We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dukes Folly Hotel

11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
Book Direct -10% Discount
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dukes Folly Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dukes Folly Hotel
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
56
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bed brill, breakfast also brill as was the service, as for the room we were on lower floor had a window could not lock no catch on it shower had to hold on while trying to wash not possible, room its self could do with a make over, clean but shabby, and to top it all a drunken couple singing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dukesfolly, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet, I am sad to hear of the inconsiderate behavior of some of our other guests. I believe the member of staff that was minding them that night kept the bar open for a few extra hours at their request. As for the window, it was unfortunately broken by the guests that stayed in that room the previous night.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

How disappointing. Arrived to find that despite booking 2 rooms only 1 reserved. We had expected "boutique style". Instead we got 1970's style. In addition the bathroom taps didn't turn off. The bathroom was full of cobwebs and the shower cubicle had mould. The cooked breakfast was inedible with very salty bacon and dried scambled egg. I would suggest walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dukesfolly, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jannette, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are however in the process of renovating the hotel, especially the room in which you stayed, which admittedly is a little dated. The majority of our guests have said that our full English breakfast selection is where we truly excel, (see our other reviews),... More

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

It may not be the most modern hotel, a bit dated really, but if you want a home from home and to be made to feel special, this is the hotel for you. Very clean, although rooms are a little on the small side, the bedding is fresh and clean as with the towels. Beds are comfy and the showers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dukesfolly, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elena, On behalf of all the staff, we thank you for your custom and the time you took to write this review. It makes us proud to be in the business. We are in the middle of renovations, so perhaps the hotel will seem a little more modern on your next visit. The breakfasts will hopefully be the same... More

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed two nights here whilst attending a family reunion, couldn't believe that you had to pay in full as soon as you checked in!! We were very disappointed, the room although fairly newly decorated was grubby and dusty and on arrival into the room the toilet hadn't been cleaned. This was rectified once reported to reception but the room had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dukesfolly, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Olvie58, I profusely apologise, there must have been a misunderstanding on check in, you don't have to pay in full on arrival. Like with any other hotel, you do have the option to pay at check out. I am devastated to hear that this marred your experience with us. As for the room, I can only apologise again, however... More

stoke on trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at dukes,1st impression was//what a small misshapen room.2nd impression was a duster and a can of polish wouldn't go amiss.The best thing about it is its location,2 mins into town,Dont think we will be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

the staff were very polite and helpful, the room was lovely and modern, and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was fantastic, with a large selection of cereals, fruit, etc, the full english was great, well done to the chef.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in Mid July. The front of the hotel looks a little tired and if I was driving past it probably wouldn't choose it. The room we had (9) had been recently decorated and it was clean & fresh. It wasn't particularly big, but big enough for our stay. We were visiting Birkdale for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northern England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The reception area, and public rooms are all clean and spacious, a good breakfast is served in the bright conservatory. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location. Our room was basic and quite small,but we weren't in there apart from sleeping,so no great problem Overall a pleasant experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here quite a few times. The standard of rooms varies a lot with some much nicer than others. All of them are clean and the linen is fresh. The breakfasts are tasty, and there is a nice lounge and bar area. Could all do with some renovation inside and out but for the price you can't grumble too much...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stopped over for a short break 8/9th june , Friendly welcome, nice setting close to main shopping and sea front, superb breakfast with a good choice, Clean comfy room with tea and coffee making facilities, nice comfy bar area, all in all a super place! will stop here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dukes Folly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Folly Hotel

Address: 11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dukes Folly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Folly Hotel Southport, England

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay