We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stirling Highland Hotel

4.0 of 5 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    379
    189
    100
    56
See reviews for
117
510
38
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1050)
  • Mar-May only
    (299)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (274)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (275)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (202)
All months
Stirling
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel made our stay. They went out of their way to meet our every requirement. The food is amazing, especially the beef. Even my fussy wife managed to find food she liked and they even adapted meals to reach her needs. The rooms are spacious and they even have toothpaste at reception which my wife forgot.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear d_burns88, I am extremely happy to read that you both enjoyed every moment of your stay. Your kind words about our staff’s excellent service will be passed on to my team straight away. They will be pleased to her such recognition of their service as am I Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We... More 

Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After a reasonable trek up the hill, trailing my suitcase behind me from the train station (just not quite far enough to justify a taxi!) I got to the Stirling Highland. It looks pretty impressive from the outside as you enter the courtyard - very well-equipped gym to the right, and beautifully decorated (with it being Christmas) reception area to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rybblevalley, Thank you for highlighting your issues regarding the Wifi as we are looking into this. I have passed on your feedback regarding your room to The Housekeeping Manager. It's always pleasing to read that our staff were friendly and your check in was quick. I do hope you return to us in the future as we would like... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for a work Christmas night out, the rooms were nice but the bar is old fashioned and dated so we went next door to the Colessio which was much better, unfortunately we had to return for the meal and entertainment, the meal was passible however my friend found a long hair in the tablet served with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sazmac2211, It is disheartening to read that you were unhappy with aspects of your Christmas party. Although I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your evening the feedback from the several hundred other guest that have attended our festive events has been very positive. Your feedback is appreciated and has been noted. Thank you for taking the time... More 

Stirling
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel on our way home from Inverness, and was happy that we stayed here because the staff was really good especially with my husband being partially disabled. Facilities was number 1. - especially the leisure pool and sauna. Also had a good meal in the hotel. Could not fault it. Will be recommending the hotel for a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is extremely pleasing to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay, especially the disabled facilities we provide and also the service you received. We look forward to your return Stewart Bond General Manager More 

Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an enjoyable week in December 2014 using the Stirling Highland Hotel as a base to explore the area. The room was clean and tidy as was all of the hotel. The provision of tea and coffee in the room was a let down as I have stayed in B and Bs that provide a greater variety of beverages and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DhobeyD, I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us here. The points for improvement that you have mentioned are appreciated and have been taken on board fully. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to the possibility of your return Kind regards Stewart Bond General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had A nice break away at Stirling Hotel. Everything up to scratch as they say ! Only down point was the 'Afternoon Tea' had this as part of our 'deal' which was great but friends joined us and had not booked this as part of there stay so they paid full price! Which was most certainly not value for money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice R, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am pleased that overall, you did enjoy your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on the quality of our Afternoon Tea, which is baked and prepared daily. We receive lots of positive feedback about this and many guests are happy with paying for quality... More 

Loftus, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved it. Lovely room in fantastic location. Staff couldn't do enough. We stayed a couple of nights after getting married and were surprised with wine,chocolates and a card. What more can I say? Would we go back? Yes. Willingly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katja D, I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for leaving a review. Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us and I hope to welcome you back again very soon! Kind regards Stewart Bond General Manager More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on business trip- excellent location in the town with easy parking.staff really welcoming and great breakfast to start the day. Rooms comfortable -premium- with great view over the city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Howmor, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Stirling Highland Hotel. I am pleased that the staff were really friendly and welcoming and I do hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Stewart Bond General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first visit to this hotel and I was not disappointed. Situated right next door to Stirling Castle it feels magical from the moment you step out of the car. Our room was beautifully decorated and very welcoming. Only thing I would say though is that our room was really warm. Tried turning heating off and opening a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cheekichops. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stirling Highland Hotel and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I do apologise about the heat in your room; we do have some fans available upon request should you have needed one. I do hope that you will be returning for... More 

Milngavie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a 2 night break at the hotel. We knew the area was very central and the hotel website made it look idea for us. Couldn't believe the size of the hotel on arrival, and just how beautiful the hotel actually was. I don't think the website does it justice. We had absolutely no complaints whatsoever. We ended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LyndsMac07, Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Stirling Highland Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have a fantastic time and it certainly sounds like you did. I do hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stirling

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay