We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stirling Highland Hotel

Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    402
    466
    225
    114
    64
See reviews for
144
625
43
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1271)
  • Mar-May only
    (392)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (359)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (275)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (245)
All months
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This Hotel was in a great location for the Stirling Castle, just a short walk up the street & the centre of town in the opposite direction. Staff, room, restaurant all very nice and would definitely stay here again..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We like to stay in nice hotels so thought as this being classed as a 4* and reading the majority of the reviews on Trip Advisor as brilliant, we should go ahead and book. The Stirling Highland Hotel edged over booking the hotel next door, The Colessio as The Stirling had a swimming pool which we were also looking for.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelBugs1982, Thank you your 4* review and I am pleased to read that overall, you did enjoy your stay with us at The Stirling Highland Hotel. Many people who stay with us enjoy the quirky corridors and the history of the building, but it is a shame to read that you did not enjoy such things. I am also... More 

La Palma, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel as a way to avoid the tourist traps in Glasgow and Edinburgh and to generally escape the city congestion. We could not have been more pleased. The hotel is a charming re-do of a former boarding school, and while the lifts were not in operation at the time of our visit was well appointed and more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stosborn, It is great to read that your stay here was faultless and a welcome escape from the usual tourist hotels. Thank you ever so much for leaving us such fantastic feedback. I am pleased to announce that a new lift has been installed and is now fully operational. We do hope you will use us as your home... More 

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked this hotel for our parents ruby wedding anniversary. Hotel was nice however the service was terrible. In the restaurant, had to wait 15/20 minutes before we had to ask someone if we could order a drink. Bottle of prosecco was warm-waitress gave us a glass of ice to cool it down! Told us she would bring us water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alisonmac78, It is great to read that both you and your parents enjoyed your stay here with us especially our fantastic location and your evening meal. Your feedback regarding your bill is disappointing to read however I have investigated this and this was not passed on through the booking agency, I am sorry this put a dampener on your... More 

scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

On arrival I thought this was going to be a really nice hotel! Wrong!!! Room was "premier" so thankfully we were not in basic as the "premier room" was very small & dated. Shower was very poor. Door in room that obviously led to next room (maybe was family room at one point) so there is the feeling your in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Drovidha, I am pleased to read that you were impressed with both your evening meal and breakfast here with us. I am however disappointed that your room did not meet expectations on this occasion. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. Kind regards Stewart Bond General Manager More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent customer service.The reception good.Deluxe/ premiums rooms-fresh, modern,spacious.Food excellent.The lift broken but bags delivered to rooms.Used restored hotel observatory/ truly wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 819dianet, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and dining experience here with us at the Stirling Highland Hotel. I am also pleased that you got chance to look at our observatory, which I agree is truly magnificent. Thank you for leaving us a review. We do hope that you will return to us in... More 

Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here one night, having booked, and prepaid, a deluxe king room. What we actually got was a premier twin room. Apparently there are only 2 deluxe rooms in the hotel, and they were already occupied!! So why was my booking accepted?? Needless to say, no discount was offered. What made the room premier?? Certainly not the size. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Raa50, I am pleased to read that you were impressed with your evening meal and also the attentive service you received during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies over the confusion of your room it would be interesting to know if this was booked via us directly or a third party agent online as this is not a... More 

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a lovely visit to the spa today. Fantastic value...2 x 30 min treatments and 2 course lunch. My massage and facial were great and left me feeling very relaxed. Think my therapist was called magdalena. Also enjoyed the jacuzzi and sauna. This is my 2nd visit for the spa day, last time was 7 months ago so it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashbash1981, What a lovely review! I am pleased to read that on both occasions you have thoroughly enjoyed your spa treatments and left nice and relaxed. Your feedback regarding the lunch menu is appreciated and has been taken on board. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind regards Stewart... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was here today for a full spa day with my mum as at treat!! Arrived and welcome was very good. Got changed and entered swimming pool area and went to walk up the two stairs to jacuzzi to put towels down and slid on step and ripped my toe nail off completely. Was the most painful thing!! Spent the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda E, I have read your incident report and I do hope that your toe is better. We take any incident extremely seriously and we are looking at making the steps less slippery. It is however great to read that despite this you had relaxing treatments by Kayleigh and also a tasty lunch. Thank you for leaving us a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

229 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.4 mi away
Cook's of Stirling
Cook's of Stirling
#6 of 22 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#10 of 22 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#12 of 22 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay