We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Tenby hotels

The Clarence House Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Tenby, SA70 7DU, Tenby SA70 7DU , Wales
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Clarence House Hotel to your Saves list
The Clarence House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Tenby
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
CardiffSteve_G cardiff
  • Overview
  • Reviews (208)
  • Photos (71)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (69)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    71
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
29
49
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Walking along the front in Tenby last Saturday, I had been told by my mother that they go to a lovely hotel looking out to sea. They sit outside & have drink before going back home. I said to my wife ' that,s the hotel my parents go to, lets have a drink. Now this was ten past seven in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

NO - that is completely untrue. We are restricted by our premises license on what hours we can sell alcohol to the public. We do not want to turn people away, but we HAVE TO. More

cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just back from great weekend at the clarence.The weekend we were there was a party weekend which catered for groups etc.There was 40 of us mature golfers and we had a great time.Penny and her staff went out there way to make sure all the groups had a lovely time.Breakfast was superb, and the 3 hour happy hour in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked this hotel in April 2014 for the Long Course Weekend in Tenby in July 2014. I wanted to get in early to ensure we had the facilities we wanted and it was close to all local amenities. When we arrived at 2.30pm, our room was not ready and we had to sit in the bar with ALL of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had long wanted to experience a stay in a seaside hotel. we could not have picked better. the day we arrived the weather and view out over the sea reminded us of being in Greece. Clarence House is perfectly positioned for walking access to the town or the beaches. our room and the bar and dining and garden facilities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - much appreciated! More

Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst hotel I have stay in the rooms are so small can't swing a cat in it .no draw space we had to live out off our suitcase bathroom no where to put your things .we were with a coach party.I went down.to complained we was shown 4 other rooms but all the same really. Terrible .in our party a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Clarence House Hotel and that you felt you had to be so harsh in judging us. The hotel is a Grade 2, 2 star hotel, as a result all of our bedrooms are different shapes and sizes. As I explained to you, it was a busy week... More

Swansea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed for two nights and wish it was more! wonderful reception staff who were very helpful , lovely bar lads and entertainment was great! hewbert was a class act by himself! will defanitey be returning with our dog!

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - much appreciated! More

swindon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

really fantastic location we had seaview room lovely view of the beach the room was small but very clean bathroom had a very tiny sink between the room and bathroom there was a piece of wood which was raised above the floor which we thought was a bit dangerous especially if you had to use the bathroom at night definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Clarence House Hotel. I can tell you that we are re-dong as many bathrooms as we can each winter, especially as we have discovered the 'magic touch' in turning our bathrooms into walk-in wet rooms, which makes them bigger and takes away the step that you mentioned. The... More

Swindon Wilts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was in very good location, right on the front although my room was at back, very small room and needed a bit of TLC, the bathroom likewise, stain in bath which made me not want to even stand in the bath to shower! However the staff were amazing, the waitresses never stopped smiling although they were always very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are trying to re-do as many bathrooms as we can each winter until we have eventually re-done all of them. With 76 bedrooms in the hotel, we cannot re-do them all at the same time, but I will certainly be putting my team into Room 315 this winter, if... More

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Third time to this great hotel for coach load of pensioners. Staff brilliant Food excellent. Entertainment good. Only one complaint It should have been a fortnight not 5 days and when are we returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Bless you and please give my regards to the wonderful crowd from Nottingham - hope to see you all again soon. More

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location, very clean and tidy rooms. Also great sea views and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast and overall brilliant stay. The Bar prices were also very reasonable. - Mark Riley from Swansea

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - all appreciated by all of us! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Clarence House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby, SA70 7DU, Tenby SA70 7DU , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby #9 Family Hotel in Tenby
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarence House Hotel is a Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 star hotel. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WI-FI IN BAR AND RECEPTION ... more   less 
Number of rooms
76

See which rooms travelers prefer