We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Lion Hotel

8 - 10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Golden Lion Hotel
Rate this Hotel

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    173
    115
    62
    56
See reviews for
78
216
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (541)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (114)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for one night midweek booked at the last minute directly on the hotel's website. Got a very good rate. Much, much cheaper than the Colessio or Stirling Highland hotel. Or room was very nice, large and just as nice as the Stirling Highland. Staff were friendly but not intrusive. Central location and free parking helped. Some of the hallways... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Weston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed March 23, 2015. Am paying approximately $105 for one night. About $50 to much or one night. Roomy is tiny, no WiFi in any of the rooms. Have to visit the hotel lobby or bar for a wifi signal where the temperature feels like 80 degrees Fahrenheit. My tiny room has a broken door knob that does secure the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment- you already discussed to me this morning - the room has good accommodations and the door veneer has split just near the door handle which was evidently nothing to do with an attempt to break in, the lock is secure - if you had requested to have a room with double beds... More 

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here last Thur.a nd Frid.We had booked 2 weeks in advance and asked for a room with a walkin shower and twin beds as he is quite disabled. We were made very welcome on arrival and shown to our room 207 I have never seen such a large bathroom with so many facilities .The shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your kind comments , I will convey them to the team accordingly Regards More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed this wkend along with another couple for my birthday. First impressions of the hotel were good. Nice foyer, and reception area, tastefully decorated and in keeping with the hotels age and history. However, when we were given our 1st set of room keys (377), my jaw literally hit the floor. I can honestly say, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay I am disappointed to hear some of the comments herein stated which was noted by the Manager in question, I am aware the remainder of your party who resided were in nicer rooms which you observed and mentioned why you were not in similar accommodations, reason being, you... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the third year in a row our awards night has been hosted here, and every year I am disappointed. The room this year is decorated quite nicely and looks fairly new, but there are cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, the shower was luke warm at best and the corridor is a shambles of shabby paint work, damp patches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent Visit , I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your meal, you are correct that the soup was not as hot as it should of been which we only found out after servicing and annoyed myself this happened to say the least. Three bar staff were allocated for this event and... More 

Kinross, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed a few times at the Golden Lion , and accept it's not 5 star , and has a perfect location (if you know how to get into the car park ...some detailed driving directions would be handy on the web site ) , but having stayed last night , we were very disappointed .. We stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - unfortunately this room overlooks an adjoining property who have a pigeon netting to deter the obvious which is beyond our control, however I have discussed with the party concerned to remove the debris which is lying thereto and hopefully remedy this to some extent - with only one coat hanger and 1 empty bottle... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our organisation held a dinner dance here. Hotel is in a perfect location right in the centre of the city and has a lovely old fashioned elegance about it. The function suite is spacious with beautifully decorated tables and a large dance floor. The food was average but excellent value for money. Staff attentive but at the same time discreet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed over with my partner and we both enjoyed our visit. The hotel is very nice but the corridors could do with a bit attention to improve the overall experience, however the reception, bar and our bedroom more than made up for this. When I booked the hotel 3 weeks in advance I said that I'd like to book a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Want to add our special thanks to all the staff for making our annual dance a great success at the weekend. The ballroom is beautifully decorated with a large dance floor and plenty room for everyone. We think the Hotel does exceptionally well and we all have memories of attending other events there over many years. The meal was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

brilliant food at breakfast and evening meals.friendly staff.great location in stirling old town 5 minutes walk from raiway station lovely 200 year old hotel.room was alittle tired looking but clean .public areas and resturaunt were very nice

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

THank you for your kind comments I will pass these on to the Team, we look forward to welcoming you back More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question