We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Youth Hostel

Erskine Marykirk | St. John's St., Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Stirling Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Suzi650 Monaghan, Ireland
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    18
    14
    9
    11
See reviews for
10
13
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There were a lot of positives here, the location, the staff, the kitchen facilities and the power of the shower. However, I didn't like the fact that there were hairs in our shower drain and the carpets looked filthy with stains so could really do with a good steam clean. I didn't find this place too reasonably priced for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and we loved it! We felt very welcome here. The staff was so nice and helpful especially John who helped us a lot with finding places to visit nearby. Also he was quite funny. The rooms were nice and clean, the kitchen's big and it has everything you need. The wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for a wedding so this was literally just a place to sleep for us and we didn't try the food or anything, but based on just the room itself and the service I was extremely disappointed. It is 5 minutes walk from the town centre up a hill, and from the outside it looks like quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Stirling hotels

ayrshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as I refuse to camp at Titp. Easy to find with sat nav close to motorways situated in the beautiful old town area near the castle. First time in a youth hostel and highly recommend it. Staff were lovely and spoke to you rooms basic but clean we had twin room with shower and toilet. £150 for 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It all started when we pulled into Stirling on the darkest, rainiest winter night hoping for a comfortable bed. What we got was much more sinister. As if the graveyard and the building's eerie facade at the top of the hill wasn't enough of an omen, we walked into a seemingly deserted prison and were barred from the man at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

A group of us stayed here for a night while cycle touring and I'm really glad we did as it's probably the best location in Stirling and worth cycling up the steep cobbled climb to get there. My partner and I had an en-suite room at the front of the building. The room was vast and had lovely views. Everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, Thanks so much for a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Lorna Padden More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We found this hostel by pure luck. Unplanned stop in Stirling for the night and passed the entrance not far down the hill from Stirling Castle. From John, the manager to the gap year helpers all were so friendly and helpful. It's very clean in rooms and kitchen. Laundry facilities were good and location was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for this lovely review, we will pass your comments onto John also. Thanks Lorna More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Always stay here on are first night up north. Amazing hostel. Set in an old prison.. You feel like your on a movie set. Rooms fine and clean, we had a great view over the town. Love Stirling. Limited parking but we have always been lucky. .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

WOW, Thanks for your kind words, very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Lorna Padden More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Price:good Location: perfect Bedroom: poor The hostel staff were friendly, the kitchen and lounge were good, however the layout of the rooms was quite awful. Who would design a bedroom with a shower in it? Quite cramped with a lot of beds in a small space. I'd still recommend it though for its prime location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review and let us know about your stay, we will have a look at the comments you have raised. Thanks Lorna Padden More 

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

This is a premium tourist location -- just 2 min from the castle and similarly close to the town centre. However, since it is on the site of a previous church, be ready for the grave yard by the building. As I noticed one other reviewer mentioned feeling uncomfortable about this, while no where in the introduction mentioned this fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review. We are really disappointed to read your review. Most of our guests love the fact that this Youth Hostel has a history and its location, so its really disappointing to read this review. our Team at Stirling are one of the friendliest bunch you will meet, so again this is disappointing to read. We will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#12 of 22 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cook's of Stirling
Cook's of Stirling
#6 of 22 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Terraces Hotel
Terraces Hotel
#16 of 22 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay