We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bath House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bath House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bath House Hotel
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
49
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night while on recent trip to the area. Easy to find and free car parking on site which is always a BONUS !! The rooms are nothing special but adequate. Did not eat in as there are plenty of places to dine out but the breakfast was OK. Good for anyone on tight budget My only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

We have been using The Bath House Hotel very regularly since 2010 to host volunteers for The Forces March and The Veterans Charity. Many are elderly and need comfort and a good nights rest. Malcolm and his staff provide a great breakfast, very comfortable rooms and the recent refurbishments are great. The prices are highly competitive for Ilfracombe and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

I think this must have been my 8th trip and tried staying different places each time. I must say that staff were friendly but the room I had was the most tired looking ever. A little modernising of the reception area and the breakfast area would make a world of difference. If the owner is trying to keep it character... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

There are simply too many points to raise in this paragraph to say why I or any of the other 32 guests that stayed at the guest house this weekend will never visit again or recommend it to anyone! Basically Malcolm the owner is a very rude & unprofessional hotel owner & really hasn't got a clue about creating a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

As the owner who has been lambasted here, which I thought was against tripadvisor rules, I feel the need to respond to this review. This review has come about because I closed the bar at 12.30 at night. I was very professional and never rude about the way I attempted to close the bar. However, the group, of which only... More 

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here on a few occasion now, great comfy rooms, excellent breakfast, evening can be supplied if you don't venture out, but we always have meal out as there are good pubs & restaurants 5-10 mins walk either direction. Ideal for long weekend or weeks stay reasonable rates and Malcolm & Nina are great hosts, hotel is very clean &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stoke on Trent, England
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Lovely stay although just for one night. Room was very nice, clean and a good size. Stayed in room 203 - nothing to complain about. Location is good although chose to drive to town due to having2 young children. Food - only had breakfast but this was a nice full English. Evening menu looked good. Bar looked nice but didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Generally outside of hotel does look a bit grubby but all buildings in this area look like this due to sea salt in atmosphere /rain and also seagulls don't help! Staff are lovely and really helpful. Rooms are fine and clean (bathroom could have done with a little more cleaning) but generally to a good standard, I would say similar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

stayed here for 2 days with our children in room 207 all i can say is looking at some of these reviews is, if you want the Hilton hotel pay Hilton hotel prices what you get is a great welcome from the owners and the staff the room is clean and warm very close to town which is great for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

First impressions the hotel looked a bit poorly from the outside but inside the staff were very polite and helpful the room we stayed in was very spacious and clean the breakfast was nice and the hotel was in a good location about a 10 min walk from the harbour and right next to Tunnel Beaches and it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Llantilio Crossenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We went to Ilfracombe for a wedding and stayed at the Bath House hotel for 3 nights. The outside looks tired and needs some TLC, however there is scaffolding up at the moment, so they may be doing something, but we didn't ask. A very nice welcome and the staff are great. The bedrooms have had money spent on them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question