We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Horley B&Bs / inns

The Lawn Guest House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   30 Massetts Road | Horley Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DF , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lawn Guest House to your Saves list
The Lawn Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
73%
Ranked #17 of 27 Horley B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
RJT456 London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (204)
  • Photos (27)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    54
    26
    23
    11
See reviews for
49
81
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There were a number of aspects that made our stay here quite lacklustre/disappointing. We arrived to check in and found out that there is a charge of £5 to park your car. It was only later did I read the booking details and it is clear that there is a charge but not what it is. I was not asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLawnGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I am sorry we havent met your expectations on this occassion, but it is with regret that I must inform you how important it is to read through your booking carefully as to what is and isn't included in the price of your stay. I apologies for the showel gel to be low, I do say when you... More

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Please do not stay at this guest house, it must be the worst place that I have ever stayed in my life. The shower curtain was so dirty that it should have been thrown in the bin, the was mould around the silicone areas of sink and bath, and the vinyl flooring in the bathroom was sticky where it had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLawnGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I apologies you were dissastified with the style of Room 6 which is a sort of Country Cottage theme. I will address these issues urgently and replace the shower curtain and net curtain in the bathroom. The table lamps are connected by an extension lead to each point in the ringmain so wouldn't be a fire hazard. Please... More

Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for 3 nights. We asked for a cod in the room even if we reserved it in advance he charged us 10 poundes per night extra. So we had had to pay for our baby for 3 nights 30 pounds extra. Moreover please notice that the owner is charging 5 pounds/person extra for english breakfast. The cleaning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheLawnGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, but your reservation via Booking.com says clearly that there are extra charges for a cot at £10 per night, and it also says you pay extra for cooked breakfast. Please note that we didnt charge you for car parking which again also says is chargeable for reservations via Booking.com. I feel your review of 2... More

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A room large enough to sleep a family of 5 in their own beds, with room to spare is a rare find indeed. Simple check-in and out, with breakfast to suit most people's tastes. Cold breakfast is included, or you can pay extra for cooked. For being so close to Gatwick airport it was surprisingly quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nicely appointed room and ensuite. Lovely and genuine owners. Felt well looked after. Would definitely recommend for good overnight stay prior to gatwick flight out of uk. Close to local restaurants also for nice dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The rooms pictured on the website are not always the ones you get but there is no price difference between the "new" rooms and the old ones. I was lucky enough to get an old one with cracks in the window glass, some worn decor and a toilet seat that was not secure. Reading back through reviews here, it seems... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This beautiful guest house/B&B is an ideal place to stay when flying into or out of Gatwick. When we booked (and it was only for one night) we did not expect anything extra special, however when we arrived it was quite late and we were delighted with the Lawn Guest House. What a beautiful old house which they have delightfully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is my 5th stay at The Lawn and as usual I have no complaints. Comfortable stay for a good price. Close to airport and train station as well as Horley town center with a supermarket and several pubs nearby. Owners are very sweet and the rooms are comfortable. Will definitely be back next time I have to fly through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here now nearly 10 times and will be back again the new owners are steadly revamping and updating all the rooms this time we occupied room 5, what a transformation. Top quality fittings and fixtures made it look like a boutique room but the old fireplace was retained to give it some old world charm And the cost of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed for one night before flying from Gatwick excellent value and had a very quiet and comfortable nights sleep. Delicious cooked breakfast in morning before being taken promptly to airport. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Left car for duration of our trip, so very convenient. Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lawn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lawn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Address: 30 Massetts Road | Horley Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lawn Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawn Guest House Hotel Horley

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Horley with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lawn Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer