We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowden Lodge Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
18 Albert Road, Southport PR9 0LE, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowden Lodge Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bowden Lodge Hotel
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
91
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Chirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Oh yes, what a great find. After reading reviews before booking, phoned and spoke to Judith, I had many questions e.g. Stairs and details about the rooms all answered confidently to our satisfaction . We had a few issues the week before leaving for our 4 day break, rang Judith, she was very understanding and kept the rooms open for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful small hotel, so much love and thought has gone into keeping the period of the hotel. Owners very welcoming and whe we unfortunately had to leave two nights early because I was ill they were very kind

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Barbara and Brian, Many thanks for your very complimentary review of your stay with us for the Aintree Grand National Festival. We really enjoyed having you both stay with us for the first time and we were so sorry that you had to leave early because you were not feeling well, but we look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After our travel plans changed ( Pontins Southport is a dump but that's for another review!) We needed accommodation last minute. What a find. A great building, lovely room and a warm and friendly welcome from the owners. After a great nights sleep and a good breakfast we explored Southport itself, which is great with a good choice of restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Richard and Family, Thank you taking the time to write your review on your short stay with us at the Bowden Lodge, we were pleased that we were able to accommodate you in your 'time of need' after your disappointment at Pontins and we were also pleased to hear that you discovered that Southport has a great deal to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Bowden lodge on Friday and Saturday at easter and on entering we were greeted like we had known the owners .we had tea and hot cross buns before checking in .!!! Our room was spotlessly clean.the shower was fantastic (unlike numerous other b n bs) BREAKFAST were do I start if you like fat on your bacon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi both, Many thanks for your very kind and complimentary comments in your review on your stay with us over the Easter weekend, we really appreciated your helpful remarks as it makes all our hard work and dedication worthwhile. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your short break here in Southport and your trip to Liverpool and we look... More 

Kinross Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed here, the first being in 2011. Nothing has changed, the breakfasts are great; the hosts are great and the décor is nice. The only drawback is that the single rooms located on the top floor are very very small. In fact they are the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, but we were sorry to now here that you feel our Single rooms are too small. Our Single en-suite rooms are tailored to suit the needs of single travelers who prefer to avoid single room supplements and are well appointed and furnished with desk, bedside storage and wardrobe.... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice Hotel, David and Judith run this Hotel and was a very good experience staying with them. The room was great with everything you need and clean, we arrived early and Judith greeted us and informed us the room was ready if we wanted to check in (was a bonus as we just wanted to ask if we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Many thanks for your very complimentary review of your stay at the Bowden Lodge. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us and we hope to see you both again in the near future. Very kind regards, Judith and David More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We decided to visit Southport for my birthday and selected this hotel from previous TripAdvisor reviews. We were welcomed with a nice filter coffee and chat in the very comfortable lounge which was nice after a long drive. The hotel is immaculately clean and well decorated. Our room was nice and warm, nice bathroom and very well presented. The bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jon, We are very pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your birthday weekend break with us at the Bowden Lodge and trust that you also had an enjoyable day visiting the Anthony Gormley 'Iron Men' and Liverpool on your way home. We hope to see you both again in the near future. Kind regards, Judith and David Wynn More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Booked a last minute Saturday night for 2 adults and 2 children and managed to get the last room available which Judith explained this wasnt a family room but had a kingsize double a single and they would be able to squeeze in a travel cot and apologised that there wouldnt be a lot of room. On arrival we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicky, Many thanks for your very complimentary review of your stay with us which are always helpful in ensuring we continue to provide a first class service for our guests. We are very pleased you enjoyed your short family break with us. Kind regards, Judith and David Wynn More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Free parking onsite, free wifi available in my room which was great. The hosts were very welcoming and my room was nice and warm on arrival. The next morning the breakfast excellent - couldn't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for your helpful comments on your stay at the Bowden Lodge whilst in Southport for your business trip. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future. Kind regards, Judith and David Wynn More 

bolton
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We have just returned from Saturday night stay at the Bowden lodge. We booked the twin room a couple of nights before arriving.( this was the only room left ) the room was small but well equipped with every thing you would need. ( nice selection of drinks and biscuits, 2 bottles of water. Wine glasses. ) the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gaynor, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your very complimentary comments on your stay at the Bowden Lodge. We are pleased you both enjoyed your weekend break and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Judith and David Wynn More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question