We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    74
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
114
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (301)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

May bank holiday, new to this type of vacation ( usually go abroad) wasn't sure what to expect. Family of 6 and a Labrador. Alowed to check in from 4, no fuss or waiting around. Our cabin was a silver birch in the center of the meadow, gorgeous views of the forest, not overlooked, the hottub was perfect, even in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hessle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went in the May bank holiday break with a family of 4 staying in a Golden Oak cabin. We had arranged to check in at 4pm and whilst others got their keys early, we had to wait until 4.30pm which is not good for my Autistic son. The cabin was ok but not spotless and needs some TLC (loose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent break with us. We are concerned to hear that the problems you encountered were not properly addressed during your stay and we apologise for this. We are grateful for your feedback and we will ensure that we learn from it. Kind regards, Maria Vernon-Allen Customer Services Manager More 

Rugby England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a return trip to Cropton for us. Cabin lovely and spacious and the underfloor heating a real bonus. Because we had a couple of rainy days we decided not to bother going out to eat but bought the frozen meals from the Retreat and settled down in front of the TV after our relaxation in the hot tub.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Cropton. We are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time, it sounds as if you made friends with the local wildlife! We are pleased you enjoyed your meal in too; it can be so much more relaxing that heading out. We hope... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well firstly we booked our stay in August last year for May this year. We booked cabin 4 which we stayed at last year. I got a phone call the day before to say that cabin 4 (previously a silver birch) was being upgraded to a golden oak and wouldn't be ready in time. They decided to offer us cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Hello again and thank you for writing a review following your latest break at Cropton. It’s great to hear you were pleased with your cabin after we had to change it because of the refurbishment. It sounds as if you had a relaxing break and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Maria Vernon-Allen Customer Services Manager More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a regular visitor to Forest Holidays, we fancied a change of location for Easter and this did not disappoint. We saw Deer, Rabbits, Squirrels and many birds. One thing I will mention though is that there is a huge pheasant farm very close by which won't be a problem for most people but I have a chronic phobia of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review following your latest Forest Holiday. We are pleased you enjoyed Cropton and found it to be a true Forest Holiday, although we are sorry to hear about the problems caused to you by the pheasants. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Maria Vernon-Allen Customer Services Manager More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely stay, dog friendly, breakfast good can book it and they make it for u, staff friendly and helpful , cottages could do with a clean but dusty, shops expensive , room service is a great idea, tv is expensive if u want Internet and movies , well worth a visit tho

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you your review following your recent break at Cropton. We are pleased you had a lovely stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Maria Vernon-Allen Customer Services Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in cabin 37 on 20th April until 24th April. Couldnt pick a fault! Everything was perfect and just as we imagined :) the hot tub and log burner was our favorite!!! Chris (maintance guy) was really helpful and helped us out with our tv issue!!! We will 100% be returing here! Would recommend to everyone :) x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Cropton. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next break. Kind regards, Maria Vernon-Allen Customer Services Manager More 

Scunthorpe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a Silver Birch Cabin No. 29 from 27th April-1st May with our two dogs. I will start by listing the good points - The location is lovely and very relaxing plenty of walks of various lengths through the woodland The staff are very helpful especially Zack who sorted our hot tub issues and reception staff are good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Whilst we are pleased you enjoyed some aspects of your holiday we are concerned to hear that your cabin was not to the standard that it should have been. Please accept our apologies for this. With regard to the hot tub, we would like to reassure you that our tubs are checked daily and bromine... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

We spent last week (20th- 24th April) here and could not have picked a better week! The weather was glorious. On arrival we were told we'd been upgraded due to maintenance issues which was great to hear as we were given a Golden Oak cabin. It had everything we needed which was great but the only thing I will say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review following your recent break at Cropton. It sounds as if it was a restorative experience. We apologise that your cabin was not up to the standards it should have been and we would have been only too happy to have addressed this immediately. We are grateful for your feedback. We look forward to seeing... More 

Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Stayed here on a midweek break just this week and have had an incredible time, truly loved every second. The facilities were amazing, the cabin was totally perfect-really clean and tidy, plenty of space, modern but cosy. The underfloor heating is incredible, when it got chilly at night it was a godsend. The outside was wonderful too, lovely big deck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria_Vernon-Allen, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Cropton. We are pleased enjoyed your break and particularly that you liked your cabin and the woodland setting. We are concerned to hear that your welcome by the team was anything less than warm. Please let us reassure you that there was no intention to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (207)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities