We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Ilfracombe B&Bs / inns

Wentworth House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Belmont Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8DR, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wentworth House to your Saves list
Wentworth House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #31 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013
dkilbee Warwick, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Wentworth House
See the most recent reviews
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked on the price 4days before we went, read a few reviews. We had a faimly room and as we were only 2 using it there was plenty of room. As they say you get what you pay for and we felt we payed the right price. The host was very good and helpfull. If the moaners wanted 5star... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very impressive house a little outdated in need of a bit of decoration. The mattress was so hard had trouble sleeping. Breakfast was nice and even though we had booked a double RM we was put in a family room which was very spacious. The cleaner needs to check closely too as found cigarette filters behind the table in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

We are most upset that our visitors were not comfortable, as this is most important to us. We would have been only too willing to rectify the problem of the matress if it had been brought to our attention during their visit. The lounge is always unlocked and available for drinks etc. and it is our pleasure to assist with... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we came here for one night. never again. we were shoved on the top floor in a very cramped, dated, smelly room. on arrival we were met by a huge door which wasnt inviting and was very hard to open. then we were met by and overwhelming smell, asif we'd walked into some overcrowded old peoples home. not a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Very confused at these comments. We genuinly try to make all our guests welcome. Rooms are allocated according to needs no-one is shoved anywere. This is a victorian building and has a very large front door. All our rooms have modern en-suites, we do not have shared bathrooms. This Family Hotel some times has a childs toy here and there,... More

Norwich
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

On arrival first impression was not good, the building looks like it needs a refresh as it doesn't look very inviting. By the time I parked the car and looked round I wondered what I was walking in to, if it hadn't been paid for in advance I would have gone elsewhere. The hotel inside much the same as outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

We are sorry that the gentleman was disappointed. As advertised on the web site we are a property with warmth and character. (photographs all up to date) The building is Victorian but we do have all modern faciliies which were updated only a few months ago. It is advised that if people want a chic modern looking hotel this is... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for a week in the family room with our two children. This is our second visit to the hotel, we stayed last year for 4 nights. The room was very spacious and clean with a double and two single beds and ensuite shower room. The beds were made every day and the tea and coffee was refilled every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We found this B&B to be overall good, but with some minuses. We found the family room we stayed in, to be more than ample in size. The room was clean and fresh and beds were re-made every day. There were plenty of tea/coffee making facilities. The decor was outdated , with kitsch ornaments and busy carpets (not that you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

All en-suites have been recently refurbished. The choice to leave the wash basin in this particular family room (as is featured on the web site) was by popular preference. The point about hygeine has been noted, and hand wipes are available to use before leaving the en-suite. We do have a seperate bath that is available for visitor use when... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed for three nights BB with our 4 month old son. Bed was a little soft for our liking but room was nice size, very clean and warm. Cot was supplied at a small charge and was nice and clean. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room and was refilled each day. We needed to use the microwave twice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
solihull
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed a few days at this hotel in late August 2011. The hotel was clean( we find this the most important thing). The room we were given had a double and single bed, Flat screen TV ,tea and coffee facilites and was fairly comfortable.The bath room was OK and plenty hot water,the one thing needed here is a little "make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wentworth99, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

A great deal of refurbishment has been undertaken over the last few months.(Jan-March 2012) We are satisfied that we can now offer even better facilities. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at wentworth house on the august bank holiday, after an awful long drive with horrendous weather we arrived late to a warm friendly Sharon who from the minute we arrived to the minute we left was helpful and nice to talk to. Thankyou for having us and will hopefully see you again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend had stayed here for 2 nights and we had a lovely stay here. The Hotel is quiet and the rooms spacious and very clean and very affordable. The Hotel has loads of Character. Brilliant period look about it. Although some visitors had commented a little outdated I would say totally oposite and say the owners have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wentworth House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Address: 2 Belmont Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Ilfracombe, Devon

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer