We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

GreenLeadersBronze level
Trimstone | Nr Ilfracombe, Ilfracombe EX34 8NR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    25
    15
    10
    12
See reviews for
35
45
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Perfect location for touring the area. Facilities and gardens a little 'tired'. Tennis court could do with resurfacing. Swimming pool a great asset and warm! Stayed in one of the cottages.....kitchen area clean and tidy on arrival and upstairs bathroom recently refurbished. Downstairs master ensure felt cold and it was hard to dry out damp towels. Mattresses in twin room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm and friendly welcome with a tour of the leisure facilities. Spacious, clean and comfortable cottage. Well equipped kitchen making self catering easy. Our family were 4 adults, I child, our 2 small terriers plus my family from Barnstaple (sister, daughter and labrador) coming and going as they pleased. Jade the receptionist handled our booking in a friendly and professional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheri H Many thanks for leaving a review for us. We are so pleased that you had a good time when you stayed. Your comments are very kind and it is always appreciated by everyone here when the efforts are rewarded with such comments so thank you very much for taking the time to do so and leaving helpful... More 

Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Paddock Cottage for one week at the end of July. We had read a lot of reviews and noted that the property had only 3 rosettes so we were not surprised to find a fairly high level of neglect to the grounds and much of the property generally. The cottage was clean enough and although there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen L, Hailsham Thank you for your review though I was disappointed to see you deigned us to be worthy of a 'very bad' on TripAdvisor, with 2 stars. First I shall say that I am sorry if anything we advertise failed to perform as it should have done whilst you were with us. To the agent afterwards you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a week at Trimstone "Gate Cottage". We had no idea what to expect as we had booked the cottage blind, as there are no pictures on the website, however, paying a "premium" price for a cottage in North Devon we had high expectations. Unfortunately, we all felt that the cottage was dated and certainly not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate D Thank you for your review but naturally we are sorry to have disappointed you. You have said you emailed a comment, which is true, saying the 'bed was hard' but I have been overseas with limited internet access and still am, yet you couldn't have the courtesy of awaiting my response. You will have seen by your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed only for one night, thank goodness. The hotel is in a terrible state. Food was awful and we had no water from 9.30 pm to when we checked out. We had to wash with bottled water we had in the room. None of the staff members told us about the plumbing issue . For the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Rashy2014 I have seen your unflattering review posted on TripAdvisor and wanted to challenge you upon it. Clearly a reader might think initially that a 1 out of 5 ranking and your comments are a fair reflection of the single problem (with the water pressure) you entertained whilst with us. I am bemused that you feel it is... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly hotel. We were made to feel extremely welcome. Jade, especially, was like a breath of fresh air. My health needs were catered for. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a wonderful weekend. The hotel is well positioned for all the local beaches. The grounds are very pretty and includes various let farm animals. Stunning view. They have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warlingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Good location for beaches and walks. Hotel difficult to classify. Has an old world charm, presentable and well maintained accommodation. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good. Expensive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We were a bit dissappointed with the property. It felt as though it has seen better days and could do with a makeover. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was fine though we had to ask for fresh eggs to be re-cooked as they arrived cold and hard. The place is a bit remote so bank on paying for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony Thank you very much for your review. Naturally we are disappointed if you left us feeling disappointed in any way! You are right - our property is historic and clearly belies the £1million+ we have expended upon it since we moved here in 2007 but I wonder if its characterful state is just not quite what you were... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Fantastic Weekend! I won a competition with AVON for a 2 for 1 weekend escape and my boyfriend and I chose North Devon as our destination. I rang Trimstone Manor House and they were very helpful and eager to have us as guests. It was very easy to communicate and they presented their tariffs and various options, making it very... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed at Trimstone Manor to celebrate our special wedding anniversary. Our room was so comfortable and over looked the extensive gardens and beautiful country views beyond. A bottle of chilled champagne and chocolates were waiting in the room for us on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were friendly and attentive towards us. We dined... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
4.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 23 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay