We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stirling Highland Hotel

4.0 of 5 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    391
    192
    102
    57
See reviews for
120
522
39
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1075)
  • Mar-May only
    (299)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (274)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (275)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (227)
All months
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights in December. Its a really nice hotel in the centre of Stirling with the shops and restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel was very near Stirling castle although we didn't visit. It also had an excellent fitness centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night, nice hotel, easy to get to by train, you do have to walk up a pretty steep hill tho, Check in was quick and efficient, room was clean, Service at the bar was good. The food was not bad, maybe I just expected more since they seem to throw there 1aa Rosette in your face... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear G2theg, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Stirling Highland Hotel and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed dinner and I do hope to welcome you back for another visit again very soon. Kind regards Stewart Bond General Manager More 

Falkirk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located in the center of Stirling, halfway up the hill between the shopping area and the castle. It is located in an old school building and even has an astronomical observatory on the roof (which unfortunately I didn't have time to visit). We had a "superior room" which was a decent size and came with a complementary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BigLighty, It is great to reads that you enjoyed your stay with here with us. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I am pleased that you were happy with you room and that you found our bar cosy. It is a shame that you didn’t get chance to see the observatory it really is worth a visit. We... More 

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here for the first time after purchasing a Spa Deal through one of the popular voucher sites. The Hotel itself is full of history. Beautiful building set high in Stirling so great views. The Spa itself is lovely. Changing Rooms were a good size however the only down side is that they do not have the spinner for your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cymraes66, Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments regarding the changing rooms will be passed on to our maintenance manager and I'm sure that our therapist will be thrilled to hear your compliments as I will most defiantly pass these on to her. It’s great to hear... More 

Saint Clair, Michigan, Usa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, this is classified as a four star Hotel. And I am sure it used to be. But it definitely. needs to be updated as soon as possible. The Hotel, had made a few mistakes with the booking, including a double room instead of twin beds . They rectified this straight away and said they had upgraded us to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will be undertaking a refurbishment soon, having said this a lot of people tell us how nice the hotel is and that it obtains a lot of character. I'm pleased to hear that we were able to rectify the bedroom situation. We do not provide the... More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, rooms and all areas very clean, staff lovely. Nice spacious rooms. so central shops etc within walking distance on issue is steep hill. This hotel was previously a school so have a bit of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marian1958, There is lots of history to our hotel which many people find interesting. I'm glad to hear you have chosen to return back to us as we are centrally located and on a hill which is just a 5 minute taxi drive away from the train station. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay soon.... More 

Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is in centre of Stirling with easy access to shops and castle. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. The room was spacious ,comfortable and clean. There was plenty of parking onsite. I would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel to anyone visiting Stirling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm thrilled to hear that you can recommend us to others. It's always great to hear our staff are pleasant and your room was spacious and comfortable. We do have plenty of free car parking and there is lots to see near by such as the Bridge... More 

Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is centrally located with plenty of free car parking onsite. It is decorated in keeping with its character and is a fabulously quirky building. We stayed here for the 3 night New Year Residential Package. Our room was clean, spacious and warm. The towels were gorgeous - white and fluffy. The bed was very, very comfortable. The tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do try our best to make all our guests have a relaxing stay, I do apologise that there was a wait for your wine on 2 of you evenings however I’m pleased this was rectified on your bill at the end of your stay. We do... More 

Ayrshire, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights midweek and the food and service were excellent. The staff are all very pleasant and the room clean and comfortable. It was a smaller, slightly more modest version of the boutique style rooms at the Fairmont in St Andrews although the bathroom was not quite as opulent and, for the cost, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MizzPB, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our hotel was formerly a high school with lots of history to it and also comes with its own working observatory. There is plenty to visit whilst staying with us such as the Stirling Castle, Bridge of Allan and the Whisky Distillery. I'm delighted you had a lovely... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a couple of nights as a base to do a bit of sightseeing at new year. Nice hotel but it isn't a four star any more due to the place being a tad tired, it could do with a real update. However the room was a good size, great sized flat screen tv in the room, shower not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BBB2108, I'm disappointed to read that you feel this way and I do hope that you spoke to member of staff at the hotel regarding your experiences. We are having a significant amount invested on our hotel which is planned for the property in 2015. Your comments have been passed onto the maintenance Manager and will be looked into.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stirling

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay