We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Stirling accommodations

Stirling Youth Hostel

Erskine Marykirk | St. John's St., Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stirling Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Stirling Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
52%
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (5)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perranporth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hostel is practical and good and the rooms are fine to stay in. The food however, is appalling. It was in no way edible particularly the meat. Both breakfasts and dinners had people throwing up which is a clear sign of worry. I would not recommend staying here at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

StormLR I am very sorry to read about your recent experience at Stirling Youth Hostel, this is taken very seriously by us and partuicualrly your comnets in respect of the food. We constantly get great reviews about our food and chef so this is serious to us. We have a fully trained kitchen team who adhere and follow all legislation.... More

tervuren
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were welcomed by Simon, who travels from one hostel to another Simon is by far the best hotel receptionist/manager I have met and I have spent several thousands of nights in hotels, including Ritz, so I am not saying this lightly! Hotel is very nicely located and has all facilities you want. Beds were not really great but hey,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Stirling Youth Hostel. Beds is a little disappointing, as they and the mattress are all new this April, but yes they are bunk beds. As for your review on Simon, yes he is our Relief Duty manager and was covering the Managers annual leave... More

Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as a travelling youth football team from north wales (21 in party) and the staff were fantastic and went out of their way to help us with anything. I thought the beds were really comfy. Great experience for our young lads who enjoyed their time in a well run hostel in the historic heart of stirling!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Mark C Thanks so much, another 5 star rating, we remember you well and we loved having you all with us, make sure you book again for next year. Lorna Padden More

Derry
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights as a family during the Commonwealth Games when accommodation was at a premium in Glasgow so this was affordable and available! The hostel in in a lovely location near the castle, quiet and feels safe with families, young backpackers, older couples and cyclists all mixing in together. It is at the top of a steep hill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We recently invested in new beds, mattresses, table and chairs for all our rooms, we are currently putting new showers into all the rooms. We will have a look at the issues raised and see what we can do brighten the room. Please spread the word to give us a try. Lorna Padden More

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I fail to understand why cleaner can prepare a room for the next guest and not notice that the main bedroom light is not working, two of the battery powered stick-on bunk lights are laying on the window sill or that there is no plug for the sink. Or are the faults reported but no maintenance is performed? Yes the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thanks for your feedback, and No you should not have to put up with these issues, this isn't what we pride ourselves on, and we will discuss your experience with the Stirling team to ensure their is a procedure being adhered to as we do have a maintenance policy. Sorry this happened and please do give us another... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night around commonwealth games. Staff were amazing, facilities clean and straight forward. Brekky good. The commonroom was great and the kitchen facilities better then most. Bit of a walk from station up hill but £3 in cab if lazy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for our 5 star rating, that's made our day, we really do appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience. Hope you enjoyed the Commonwealth games, we in Stirling get our own fun next month, we have the Ryder Cup happening very close by. Lorna Padden More

Walhalla, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I want to thank the staff at Stirling Youth hostel. as specially John and Nicole and James... I even came back for a second stay after trying other hostels further north. I was made very welcome, like part of the family. The internet was playing up while I stayed the first time but I was refunded my money with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Stirling Youth Hostel, responded to this review

wallyminer Wow, thanks we loved having you. We want everyone who stays with us at Stirling Youth Hostel to feel this way, hopefully this review will encourage others to post their experiences and come stay with us. James, John and Nicola all pass on their very best wishes and thank you personally for naming them in this review, its really... More

Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed three nights in a private room a little while ago, so this review wont cover the communal accommodation. The building itself isn't particularly easy or hard to find, but being right at the top of the hill that Stirling is based on it's a great place to start the day, but a bit of a climb at the end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

An old church which is still surrounded by grave stones has been expertly converted to a hostel. The hostel is a short walk from both the castle and the town. Our party of 4 had a private room which was larger than most and with its own ensuite. The hostel has its own car park in front of the hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fairfield
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

this is in a great location, within walking distance of the castle. food nearby. the room is stripped down, ie: no tv, but clean. you ask for towels and take your laundry down after~ staff was present and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stirling Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stirling Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling Youth Hostel

Address: Erskine Marykirk | St. John's St., Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Stirling Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling Youth Hostel Scotland

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stirling with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stirling Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer