your comments. I will take your comments on board and i will certainly look into the staff explaining the dessert menu a... More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

An old hotel that has the feel of the last century - but probably not that old. Light and airy rooms and really great, helpful staff made for a pleasant stay. The views out of the sea-facing rooms are stunning and we watched the sunset over the hills across Morecambe Bay. The only downside for us was that there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us recently and i will pass the message on to all the staff. We are actually in the middle of changing our old televisions and implementing freeview to our bedrooms and on your next visit we will hopefully have that installed! I look... More

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

1st visit I ordered a hummous & guacamole with pitta starter. When it came, there was no guacamole. The waitress was lovely when I commented, but returned to apologise that there was no guacamole left. Nothing was mentioned at the time of ordering,no alternative was offered as a replacement and we were charged full price when paying the bill. 2nd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen I am glad to hear that your waitress met with your expectations, as with your sausage and mash. I am however sorry to hear about your comments on our food and senior staff: I have spoken to the Kitchen regarding the issues you raised in your comments, please be assured that this is a one off and i... More

Burgas, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for the first time for a family party. We had a small but functional room that was well decorated and clean. The room had all the amenities you would expect. My only problem with the room was that it had no natural light as the only window looked directly onto a wall. We had a delicious 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gretel Thank you so much for your kind comments with regards to your function and stay. We strive to make all our guests feel welcomed at The Clarendon and i will certainly pass the message on to our team. If you are back in Morecambe again, please call myself or my team direct and we will allocate a seaview... More

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel succeeds in combining the ethos of a good traditional hotel with the level of service demanded in the modern world. A great deal of this is thanks to the staff who came to The Clarendon from The Elms (another Mitchells hotel) when it was sold to property developers - in particular Jackie the manager and her assistant manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to cater for the 83rd Birthday Lunch! I will pass the comments on to the staff and Jackie and we look foward to welcoming you back to The Clarendon Hotel. Kind Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager More

Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Took a small group to Waterfront restaurant for a 3 course meal, staff very attentive polite catered for all your needs and the food was excellent from start to finish brilliant night and we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so pleased you had a nice evening at The Clarendon. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and such a lovely review. I will pass your kind comments to the staff involved and we hope to welcome you back to The Clarendon soon. Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager More

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding at the Clarendon in Sept13. Manager Jackie couldn't do enough for us in the planning period and extremely professional on the day. Being registered for weddings meant we could have everything in one place. We only had 40 guests but the standard of service was that good we were treated as though we had 100. Decoration... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clarendon H, Front Office Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynn Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very kind feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your Wedding Day! I will pass your comments to Jackie and all the staff and we wish you all the best for your future! I look forward to welcoming you back to The Clarendon Hotel. Yours Sincerely Calvin... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clarendon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Hotel

Address: 74-76 Marine Rd West | West End Promenade, Morecambe LA4 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarendon Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Morecambe with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarendon Hotel affords spectacular views of Morecambe Bay towards the peaks of the Lake District. The Clarendon's 29 bedrooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard assuring you of a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Why not relax and enjoy a drink in our newly refurbished lounge bar before sampling some of the finest produce Lancashire has on offer in our Waterfront Restaurant. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
29

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarendon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer