We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clarence House Hotel

The Esplanade, Tenby, SA70 7DU, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Clarence House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    158
    112
    44
    24
    25
See reviews for
61
97
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (363)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Sea Views were lovely, but the title of the room was misleading. The room was small, seat in the window had two broken back legs, the nest of tables were broken. The bathroom was very small and out of date. Plastic cups, soap and towels, no shower/shampoo gel etc. Breakfast was served and was enjoyed. Seating was however allocated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our 2nd stay here, We had a bigger refurbished room this time, Still clean and comfortable but with a bit more space, Didn't eat here so don't know what the food is like but the bar service is reasonable and all the staff we met were friendly and helpful, The hotel is old (grade2 listed) so you have to expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very polite and welcoming staff and given the key to our room. Before entering the room the first thing to be noticed was the hallway filled with clutter - not very appealing as far as first impressions go. The room we had been given featured a pull out bed with very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Wales/UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

An OK hotel for the more senior traveler. We stayed for 3 nights in this somewhat dated hotel as part of a group of elderly people. Food was quite good as was the variety. Not to fussed on the entertainment but overall no complaints. Frequent happy hours throughout the day, but you wouldn't want to use that and miss the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent a very enjoyable 4 night stay in August. Chose the hotel as it had sea view rooms available. Our room was standard sea side double. Good view! Lovely sound of waves at night too as we left window open slightly. Very clean though not huge room. Comfortable bed, easy to use shower and usual room facilities. Breakfast was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Clarence Hotel is not a purpose built hotel like the Premier Inn, so we have lots of rooms of different shapes and sizes. More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I took my mum and she loved it. There was a great atmosphere with lots of older people who were having a whale of a time. The down side was we were on opposite side of the hotel and both had very little sleep. As it goes we only stayed the one night so it didn't matter too much and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Return again this month with a party of 5 and we all enjoyed are 2 night stay at the clarence. As always great staff and always accommodating. Food was wonderfully breakfast and dinner. We brought are 2 dogs too which was great to be able to do this. So to sum it all up a great hotel,staff and location. Richie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. More 

Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived at this hotel which is located in a great position - quieter part of the town but overlooking the sea. We walked up to the front and there are revolving doors (plus disabled access if required) leading to the reception. Checking in was easy and friendly with lots of information given. Lift to room on third floor with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The hotel is 'dated' in the fact that it is a grad 2 listed building and we have tried to keep the décor in line with the age of the building, but I do think we will be looking at some new modern touches for future. More 

Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have been coming to the clarence for 13 years and love everything about the hotel. It is a cosy,comfy and a welcoming hotel! The staff are always friendly and are very helpful. The entertainment never disappoints! Our two girls love it there and are always nagging to come back which is why we come 4 or 5 times a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Aaah, thank you for such a lovely review - big 'thank you to the girls! More 

Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my girlfriend were looking around for somewhere for us to stay in Tenby for 5 nights, however we are both 17 (coming up 18) and this proves a struggle due to the fact most hotels don't accept under 18's. However following an email to the Clarence House Hotel they allowed us to, and we couldn't of been any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am happy to say that the tumble dryer and iron are both brand new, plugged in and working... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#16 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#13 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay