We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dukes Folly Hotel

11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dukes Folly Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dukes Folly Hotel
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
61
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Perfect central location near to amenities and ideal venue for our recent family wake Pleasant indoor/outdoor seating areas . Welcoming team that provided an excellent service. I would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a family wake at the hotel yesterday and I would like to thank the team at the hotel for their attentiveness and good service. Nothing was too much effort and the quality of the hot and cold buffet was very good value. Members of our party who had traveled stayed over the night before and commented on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stayed at the hotel for three nights for a conference in Southport. Had read the reviews so was expecting it to be good. I was given room 17 which quite frankly was tired and shabby. Previous reviews talking about theme rooms and good facilities. If mine had a theme it would have been the eighties, because that was probably the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Stayed 8th feb in room 1 was told building work would finish at 5pm yet they were still drilling at 830 builders running up and down metal stairs outside room window put heating on in room before going out in afternoon still freezing when we got back at 6pm decided i would rather drive the 4hrs back to bristol then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
merseyside
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We stayed here Saturday night. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The hotel is going through renovation work, yet we didn't hear any noise from the builders. The rooms are a bit dated at the moment, but judging by what we seen, they will be done really nice once the work is finished. The bar/dining room is really nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. We are in the middle of renovation, it should be finished soon but I'm glad it didn't disturb you. Looking forward to the next time we see you. Kind Regards, Duke's Folly Hotel More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Stayed on a Saturday night and had a lovely stay,the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.The rooms were very clean and bed and bedding spotless an very comfy,the facilities were all very gud,and rooms felt very private.The full English breakfast was perfect and arrived speedy, the breakfast room was laid up beautifully with a selection of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to the next time we see you Kind Regards, Duke's Folly Hotel More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This is a little gem of a place they are in the middle of renovations when we went (01/01/15) and the room we were given number 17 was excellent very clean and well decorated, if all the rooms will be finished to that standard they will be on a winner. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was well cooked and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to the next time we see you Kind Regards, Duke's Folly Hotel More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We stayed for one night, and our room was very small and cold, the heating was on but it looks like it is controlled by a thermostat elsewhere, we turned the radiator up but it didn't make a difference. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great. My only complaint was the cold room, it had a draft coming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Unfortunately, the boiler system had been failing us for a couple of busy days during the cold winter, a most inopportune time, for which I sincerely apologise, however this has been fixed since. Never the less, as a result of this inconvenience, we have decided to implement our plans to install an entirely new heating... More 

Blackpool, england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I needed somewhere to stay on a Friday night in Southport, I looked at the usual options (travellodge, premier inn) but after reading the reviews and getting a good price(£40) I chose the Dukes Folly, BIG MISTAKE. On arrival i was informed that the hotel was very quiet that night and I was given the keys to my room No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay, we are in the process of renovating the more ‘quirky’ rooms in our hotel; regrettably a handful of rooms still look slightly more dated than all the others. However, if you had brought your concerns to our receptionist on the night, he would have been... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

On arrival the receptionist was pleasant and curious. The room was very nice and spacious. We had a good nights sleep and breakfast was excellent. All the staff very helpful. Our only moan about our stay is the heating. It was a cold room as you would expect for December. The heating thermostat was on full, yet minimal heat was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed most of your stay. As you rightly stated, we had been having particular problems with our boiler system during your stay, but these issues have since been quickly resolved. I’m sorry to hear that it affected the pleasantness of your stay. As a result of this inconvenience, we have decided to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question