We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Ilfracombe hotels

The Royal Britannia

Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Royal Britannia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Royal Britannia to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    43
    20
    13
    16
See reviews for
24
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night on our way to Cornwall. Was given the impression on booking that we would be overlooking the harbour - we didn't even have a window in our room well not one we could see out of - there was a skylight with a broken blind. The children had an adjoining room which did have a window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
np1257315, Front Office Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us however we have advertised this room as a very cheap family room for 6 people at (£16.67 each including vat per night) First room has a full sash window and an en-suite and the second en-suite room has a skylight which seems to work for most families who use... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival I was met by a drunk local who assumed I needed to use the ladies. Eventually I found a dingy office with a man in filthy track suit bottoms. I explained that I had booked a room with a view for 1 night. He took me to a room that was filthy room with dirty towels and dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
np1257315, Front Office Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this review

Lady you tried everything from Ilfracombe being a frightening place to sex workers in the bar to broken doors just to get money back. Yet again you have come up with something untrue as our staff don’t wear track suites nor would the managers laugh at you, the room that was given to you was a prime room that has... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely harbour view room. Clean comfortable and relaxing. The staff were supportive, patient and understanding to meet our needs. Recommend room 25. It is apparent the owner is investing care and money into rennovations. Excellent location if you want the lively harbour experience which we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We started coming here in July this year 2014. First impressions: managed badly. Tables in dining areas were dirty. The food was poor : some kind of special offer of curry and rice and a drink for six pounds. Absolutely worthless offer. Absolutely poor management that do not deserve this lovely old Hotel A fantastic venue for weddings and parties... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week 3 weeks ago Richard the hotel owner was nothing short of fantastic in accommodating our party of 4 people. Upon arrival Richard gave our party a discount card which saved us a lot of money over the week. £2.60 for a pint of Guinness in Devon is enough to make even your harshest of critics... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here twice, and my parents once. I first stayed in 2013 the na again this summer 2014, I have to say I think it has gone a bit downhill. Both times I had a room overlooking the harbour, and the rooms are big, with a table and chairs in the bay window, all good there. The second room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very welcoming manager of hotel . Ate in restaurant and clean beautiful rooms. manager showed us around hotel. Hotel situated right on harbour front with restaurant and garden overlooking harbour so very picturesque. All in all a short trip but well worth as ilfracombe harbour and shops around having a lot of changes and up and coming benefits to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here last night to round off a camping trip... I always get nervous as a single parent travelling with 3 kids but found the man who checked me in to be most welcoming and friendly and also helped carry my luggage up to my room. I was slightly early for check in but as it was ready he showed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Small room, not overrlooking harbour as told, decor is very old fashioned, think the owner needs to spend a bit of tlc and money on the place. Never ate in the pub, nor did many of the guests! Staff helpful and friendly. Overall not impressed would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lichfield, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This was our second visit here and as before we took a room with a wonderful view over the harbour. We kept the window open at night and enjoyed the sounds of seagulls and water lapping around the boats at high tide. The room was clean and characterful. But we regretted taking breakfast. It's advertised from 08.30. At 08.30 the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Do you own or manage The Royal Britannia?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Address: Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Royal Britannia