We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Bishop Auckland hotels

Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

New Coundon, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
abbouk Catterick, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (122)
  • Photos (48)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
43
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Catterick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were given the "Stewart Suite" (room 6) in the main building which was extremely spacious and featured an ensuite bathroom with large corner bath. Tony and the rest of the staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was good too. Only downside was our room overlooked a very busy road and the traffic noise woke me about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a really enjoyable stay, staff are really friendly the rooms are great very spacious I couldn't fault my stay here and I intend to come back in the future i like to try new places everytime I go somewhere and so glad I tried here thanks for a great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 1 night only as a stop off en route elsewhere. Found all the staff friendly and welcoming. Family rooms lovely and spacious although bathrooms were a bit tired. All facilities very clean and the hotel currently being upgraded. We ordered dinner expecting mediocre but were pleasantly surprised. good standard pub grub and beautifully presented at extremely reasonable prices. Coming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great weekend here again with an organised group of 30+ people. Simon made us really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him or his staff. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The rooms were spotlessly clean and bed comfy (we did have the wedding suite) but have stayed here before in a standard room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a one night stop here. The hotel is a little tired but I will say was exceptionally clean. The staff were very friendly and I had a nice time there. I paid £45 for the room and that included breakfast (which was good). There was a wedding going on whilst I was there and that looked good. I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being a family that eats out a lot we were pleased with the park head which is only 2 mins from our house. We have been disappointed by carve ties before but not the case here. Okay the room is a bit nursing home style, but that aside the quality of the Sunday lunch was fantastic. Plenty of meat choices... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hull
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for about a week or so, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the best rooms all face onto a quiet courtyard, spacious rooms and a nice full English breakfast. I stayed again a few weeks later and was put above the restaurant which is alongside a busy road which was quite noisy. Had a meal in the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Most of the reviews on this hotel mention the delightful staff and we agree wholeheartedly. Despite being very busy with a wedding staff made us feel special and ensured we had a quiet place to sit and served us with delicious food. Breakfast was delicious and on our first morning cooked to order. Delicious poached eggs! On the second day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be ‘delightful’ and the food ‘delicious’ We note your comment about the mattress and will take a look at it We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Head but please give us a call first so that we can ensure... More

Yorkshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Unlike most of your reviewers we found this hotel rather shabby and down at heel. The bedding and towels were clean but the room was in urgent need of an update ( notices claim the rooms are being refurbished but we saw no evidence of this whatsoever). The breakfast was overpriced and of poor quality. The bar man was rather... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Indeed your review is very different to normal comments we receive – which is disappointing from our perspective Never the less we strive to continually improve and will take all comments seriously Most of the hotel has been refurbished to a high standard and we do apologise that the room you were in was not up to standard you had... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our recent stay at park head country hotel was a birthday present from my son and daughter, What a lovely surprise when we checked in and found out we had the honeymoon suite It was a lovely room very spacious and nicely decorated, very comfortable. We stayed two nights and had a full English breakfast each morning we also had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

What a nice birthday present! Glad you liked our bridal suite and that you found the meals to be delicious and reasonably priced We look forward to welcoming you back to our ‘cosy friendly hotel’ As always I will pass your comments onto all the staff Many thanks for leaving such kind words More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: New Coundon, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, County Durham

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer