We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Lion Hotel

8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Golden Lion Hotel
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    174
    115
    64
    57
See reviews for
79
219
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (548)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (114)
All months
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All looked very promising when I walked in to reception and the reception staff were very polite. However the room was a completely different story. My 3rd floor room was in dire need of decorating with the wallpaper starting to peel off the walls, and to be honest it wouldn't be much of a job to do in what was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erskine, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed on Saturday night. Lovely room and hotel. Very relaxing bar. All staff were very pleasant and helpful Private parking made things a lot easier Location ideal and central with a great range of bars and restaurants nearby Will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for an overnight business trip and was impressed with the location of the hotel with it being close to both the train station and the location for the meeting I was attending. On first impressions, the hotel is impressive with a rather nice foyer and I was allocated a room on the first floor. I can whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked the Golden Lion Hotel for Easter Sunday for an overnight stay with my fiancée on advise from a work colleague & I have to admit I was impressed, we arrived early & unfortunately our room wasn't ready but the hotel reception took our luggage anyway & told us our room would be ready at 2pm as stated on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glasgow , Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on Good Friday and paid for a two night stay.We were given a room on the fifth floor.First impression was although the room was clean the decor looked a bit tired and shabby.Then we noticed a chunk out of the plasterboard wall opposite the bed. We reported this to reception and requested an alternative room.We were given another room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location lots of shops and eating places nearby, the staff are so friendly and pleasent and helpful if u need anything, food and drink was good value for money. Hotel itself is clean and modern and we felt very comfortable in the cosy surroundings. I was recommended this hotel by a friend and I would highly recommend it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here to visit my daughter who was attending Stirling University. The hotel was very nice and had a great breakfast buffet. Our rooms were huge, clean, and quiet. Great location for us. Would definitely recommend!

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night midweek booked at the last minute directly on the hotel's website. Got a very good rate. Much, much cheaper than the Colessio or Stirling Highland hotel. Or room was very nice, large and just as nice as the Stirling Highland. Staff were friendly but not intrusive. Central location and free parking helped. Some of the hallways... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Weston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed March 23, 2015. Am paying approximately $105 for one night. About $50 to much or one night. Roomy is tiny, no WiFi in any of the rooms. Have to visit the hotel lobby or bar for a wifi signal where the temperature feels like 80 degrees Fahrenheit. My tiny room has a broken door knob that does secure the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment- you already discussed to me this morning - the room has good accommodations and the door veneer has split just near the door handle which was evidently nothing to do with an attempt to break in, the lock is secure - if you had requested to have a room with double beds... More 

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here last Thur.a nd Frid.We had booked 2 weeks in advance and asked for a room with a walkin shower and twin beds as he is quite disabled. We were made very welcome on arrival and shown to our room 207 I have never seen such a large bathroom with so many facilities .The shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your kind comments , I will convey them to the team accordingly Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question