We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Ilfracombe hotels

The Bath House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Bath House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bath House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014
MPT1974
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
48
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

I think this must have been my 8th trip and tried staying different places each time. I must say that staff were friendly but the room I had was the most tired looking ever. A little modernising of the reception area and the breakfast area would make a world of difference. If the owner is trying to keep it character... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

There are simply too many points to raise in this paragraph to say why I or any of the other 32 guests that stayed at the guest house this weekend will never visit again or recommend it to anyone! Basically Malcolm the owner is a very rude & unprofessional hotel owner & really hasn't got a clue about creating a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

As the owner who has been lambasted here, which I thought was against tripadvisor rules, I feel the need to respond to this review. This review has come about because I closed the bar at 12.30 at night. I was very professional and never rude about the way I attempted to close the bar. However, the group, of which only... More 

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here on a few occasion now, great comfy rooms, excellent breakfast, evening can be supplied if you don't venture out, but we always have meal out as there are good pubs & restaurants 5-10 mins walk either direction. Ideal for long weekend or weeks stay reasonable rates and Malcolm & Nina are great hosts, hotel is very clean &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stoke on Trent, England
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay although just for one night. Room was very nice, clean and a good size. Stayed in room 203 - nothing to complain about. Location is good although chose to drive to town due to having2 young children. Food - only had breakfast but this was a nice full English. Evening menu looked good. Bar looked nice but didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Generally outside of hotel does look a bit grubby but all buildings in this area look like this due to sea salt in atmosphere /rain and also seagulls don't help! Staff are lovely and really helpful. Rooms are fine and clean (bathroom could have done with a little more cleaning) but generally to a good standard, I would say similar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

stayed here for 2 days with our children in room 207 all i can say is looking at some of these reviews is, if you want the Hilton hotel pay Hilton hotel prices what you get is a great welcome from the owners and the staff the room is clean and warm very close to town which is great for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

First impressions the hotel looked a bit poorly from the outside but inside the staff were very polite and helpful the room we stayed in was very spacious and clean the breakfast was nice and the hotel was in a good location about a 10 min walk from the harbour and right next to Tunnel Beaches and it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Llantilio Crossenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We went to Ilfracombe for a wedding and stayed at the Bath House hotel for 3 nights. The outside looks tired and needs some TLC, however there is scaffolding up at the moment, so they may be doing something, but we didn't ask. A very nice welcome and the staff are great. The bedrooms have had money spent on them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We found the Bath House Hotel completely by accident whilst searching for very last min accommodation in ilfracombe. The visit was very sadly to attend a funeral and so I booked the room without even looking at reviews or facilities - I was simply being glad to have found somewhere to stay at this busy time of year. However, when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Bath house hotel for 3 nights and had a great time! Before we reached the hotel, just after the booking, I contacted the hotel to inform them of some special requirements we had for our 1 year old Son. These included having a room with a Cot bed and also a bath. We received a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bath House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Ilfracombe
The Bath Hotel
The Bath House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay