We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Munro Guest House

14 Princes Street, Stirling FK8 1HQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Munro Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We have stayed in this hotel twice and had 2 different experiences. Last year we had a top floor room which was spacious and and a en suite. We booked to stay here again and had a poor time. We were given the options of 2 rooms, one of which was a twin room (which as a married couple we... More 

Helpful?
Thank JStodd25
Alex B, Owner at Munro Guest House, responded to this review

John,Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our guest house, I have only become aware of the comments and will be more vigililent to check TA comments in future. I am glad that you were happy with the cleanliness of the room, although we are disappointed to know that there were cobwebs in the room. Had... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Nice couple, they made us very welcome. Easy parking in their street, with backup parking in the nearby station car park The Guest House is near the middle of town – an easy walk to nice pubs with food and nice restaurants. There are some ground floor rooms but otherwise typically Scottish steep stairs and no lift.

Helpful?
Thank StanboOwen
Alex B, Owner at Munro Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind reveiw. We are glad to hear yo enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again some time. Ena and Alex More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Two of us stayed on a Saturday night as we were going to an event in Stirling. The owners were very friendly throughout our stay giving us information the town and ordering us taxi's when required. We stayed in a family room ensuite on the first floor. Nice clean room with tea/coffee making facilities. I would recommend requesting a top... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blondebear2014
Alex B, Owner at Munro Guest House, responded to this review

We are glad to hear yo enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again some time. Ena and Alex More 

Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

Great location! Munro's was within walking distance of the Bus and Train Station. We found Sterling was ideal for scooting back and forth to Glasgow or Edinburgh or exploring Sterling itself. We enjoyed our breakfasts at the Munro Guest House before we headed out for our day. As Canadians we were amazed that a building so old could be so... More 

Helpful?
Thank 26sjh
Alex B, Owner at Munro Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind reveiw. We are glad to hear yo enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again some time. Ena and Alex More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

This B&B is in the perfect location. It is close to all the Stirling attractions and restaurants. We never had to use our car to do everything we wanted to do in Stirling. The rooms are small but adequate and the breakfast was very good. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank verchewee
Alex B, Manager at Munro Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind reveiw. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime. Ena and Alex More 

United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Our family booked the 'family room' with a queen and bunk beds and bathroom. Tight quarters, but thankful for not having to book two rooms to accommodate the four of us. Nice view out the bay window. Very nice walking location about 5 minutes to 'downtown area.' The castle is about 15 minute walk on the other side of 'downtown,'... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gatekeeper77
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

You feel very welcome at this cosy family guesthouse. The atmosphere is cosy, warm, welcoming and the hostcouple is very helpfull with information and tips. The guesthouse has a superb location for exploring Stirling and the area around. If you do not have a car, the public transportation with train and buses works fine around the FIFE area - it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tinadk2015
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Ena and Alex were welcoming and helpful. The location us very convenient, right in the center of town and a few minutes from the train station and 1 minute from the bus stop. Breakfast was filling and delicious. Who could ask for anything more?

Helpful?
Thank rmcopley16
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

This b and b is right in Stirling town centre and within a 5 minute walk of the train station. Ena and Alex were very welcoming and engaging. My room was on the ground floor near to the kitchen and dining area, and honestly I didn't hear any noise coming from there during my stay. The room was a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikinoo9
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We had an very nice stay during the Ryder Cup 2014. The room was small, cozy as expected and had an amazing view (Church and Wallace Monument). The Breakfast was awesome and Ena & Alex were so lovely. If we're in the area again, we would allways love come back.

Helpful?
Thank OFI-Germany
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 22 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stirling Youth Hostel
Stirling Youth Hostel
#14 of 15 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Willy Wallace
The Willy Wallace
#11 of 15 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunard B&B
Dunard B&B
#10 of 15 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities