We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Tenby hotels

Giltar Hotel

The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Giltar Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Giltar Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
A recent review
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    92
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
55
146
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (324)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in June for a family wedding. After being to about 10 weddings in the last two years I would say this was the best food and service out of all of them. The views from your room were lovely. They were doing some improvements to the hotel when we stayed which didn't effect us at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for Tenby Blues festival this weekend. Superb location with sea view and lovely breakfast in the morning. Our room was a little small, but we understand that they're converted these split rooms back to their former glory.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Acorn Clubs annual T&T was booked at this hotel for the first time, didn't know what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was spotless, the staff were exceptionally accommodating from management down, the food was first class and the evening entertainment was very good indeed. Because the weather was very bad on the third day of our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice staff. Helpful and pleasant. Stayed for a weekend break. Really well situated on seafront. Short walk to town centre. Stayed in rear of the hotel so room had not been refurbished but was fine nonetheless. Bed very comfortable and clean and tidy. Bar was open when we got back in the evening so nice to sit and have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this hotel from Friday 31st October to Sunday 2nd November. . We weren't originally booked at this hotel we were actually staying at another hotel, but it had lots of children there and we wanted a quiet weekend so decided to checkout.. We telephoned The Gilta and spoke to Rachel who was very kind to let us come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was just an overnight stay in passing through. Was greeted by the receptionist who couldn't have been more helpful. We were offered a choice of rooms as the hotel was in the middle of an extensive refurb with no disruption and ended up with a wonderful sea view. Only criticism was breakfast could only be described as average but all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm B, General Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We generally get great feedback about our Breakfasts. Are you able to supply us with constructive feedback on how we could improve? There is a contact form on our website as we always appreciate the feedback. More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the positive a pleasant hotel. Slightly expensive room, drinks ok and a really good breakfast. Most of the staff are pleasant and courteous. However on ringing from my room to ask why I had no internet I was told that as it was free I had no reason to complain?? The lady at reception dismissed my protests and put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not only is the location good but also the management, staff, rooms, food and entertainment. The view out to Caldey and the South beach is beautiful, the town walls a couple of 100 yds away with plenty to do and see in the "old" town, and Tenby bowling green close to the rear of the Giltar. The Gluten Free fish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm B, General Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable trip to Pembrokeshire. It's always good to understand how our guests spend their time here. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

If you are visiting Tenby then you have to stay here. I have stayed numerous times and always enjoyed it. We stayed for a birthday in September and had a great time with family and friends. Staff can not do enough, always friendly and welcoming. The rooms are great, clean and spacious and everyone was very happy! The food is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm B, General Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. The review has managed to sum up everything we're very proud of. Hope to see you again in the near future! More

Dolgellau, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We celebrated our wedding at the Guiltar last Tuesday and the service, food, presentation was faultless. There was a lovely welcome and every small detail was thaught of. We would highly recommend the giltar for your special day, and we will certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm B, General Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review and for choosing up for your special day! I'm sure we'll see you again in the near future. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay