We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport

Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Southport
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Colin G
Add Photo

1,012 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    134
    266
    224
    167
    221
See reviews for
172
468
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1012)
  • Mar-May only
    (276)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (273)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (234)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (229)
All months
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Past its sell by date this was once a loverly hotel but sadly in dire need of an refurb Glad we only stayed one night What ever they use to deodorise the rooms is far too strong my eyes were stinging and my throat dry maybe it's to make you drink more The rooms are clean but very cramped cheap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked 3 nights here, good location in the heart of the town, reasonably priced. Large double room and bathroom, old fashioned Tv in the room which we could barely get a picture on, plenty of storage space. The staff are friendly and very helpful, only real problem with hotel, it needs a bit of updating here and there, good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thanks to your comments and those of other guests we have re-evaluated our maintenance policy and started refurbishment program within the hotel More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had stayed in this hotel a few years ago and had a lovely big room with a bay window. This time we stayed on an Ncrowd deal and we were given a double room with no window which we refused and we ended up with a twin room overlooking a roof with a little bit of sky visible. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of the Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were disappointed to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us. More 

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel could be great if they invested some much needed cash. We were giving a disabled room at the bottom where there was no view at all. The heating did not work and we had to ring up for them to sort it out. This was done quickly to be fair. The room was old fashioned and the tv... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thanks to your comments and those of other guests we have re-evaluated our maintenance policy and started refurbishment program within the hotel. More 

Rhyl
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

On our arrival blode receptionist was busy but very polite to us,another slightly older lady took our details not a welcoming recepionist at all!(bad day I guess) all the other staff were very courteous in every way.hotel was once Magnificent!!now a little attention required but NOT the disaster some people have written on here at all!!most of the guests we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thanks to your comments on this site we will review the room you were unhappy with and where possible rectify the issues you have highlighted. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

£94 pound for a small dated room, Jacuzzi didn't work, shower flooded bathroom. No breakfast in that price or free parking.. Stayed the previous night in Liverpool Hilton €72 free parking and breakfast.. Would never stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thanks to your comments on this site we will review the room you were unhappy with and where possible rectify the issues you have highlighted. More 

Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we wanted to stay for a long weekend to attend the food festival + the saturday ormskirk market, this was done easily when i booked via ukbreakaways [liaising with the P.O.W. fri through tues]. we arrived on friday at 3.15 and were dealt with quickly + pleasantly. our room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was quite big, roomy enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a two night stay at this hotel staff excellent food and service excellent. Room service excellent, nothing was too much trouble would recommend to friends. The restaurant was clean food was hot and good choice of sweets.entertainment was good overall had a fab holiday with my family

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Prince of Wales with my partner and our small dog for a couple of nights on a leisure break. Although some of the reviews were negative, we chose to make our own opinion and booked our stay. Yes I agree the property needs modernising, rooms are very basic, some small and the exterior is not of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 19 / 21 st June 2015 was impressed by room sizes and by the value for money. Staff are friendly and helpful .Rooms are very clean and although dated are very comfortable .Would stay again glad to see progress towards restoring to its former glory.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

168 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay