We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Hotel website
Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    165
    84
    23
    18
See reviews for
40
245
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (399)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

On way back Worst Shearings Chef can't cook Sausages raw bacon raw plates cold toast hard Heard most people complaining Pat a Manager there was seen showing chef returned foodPork chops at dInner disgrace Vegetables warm As for rooms freezing most of guests asked for heaters told water or heating only by Manager Windows rotten and arrived to scaffold erected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments as they are a great help for us, We always welcome every comment, no matter how negative they are, as we can always bring something positive to us to help improvement. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and your comments about... More 

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Agree with most other reviews that the hotel is tired in places BUT they are working towards it being better. The reception/ ballroom/lounges/restaurant have all been refurbished and are light and airy. The bedrooms are what let the hotel down at the moment, ours was old furniture but well polished, the room was very clean and the linen spotless. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your holidays and I will pass your positive comments to all staff. The hotel is going through a refurbishment programme as you pointed on your comments and we are trying to improve all aspects of the hotel,... More 

Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have recently returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. Other reviewers are quite right the hotel is very much in need of redecoration and modernization as it borders on the shabby in places, but on the upside the staff are fantastic. The few complaints that we had were dealt with rapidly, and with a smile. TV remote... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking your time to post your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your holidays and I will personnally pass your positive comments to our staff specially to your waitress Lilli. We are always working to improve our standards and your comments are a great help. Thank you once again... More 

Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 5 days not good as the food was not up to the standard of other Shearings hotels we have stayed at. We complained about the food but were ignored.The waiter we had did not understand what we were asking for so we had to point at the menu for him to understand. The bedroom was fine but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do appreciate it as they help us to improve our services and standards. We are actually redecorating the front of the hotel which will improve the entrance and outside appearance. Our restaurant staff goes through a training programme... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a two day break in September. The room was on the 4th floor not good,lift stops floor below. It was decorated nicely, not the bathroom that had been forgotten,slso needs to clean windows. The food and entertainment were very good, the waitering staff were really friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays with us, especially the entertaiment and the service in our Restaurant. I will personally pass your positive comments to the staff. We hope to see you again, here at The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, or at any of our fantastic Bay... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from an 8 day 7 night stay in this hotel..absolutely superb..from start to finish..firstly we took a leisurely stroll to our 1st pick up point.the coach to take us to the london interchange turned up bang on time our luggage was put into the coach and that was the last we seen of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very pleased you enjoy your holidays and I will personally pass your lovely comments to all staff. Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again travelling to Ilfracombe or any of the other fantastic... More 

Rotherham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from a four night all inclusive stay with National Holidays. Staff all very friendly. Hotel very clean. Our room maid was very obliging. We were on the 4th floor no complaint as we always ask for a high floor. Problem being lift only goes to 3rd!!. lots of stairs at this hotel. Some what disappointed that there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very please you enjoyed your holidays and I will pass your lovely comments to all staff. The Dilkhusa Hotel is a lovely Victorian building with a great character and the lift serves the mayority parts of the hotel, with the... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a 4 day all inclusive stay at this hotel traveling with National Holidays. Friendly staff,efficiant service in the dining room. Poor entertainment, none at all on the Sunday night. Food basic but cooked properly and served piping hot. Too many stairs for us in the dodgey knee brigade! Days out also places with steep hills and steps, a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matthew S, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel is a Victorian building and unfortunately, some areas of the hotel have stairs. Ilfracombe is becoming a popular resort and I understand it is a long way from Scotland, but it is worth coming. We also have few lovely hotels up in Scotland if you ever... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Arrived Saturday 18 August,given key to room 120 on entering the room we could here a loud vibrating noise, looked through a dirty window to find this noise was coming from what seemed to be a large metal fan.we immediatley contacted reception to be told by the duty manager Matthew Smith that it turned off at 9pm and back on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Matthew S, Assistant Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, however I don’t find it all to be accurate, you are correct in stating that the Kitchen extractor fan was outside your window, however it was switched off by around 9pm each evening, unfortunately it was switched on earlier than usual on the Sunday morning, again we spoke about this... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

the hotel is situated over the raod from lovely well kept gardens and museum near to the theatre too. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel that a lot of the guests were using. We were self drive and took advantage of prepaid parking in their carpark . We had asked for lowere floor room and ended on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Matthew S, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

It is pleasing to see you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will pass your lovely comments onto all staff. As you said, the hotel is in a good position, with a nice garden over the road, theatre and all the attractions you need to have a lovely holiday. Regarding your comments about the use of the lift in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question