We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Stirling hotels

Terraces Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Terraces Hotel to your Saves list
Terraces Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
66%
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Stirling
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sesamoid London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (221)
  • Photos (32)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    27
    27
    22
See reviews for
25
101
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended a wedding in the terraces on saturday, and whilst the company and wedding itself was great, the venue and its service was below bad! The staff were being pushed to there limits with requests...and while they most certainly tried there very hardest, the lack of them was a disgrace! One member serving and 3 washing glasses is just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management T, Front Office Manager at Terraces Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I see from your review that you were an evening wedding guest at the hotel, and not a resident. I apologise that you felt that the service was slow at the bar on Saturday night. We had 2 members of bar staff on for the function, as well... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A really nice hotel with good clean rooms and good standard all round. Very helpful staff when we asked to change rooms due to strange noises (a fan from the kitchen maybe?). Only minor problem was a very weak shower. Lots of parking and were happy for us to park there before we checked in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management T, General Manager at Terraces Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Terraces and wonderful to know you had such a pleasant experience with us. We hope to welcome you back to Scotland and The Terraces in the future. Kind Regards General Manager More

Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this night as a work night out. It was a great night from start to finish, very good value for money. The food was nice and the effort put in to catering for our vegan team member was fantastic. The actors were great and fun to be around and the story line fun and easy to follow. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taipei
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Terraces Hotel in Stirling town gave me a big surprise with offering a clean room, friendly staff, convenient location as well as good budge! Room is clean and well-designed in classical and Scottish style; space is quite enough. There is a bathtub in the bathroom. Water is very hot. However, wifi doesn't work very well. Location is great. Melville Rd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management T, Manager at Terraces Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for your kind review. We appreciate all feedback. We very much look forward to you returning to the Terraces Hotel in the future. Kind Regards General Manager More

Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After touring all day, we decided to settle for in and find a motel and dinner for the night, quite a challenge as most places we tried had been booked out. The nice lady at the Premier Inn called a few places for us and we luckily struck a place a few miles away that had a room for us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management T, Manager at Terraces Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I will pass on all comments to the relevant departments. We do hope you visit Stirling again soon. Kind Regards General Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The staff, food & service is excellent. An exceptional chef who is very talented. All welcomed us well. Even though the kitchen was closed Helen went out her way to accommodate myself & my new bride by providing some food. The reception was faultless again the staff went out their to accommodate us even providing me with the steak of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management T, General Manager at Terraces Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Many thanks for your kind review. It was a great pleasure to host you, your family and friends during your wedding celebrations. All of our staff work hard to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable and relaxed stay. I will pass on your comments to them all. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards... More

masaimaragirl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Staff welcomed us well,helped with our luggage.I'd booked a family room, Room 4 and it was clean, great size and had everything we needed. I didn't notice any cleanliness issues as described in previous reviews. I found the hotel to be quiet, and welcoming.I have family in Stirling and visit a few times a year and always stay at The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here two nights because it was convenient to our travels. Our room was small, very old, and the bathroom was in need of a good cleaning. The tub was very tall and hard to get in. On the other hand, our traveling companions had a very updated room with an updated bath. The staff was very helpful but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management T, Manager at Terraces Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review.The hotel is undergoing on going refurbishment. I will pass on your positive comments to the staff involved and the Chef. We hope to welcome you again at the Terraces Hotel on your next visit to Stirling. Kind Regards General Manager More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My friend and I had booked into the Terraces Hotel for one night to break our journey from Skye to Manchester. Had read reviews and thought it couldn't be as bad as they said. After all it looked good on the photos. Guess what, it was! and worse! Thread bare stair carpet, very messy unpainted putty around window panes, cups... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management T, Manager at Terraces Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate all feedback and we are sorry that we fell below your expectations on this occasion. The positive reviews which we receive only show me that we must continue to strive for 100% positive reviews. I would of very much liked to have spoken with you while... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here with hubby by default as the original booking was for another hotel but they relocated us in here the night before we arrived so no choice. Checking in was stressful as the receptionist clueless and disorganised, told us our room ready but when we went upstairs, the cleaning lady told us that it was just vacated 2 minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Terraces Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Terraces Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraces Hotel

Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Terraces Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Terraces Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling, Scotland

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stirling with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stirling
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the historic district of Stirling, in a peaceful setting with private free parking. An ideal location as a base from which to explore this ancient city and the many attractions within it and beyond. The hotel is a delightful Georgian, building refurbished in recent years to offer all the comforts required by today's discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Terraces Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer