We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport

Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Southport
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
SUPERNELLO London
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    258
    218
    162
    216
See reviews for
169
448
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (982)
  • Mar-May only
    (275)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (244)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (234)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (229)
All months
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Prince of Wales for a couple of nights for a family wedding. The hotel is large and old but has a definite charm. The evening reception was held in the wonderful glass-roofed ballroom which looked particularly attractive in twinkling lights. Our room was big and consisted of a sitting-room and large bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel on a two day groupon offer . The hotel is very tired , the staff are very nice and helpful . It is used mainly by couch tours but staff will guide you as the best time to go for your evening meal as the couches have a set time. The food is basic but nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went to this hotel after a terrible experience at Pontins, the hotel is well situated and is an attractive building. It's a little tired in places but clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had both breakfast and evening meals there for both nights of our stay and it represented good value and was decent quality. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here in april for around £65 and hotel is a bit shabby and old fashioned but we complained about the room we were given because toilet didnt flush and smelled a bit, we got upgraded to the royal suite. It was lovely, 3 rooms in total and overlooked lord street. Very pleased with overall stay, breakfast was decent too,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here at the... More 

Stockport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were moved here after originally booking a room in the sister hotel which was awful. This is a much nicer hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food was really nice, both breakfast and evening meal, with a good choice. It is situated right in the centre, close to all the shops as well as the pier and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and if you keep your eyes on the web site there are always some very good deals to be had through out the group, see you soon More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My Mum bought 2 Groupon Vouchers for a one night stay with dinner, bed, breakfast and a bottle of house wine for two people at £59. She had stayed at the sister hotel, The Scarisbrick, some years ago and thought it seemed good value. Upon arriving at the Hotel, we were impressed by the exterior and parking was not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back I think you will agree at over 100 years old she looks pretty good and as you put in your review you only need to ask and we will do what we can to accommodate your requests . More 

Leslie
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here whilst on a 5 day bus trip to Southport. Cannot complain about our stay which was very comfortable. Room was spacious and very quiet and comfortable. En suite was very clean and well serviced. Food was very good and plentiful with good selection of dishes on the buffet. This system appeals to me since you can take what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for a true and honest review on the hotel we hope to see you again very soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As I sat down to write this I glanced at the last review and by coincidence the last reviewer had the same room as me - room 315 - he/she gives it three stars, I give it five...the difference is in VALUE FOR MONEY and my five stars are based on that, no way is room 315 a five star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post an honest and realistic review of the hotel and its services. We welcome all comments as this is a good way for our customers to give feedback to us and help us to improve their experience. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lost count of the times we have stayed here but the last two times have not resulted in a good night's sleep. This time room 315 we were met with one pancake pillow each and a mattress to match. Yes there was a spare pillow each in the wardrobe but seriously why? They were as bad if not worse than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

PEOPLES PERCEPTION of our hotel and its services are sometimes very different (please see the comments from the next review) and we can only apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed 5 days travelling with national holidays from day one staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble our room and bath room were large and clean with plenty of storage we were in room 106 at side of hotel on first floor meals were buffet style with plenty of choice entertainment was ok but bingo was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPrinceofWales, Manager at Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all feedback and were delighted to hear you had in general a pleasurable stay with us. We strive hard to make every stay as enjoyable as possible and your comments are a welcome reward for the hard work of all the staff here... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay