We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Youth Hostel

Erskine Marykirk | St. John's St., Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Stirling Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Louise L Cardiff, United Kingdom
Add Photo

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    18
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
10
12
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of us stayed here for a night while cycle touring and I'm really glad we did as it's probably the best location in Stirling and worth cycling up the steep cobbled climb to get there. My partner and I had an en-suite room at the front of the building. The room was vast and had lovely views. Everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, Thanks so much for a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Lorna Padden More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We found this hostel by pure luck. Unplanned stop in Stirling for the night and passed the entrance not far down the hill from Stirling Castle. From John, the manager to the gap year helpers all were so friendly and helpful. It's very clean in rooms and kitchen. Laundry facilities were good and location was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for this lovely review, we will pass your comments onto John also. Thanks Lorna More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Always stay here on are first night up north. Amazing hostel. Set in an old prison.. You feel like your on a movie set. Rooms fine and clean, we had a great view over the town. Love Stirling. Limited parking but we have always been lucky. .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

WOW, Thanks for your kind words, very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Lorna Padden More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Price:good Location: perfect Bedroom: poor The hostel staff were friendly, the kitchen and lounge were good, however the layout of the rooms was quite awful. Who would design a bedroom with a shower in it? Quite cramped with a lot of beds in a small space. I'd still recommend it though for its prime location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review and let us know about your stay, we will have a look at the comments you have raised. Thanks Lorna Padden More 

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

This is a premium tourist location -- just 2 min from the castle and similarly close to the town centre. However, since it is on the site of a previous church, be ready for the grave yard by the building. As I noticed one other reviewer mentioned feeling uncomfortable about this, while no where in the introduction mentioned this fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review. We are really disappointed to read your review. Most of our guests love the fact that this Youth Hostel has a history and its location, so its really disappointing to read this review. our Team at Stirling are one of the friendliest bunch you will meet, so again this is disappointing to read. We will... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Stayed here with a friend on a backpacking trip. This hostel is very convenient to Stirling city centre and has a car park for guests. But... I really have nothing good! This was the worst place we stayed in out of all of the +18 hostels we stayed at. The room was a 4 person female dorm. It was incredibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi We are very sorry to read this and we are very disappointed with this review as Stirling Youth Hostel consistently scores very highly, so this is very below our standards. We would like to discuss this further with you so we can understand the issues better. Could you please email James Loudon our Stirling Manager on: stirlingmanager@syha.org.uk Thanks Lorna... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015 via mobile

We were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Stirling for our family of four. This hostel is right in the heart of the city, a short walk up the hill to the castle or down the hill to the main shopping area. You don't need to be a member and you can either make your own breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we are so glad you enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you again. Lorna Padden More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

This hostel is located right in the town of Stirling, a stone's throw away from the famous castle and next door to the Holy Rood church. The Smith museum is no more than a 10 minute walk away and you'll be in town in the same amount of time. The hostel was clean, quite and well-run when I stayed there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, Thank You, what a great review, we will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our team at Stirling Youth Hostel, thanks so much, we really do appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Lorna Padden More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This hostel is a bit of a mix up as the common areas (self-catering kitchen, dining room) are excellent whereas the dormitory I stayed in seemed deliberately designed for maximum overcrowding -although it was only a small room, they have managed to pack 4 beds AND a shower AND a toilet AND a basin in it. Personally I think en-suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, You are getting round our Youth Hostels, thanks again for taking the time to review. Lorna Padden More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

On on slow ride south from my job managing a hostel further north i managed to drop my motorbike virtually outside this hostel and pull a muscle in my back. I was going to stay at Willy Wallace backpackers because i know the manager. I limped in here no booking and very sore, the staff ( Andrew i think )... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Stirling Youth Hostel, we will pass on your kind comments to Andrew and the rest of the team at Stirling. Thanks Lorna Padden More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay