We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarendon Hotel

74-76 Marine Rd West | West End Promenade, Morecambe LA4 4EP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarendon Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here on New Year's Eve not for the celebrations but as a matter of family convenience. We had with us an elderly gentlemen who was very frail and mobile only with a walker. One young man on the staff was brilliant. He assessed our situation on arrival and immediately volunteered to help in a realistic... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnTonyxx
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose the Clarendon because it was on the sea front and it's a hotel, not a guest house (late arrival wasn't a problem). Initial impression was that its grandest days were behind it, but the staff were very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. All-in-all it was good value and I would definitely book again.

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm_Newdick
7Claire7, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for visiting us & for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. We hope to see you again. More 

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed a few times in Morecambe and this is the nicest one so far. I was upgraded to a double as it was quiet which was a great start! Staff are very friendly. The room was nice and clean and a good size. The downside was a dated TV and single glazed windows. The bar/lounge area was made cosy... More 

Helpful?
Thank SGT_13
7Claire7, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for visiting us, the roaring fire is definitely needed at this time of year. We look forward to you staying with us again More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Relative recommended this restaurant and we weren't disappointed, food from lunch menu was really warm and a good choice from a set menu at a great price, service from the start to finish was second to none, only one fault and it wasn't the hotel's, just ours, is that we didn't get a second chance to sample it again, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephen c
7Claire7, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

We will certainly welcome you back to try our menu again :) Thankyou for the review More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

This was a great place to celebrate Christmas - we went with a friend who is very particular about her food, but she was ecstatic on the topic of the 'pork Somerset'. We thoroughly enjoyed the prawn kebabs, (skewered with fresh pineapple and spiced up by a chili sauce) followed by tasty turkey and lavish tureens of veg. My favourite... More 

Helpful?
Thank G and B R
7Claire7, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for dining with us & for the lovely review. From all our staff we hope you had a lovely Christmas & all the best for the New Year. More 

morecambe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Room was adequate although windows need replacing, noisy especially when bad weather. Stayed as part of a wedding party... Unfortunately due to power cuts beyond the hotels control we didn't get a full breakfast. The staff were very helpful in locating jewellery I had left in a drawer. All returned so thank you much appreciated.

Helpful?
Thank BarbaraMorecambe
7Claire7, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us, I will have the windows checked in the room you stayed in & have our maintenance team investigate the problem. We hope you come to stay with us again More 

Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

Just had a lovely weekend at the Clarendon, We were greeted by a lovely Scottish lady who was so pleasant. We had taken our two little dogs with us and they were made to feel welcome. The food was lovely as were the drinks. The staff couldn't do enough for us. 10 out of 10. we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Paul F
Clarendon H, Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking time to give us such positive feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our food meet with your expectations. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to my General Manager Jackie Dawson who was the person checking you in on your arrival. I hope to welcome you back to... More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

This was the first time stay at the Clarendon - it won't be the last! We were in Morecambe for a gig at the Platform, and wanted a good place to stay overnight. The hotel is ideally located on the seafront, with free parking, and a short walk to the Platform venue. All good so far, but it proved to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bluesboy52
Clarendon H, Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time out to provide us with such kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and i will certainly pass your comments on to my General Manager Jackie whom i'm sure will be pleased to know that you had a fantastic stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

Finding ourselves at 9 p.m. with nowhere to stop the night this hotel saved us with a warm, friendly welcome, comfy twin beds and lashings of hot water. The first night (beggars can't be choosers) saw us with no view, but a good room in a quiet corridor, nice furnishings reminiscent of old school elegant seaside hotels. A safe sort... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bev H
Clarendon H, Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we met with your expectations. I will pass the message on to the staff about your comments and i look forward to welcoming you back to The Clarendon Hotel. Kind Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Had a chilled weekend with my fiancé and dog ,hotel dog friendly,staff friendly and helpful.stayed on b.b basis ate at in house restaurant in evening excellent value all round .Rooms good,facilities and bars good,Davy Jones locker bar is dog friendly so really good for us all to have a drink.Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Robert Ritchie R
Clarendon H, Manager at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ritchie, Thank you for taking time out to provide us with feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities were suitable for yourself, fiance and your dog. I do agree that it's very handy having a dog friendly bar (Davy Jones Locker) and i look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
The Midland Hotel - Morecambe
0.9 mi away
Lothersdale Hotel
Lothersdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 12 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berkeley GuestHouse
Berkeley GuestHouse
#1 of 27 in Morecambe
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay