We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Stirling hotels

The Stirling Highland Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Stirling Highland Hotel to your Saves list
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Stirling
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
debbie k Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    302
    159
    88
    45
See reviews for
97
418
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed the same week last year and said in my review that I would return and we did, and I enjoyed our stay just as much as last year. One down side was the building next door which was under construction last year is still under construction however they dont start work till after 8am so if you want... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I booked in for a spa weekend. The girl at check in was lovely efficient and very helpful. We also had a problem with our car when checking out and she was very understanding and helpful. Sorry I didn't get her name but was lovely. We had the best massage I've had in a long time from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very friendly staff and excellent location. Room okay and clean but very dark no central light, but we coped. Lovely leisure club. Biggest downside is noise from adjoining rooms and the corridor as guests return to their rooms and leave. But I have stayed here before and will stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Olly O, Thank you for passing on your comments after your stay. Glad that you enjoyed the leisure club. As you rightly state our location is very central and ideal for getting around Stirling without a car. Delighted that you will return. Regards More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I never write reviews when I am still in the hotel. But in this case I felt the need. This was meant to be a decadent treat at the end of my scottish holiday but unfortunately this has not proven to be the case. There were hairs on the tiles around the bath, not mine, I had not even used... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NZJanet, Please accept my apologies for the poor standards you experienced in housekeeping, this is obviously not our normal standard and your feedback has been discussed with the departmental manager concerned. Please also accept my apologies for the poor service you experienced in the restaurant on Monday night, you will know from your experience on Sunday that is not... More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good size comfy room, decent TV, good tea/coffee tray with a bottle of spring water too.Bath room good with an extending washing line over the bath - useful if you go to the swimming pool. Decently equiped gym and a swimming pool with sauna, steam room and spa bath. Good choice at breakfast including haggis. Didn't have the evening meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R W, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback after your recent stay. Delighted that you enjoyed the facilities but disappointed that you did not have dinner with us. I genuinely believe that we serve the best food in Stirling, and you don't have to climb a steep hill after dinner, just sit in... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel with lovely food and excellent service. Leisure area is good too, Gym has a good selection of machines and loose weight and pool was not busy during our stay. There was also a steam room /sauna and jaccuzi. Perfect location for city sight seeing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alidandrea, Thank you for the 5 star review, delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the food and service. Glad that you also found time to use the leisure facilities. Regards More

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked in for afternoon tea at the restaurant. Sorely disappointed - the waitress service was appalling, ambiance appalling, decor outdated and dirty, service poor, sandwiches stale and obviously made AT LEAST three hours prior to being served, hair found in cakes, poor quality and no choice of tea. I would never go back, I was absolutely disgusted and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle C, Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service and quality of food you experienced during your visit. This is obviously not indicative of our normal standards and I will ensure that the necessary training and action is taken to prevent future guests having a similar experience. Thank you for taking the time to highlight our shortcomings... More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really disappointed with this hotel. £135 for bed and breakfast for a family room. The hotel itself is a beautiful historic building and the room, although small, was ideal with a separate sleeping area for children. However, the room was dirty (2 empty yoghurt pots lying on the carpet when we arrived and a smell of stale sweat). Walls were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fooooody, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your recent stay. I am obviously disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay. It was certainly the case that we had some issues with housekeeping at the start of the year when we were without a Head Housekeeper but recently the feedback we have... More

Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am gluten free and therefore I always like to give tips and praise were due. I had emailed the hotel two months in advance and apart from a minor teething problem my meals were gluten free and delicious. I would also advise a follow-up email a few days before arrival and don't forget to mention it on arrival and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AnnAE181, Thank you for the 5 star review, much appreciated. Delighted that we managed to meet your dietary requirements and that you enjoyed your massage and time in the leisure club. Great news that you plan to return. Thanks again. Regards More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights DBB had a standard room which was lovely, the bed was comfortable The food was excellent be aware the bar gets very busy. Castle and shops all within walking distance. My only complaint is the parking, something needs to be done about it. That said would definitely stay at hotel again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daisyditto, Thank you for posting your comments after your stay. Delighted that you found the food to be excellent. The car park can get busy at times but as you say the Castle and shops are all within a few minutes walk so once you are in you can forget about it. Please don't leave it too long before... More

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland
Address: Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stirling Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.