We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bath House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bath House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bath House Hotel
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
33
51
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend whilst attending a wedding at Tunnels beaches, location to this was perfect pretty much right outside entrance to tunnels beaches so couldn't get any closer ..... due to my work commitments were unable to get to hotel until late on Friday evening, I rang ahead and was told this would be no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel as the price was good, and the location was opposite the wedding we were attending at The Tunnels Beaches. Malcolm (the owner) had already emailed me with clear descriptions of how and where to park – which we shared with other wedding guests and proved very useful. When we arrived we found parking at the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We just spent two great nights in the bath house hotel. The outside of the hotel could do with a lick of paint. The room was clean. Well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, a cheerful "good morning" welcomed us into the restaurant for breakfast. Service was good and we had a hearty breakfast. A very pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel was let down by the poor quality breakfasts (cheap ingredients and not well cooked) and cleanliness (dust and dirt ) . I you need a stopover it's fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

I note that the previous review says how clean the hotel is. It may be that we occasionally miss spots but we work very hard to ensure the hotel is clean and tidy. As for our breakfasts, this may be your opinion but here are the facts. We provide 5 cereals, all names brands such as Kelloggs. We use large... More 

Bristol, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chose this one as the price was ok, location was handy and had the added attraction of a spa bath and gym downstairs. When we arrived we found convienient parking at the back of the hotel, however it is on a first come first served basis, and we ended up parking next door, which was free until 10am the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind and descriptive review. It's nice that somebody has taken the time to leave a positive review. We have many, many satisfied guests but unfortunately, only a few express this on tripadvisor. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Toilet seat broken and couldn't be put up without it falling down, shower leaked, window rattled and whistled in the wind. Creating get a draft so big, it was blowing the curtains. Just dated and not particularly well maintained. Our friends shower in the room next door didn't work at all. Even the teabags in the room tasted weird. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

If you had problems you should have come to see me rather than complain to the world. Firstly, I'd like to point out that there were near hurricane level winds on the night in question and we have sash windows in keeping with the original style building. Unfortunately, very high winds do come through. Your friends next door mentioned they... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
46 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Stayed here for 1 night while on recent trip to the area. Easy to find and free car parking on site which is always a BONUS !! The rooms are nothing special but adequate. Did not eat in as there are plenty of places to dine out but the breakfast was OK. Good for anyone on tight budget My only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

We have been using The Bath House Hotel very regularly since 2010 to host volunteers for The Forces March and The Veterans Charity. Many are elderly and need comfort and a good nights rest. Malcolm and his staff provide a great breakfast, very comfortable rooms and the recent refurbishments are great. The prices are highly competitive for Ilfracombe and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

I think this must have been my 8th trip and tried staying different places each time. I must say that staff were friendly but the room I had was the most tired looking ever. A little modernising of the reception area and the breakfast area would make a world of difference. If the owner is trying to keep it character... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

I notice this around your 8th visit to Ilfracombe and you stay at a different place every time. I suspect you have got us mixed up for one of the others. Our rooms are redecorated at least on a bi-annual basis or more often if needed so I really don't know how it can look tired. The reception area was... More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

There are simply too many points to raise in this paragraph to say why I or any of the other 32 guests that stayed at the guest house this weekend will never visit again or recommend it to anyone! Basically Malcolm the owner is a very rude & unprofessional hotel owner & really hasn't got a clue about creating a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
MalcolmtheOwner, Owner at The Bath House Hotel, responded to this review

As the owner who has been lambasted here, which I thought was against tripadvisor rules, I feel the need to respond to this review. This review has come about because I closed the bar at 12.30 at night. I was very professional and never rude about the way I attempted to close the bar. However, the group, of which only... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question