We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Stirling hotels

Golden Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Golden Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Stirling
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
John F Glasgow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    150
    104
    57
    51
See reviews for
72
188
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (486)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Golden Lion to have a couple of days away with our son who is 15. We booked a family room and having been able to see inside some other rooms when they were being cleaned it was tiny in comparison and not fit for 3 adults. The rooms were very tired and in dire need of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

THank you for your constructive comments, all our family rooms vary in size due to the age of the Hotel which shows the characteristics of this Historic Hotel We are currently looking into extending our FREE WIFI offering throughout the Hotel as we see it as a necessity for our Guests Regards More

Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent five wonderful nights at hotels in Edinburgh and Inverness while enjoying a tour of Scotland, I was sadly disappointed to experience one night in this place. The room was very small, with a sharply sloping ceiling on which one might bang one's head, no ventilation and a bathroom that one could barely enter and close the door. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment , You requested a Single room which was what you had booked, there is always an option to upgrade to a double for sole which you could have asked for albeit an additional charge would apply, some of which your party did request. FREE WIFI is ony available in our public areas,... More

Swarland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall the hotel is past its sell by date. It is gloomy, scruffy and smelly. My room 452 was cramped and dark. See photo. It had an aura of neglect with mould on the grouting in the bathroom and a missing mechanical plug in the wash hand basin. The seating area was a joke with two armchairs providing a splendid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us We are currently looking to upgrade this floor to some extent next year however after checking this room I didnt see any undue concerns albeit a smaller room compared to others In regard to breakfast we do take pride in our offering and can assure you we... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of October on business. First of all, the good points: -Welcoming reception -Free parking -Excellent access to the town -Good food in the restaurant and bar -Friendly bar staff And the bad points: -Once out of the main reception area, the hotel is very dated. -Corridors leading to rooms, particularly the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
26 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a good location in the heart of the city. Getting to the car park was a nightmare due to the labyrinth of one way streets. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar has comfy couches as well as chairs and tables. Our room was a decent size, clean and comfortable. The shower took a while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we booked two double rooms well over a year ago. The rooms were clean and a good size. The shower was a bit variable but overall it was hot and did the job. We stayed B&B. Breakfast was OK but did not vary over the 5 days. I have had better Full Scottish breakfasts. Bar was friendly but choices of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we do offer a choice 32 Item Buffet to which you have the opportunity to select accordingly, the offering was varied slightly on this particular week albeit we need to ensure continuity as advertised/menus Kind regards More

Darlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked here a year in advance for two nights over the Ryder Cup period. I was promised two double beds in the room (family room). We paid £300 per night for 3 adults sharing 1 family room. The total amount of £600 was paid in advance, the owner (June) certainly knows what she was doing getting payment in advance,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay I'm Disappointed you were under the impression you thought your room wasn't as advised. We do not guarantee which type of family room you would receive as each one is different. You were offered another family room which was one of the two available at the time as all... More

Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

You're right in the centre of things at the Golden Lion - a short walk from buses and the station, and the pleasure of staying in a place that started in the 18th century. Our room was clean, pleasant, comfortable, albeit with a view of the back fire escape (213). Bar and waiting staff were lovely - very kind, caring,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Rather old hotel ,one of the slowest lifts going. Food was very good and staff were happy and helpful. Some of the areas of the hotel was very stale/musty smell. WiFi only in the lobby area which was a shame for the guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The bar staff were clueless, i ordered a gin and tonic and each time had to ask for lemon slice then got lime and they were trying to pass off draught soda water as tonic, while charging same price! Also was no light in far end off ladies toilet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay