We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Britannia

Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Royal Britannia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Royal Britannia
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    43
    20
    14
    16
See reviews for
24
92
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked to stay and they said small room, understatement! Bed rested on window sill, shower was disgusting asked to clean, I had to remind them, the owner couldn't see the slime, which was black and orange in the plug and along all the base! The ensuite was so small could not move once the door was shut. The door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As usual used the Royal Britannia hotel in Ilfracombe for our 4 day golf break, they are very friendly, helpful and reasonably priced. It is also a pub so can be a bit noisey, but not to bad out of season when we go. Will definitely go back again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on our way to Cornwall. Was given the impression on booking that we would be overlooking the harbour - we didn't even have a window in our room well not one we could see out of - there was a skylight with a broken blind. The children had an adjoining room which did have a window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
np1257315, Front Office Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us however we have advertised this room as a very cheap family room for 6 people at (£16.67 each including vat per night) First room has a full sash window and an en-suite and the second en-suite room has a skylight which seems to work for most families who use... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival I was met by a drunk local who assumed I needed to use the ladies. Eventually I found a dingy office with a man in filthy track suit bottoms. I explained that I had booked a room with a view for 1 night. He took me to a room that was filthy room with dirty towels and dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
np1257315, Front Office Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your comments as during your stay the only thing that you said to a member of staff was that Ilfracombe was a frightening place later on you told booking.com that sex workers were in our bar and a room door was broken so please decide exactly what upset you ? Our staff never wear track... More

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We started coming here in July this year 2014. First impressions: managed badly. Tables in dining areas were dirty. The food was poor : some kind of special offer of curry and rice and a drink for six pounds. Absolutely worthless offer. Absolutely poor management that do not deserve this lovely old Hotel A fantastic venue for weddings and parties... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Stayed here for a week 3 weeks ago Richard the hotel owner was nothing short of fantastic in accommodating our party of 4 people. Upon arrival Richard gave our party a discount card which saved us a lot of money over the week. £2.60 for a pint of Guinness in Devon is enough to make even your harshest of critics... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I've stayed here twice, and my parents once. I first stayed in 2013 the na again this summer 2014, I have to say I think it has gone a bit downhill. Both times I had a room overlooking the harbour, and the rooms are big, with a table and chairs in the bay window, all good there. The second room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Very welcoming manager of hotel . Ate in restaurant and clean beautiful rooms. manager showed us around hotel. Hotel situated right on harbour front with restaurant and garden overlooking harbour so very picturesque. All in all a short trip but well worth as ilfracombe harbour and shops around having a lot of changes and up and coming benefits to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here last night to round off a camping trip... I always get nervous as a single parent travelling with 3 kids but found the man who checked me in to be most welcoming and friendly and also helped carry my luggage up to my room. I was slightly early for check in but as it was ready he showed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Small room, not overrlooking harbour as told, decor is very old fashioned, think the owner needs to spend a bit of tlc and money on the place. Never ate in the pub, nor did many of the guests! Staff helpful and friendly. Overall not impressed would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Address: Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay