We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Tenby hotels

The Albany Hotel

22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Albany Hotel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #19 of 25 hotels in Tenby
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
kevin m Cardiff, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (184)
  • Photos (21)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    75
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
17
116
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

just returned from a short break,basic but clean and tidy.The staff very very helpfull.thanks we will be back.had a bad experience with other guests playing music and talking loudly until 130am.But not the hotels fault.rear room would have been better,not on the side of the building.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed and would return, however please accept my apologies for the noise disturbance which at that time of night is certainly anti social. Regards Richard More

bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just got back from the albany hotel so disappointed room had a double bed which you could only just walk around as the room was so small.All day you could smell drains and in the morning all you could wake up to was the smell of cooking fat .Not nice the room was run down and needs a good upgrade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay and it is unfortunate that you didn't bring your feelings to me during your stay which may have enabled me to rectify the issues you had. The building itself is old and therefore the rooms do vary in size and I can assure you that... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in need of modernisation. If it were cheap then I'd be fine with it but we paid £180 for two nights and I just didn't think it was worth that at all. The staff and food were good. My main issues with the hotel: 1. Noise: the doors are old and not fitted so you can literally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Firstly thank you for taking the time in writing your review and apologies for the shortcomings that you felt you encountered. With regards to the mattress we have not had any comments made to us previously and we did rectify the situation for your second night with us. A small number of our rooms are fitted with saniflow units... More

Durham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from Albany Hotel in Tenby and wish to share my thoughts. The hotel is situated on the corner of two busy roads so traffic noise at night (especially with windows open in summer). There are no lifts - with three floors to climb if on top floor! Staircases are very narrow and can struggle with cases to carry.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay. Pleased that you enjoyed and hope to welcome you back in the future. King Regards Richard xxx More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here for 5 days on 2nd floor room clean but tired needs refurbishment urgently host very friendly all staff very good. This floor no good if unable to climb stairs. Food excellent, location spot on near harbour and shops. .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Many Thanks for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay. Pleased that you enjoyed and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Richard xxxx More

cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The only thing that made my stay a good one was the company and Tenby itself. My room was very tired, cramped and dusty. The shower was scummy, the toilet made the most god awful noise every time I flushed. The window in the room was propped open with a wooden block, surely thats a safety hazard??? Toilet brush was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing your review and I was very concerned and disappointed in reading your comments. Being an old building the bedrooms do vary in size and I wish you had spoken to me during your stay regarding any cleanliness issues that you had as these would have been rectified immediately. Our breakfast usually... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here recently and arrived quite late at night. The person behind the desk was very welcoming to us after we were both shattered from working full time and then taking almost a five hour journey to Tenby. Despite the long trip getting there, the town was so worth it. When we went into the room, the smell was awful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks in taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. Apologies for the smell that you experienced in your room on arrival which remains a mystery as we could not detect anything the next morning after you had reported it to us. Kind Regards Richard More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a little tired hotel, but not a problem, Stayed in one of the rooms at the front. Didnt have breakfast as wanted to try out a few places in Tenby, but it did smell nice :-) Very friendly and welcoming manager. Room is a little tired but this is in a great location. Small walk to the beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay. Pleased that you enjoyed and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Richard More

Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Basic traditional but clean and reasonably priced. Didn't eat there but had a drink in the bar. The staff were very friendly and the Albany conveniently located. Even the lack of a car park was no real problem - with public parking not far away. Although I would probably try another hotel on a future visit - just to try... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time in writing this review following your recent stay and delighted that you enjoyed. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard More

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We loved every minute of our stay. The managers we lovely and very welcoming. Happy with the room and they had a warm and friendly atmosphere. Delicious breakfast the following morning. Definitely staying again this summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for writing this review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Richard More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Albany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Tenby with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer