We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Ilfracombe hotels

Imperial Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
51
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelled with Alfa this Easter to this hotel. Just have to say the staff, food and the hotel in general far exceeded my expectations. As a single traveller I usually find rooms very small, but my room here was very well appointed, plenty of room to get about, clean and had a very good bathroom with power shower. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just returned from a New Year break at the Imperial Hotel in Ilfracombe Devon, A lovely location right on the front with easy walking distance to the harbour and town. It can be hilly in parts but to the harbour is flat so easy for people with walking difficulties. The hotel has excellent staff very friendly and helpful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am a bit late with this review but my husband and I stayed here on a 5 day Alfa break the middle of October. The room was very good and so were the meals which we looked forward to every day. There are some lovely walks around Ilfracombe but it was a pity that the weather wasn't so good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swinton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just had a 5 day stay with Alfa Travel on a Turkey & Tinsel break, we had a great time ,lovely clean room, could have been a little bigger but still did not spoil our stay. Greg and his staff were very pleasant and worked so hard to make sure everyone had an enjoyable holiday. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
in Walkden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My sister and I went to this hotel with Alfa travel. We paid extra for a sea view room and it was well worth it. We had a lovely large room wonderful view and a large bathroom. All the staff were always pleasant and very helpful. We had table 6a and the waiter was always very pleasant and nothing was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast is only served between 8am and 9am with no flexibility. I stayed for 2 nights with my frail 91year old Grandmother. Unfortunately we arrived late for breakfast on the first morning and were refused in the dining room and were told "no food left in the kitchen!" The Manager was very unhelpful, argumentative and antagonistic. A very unwelcoming place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

You were advised on arrival that breakfast is served between 8am and 9am – had you explained that this was not possible for you to achieve you could have booked room only and had breakfast elsewhere. The kitchen closes at 9am and when you arrived at 9.30am they had already cleared away all the hot food assuming that you had... More

Salford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel has a fantastic location on the front, and to be fair the view from our room was lovely. Staff were generally fine and the food was average. Nothing really especially wrong with the hotel, just not really suited to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tewkesbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we only had a weekend here but the location was central. The Imperial is dated but clean and tired and staff friendly and helpful. The entertainment was fantastic. As a bad sleeper I spent a lot of time in the lounge during the night and when asking the receptionist if I could have a cup of tea he was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I walked into the hotel, there was no receptionist ...I couldn't find out where I was suppose to park, or if I had an allocated parking bay. I immediately asked for a refund but under their terms and conditions I wasn't entitled to one as I hadn't canceled in time.I paid for four nights but I left after three forgoing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked in here on a cheap weekend deal knowing nothing about the place, We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is an imposing Victorian affair right on the sea front and despite the limitations afforded by its original design is very well presented. The room was a good size with a large bathroom, Both were very clean and tidy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel - Ilfracombe [3 Alpha & AA Two Star]. Situated in one of the best positions in Ilfracombe, overlooking Wildersmouth beach, and the splendid Landmark Theatre and Conference Centre, close to the High Street and only a short almost level walk from the harbour. 104 rooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal phone, hair dryer and TV. There is a large restaurant, bar, comfortable lounge and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. Lift to all floors (stairs to some rooms on split level floors). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.