We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke of Gordon Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    81
    29
    15
    19
See reviews for
22
95
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (262)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights bed and breakfast. Our room was large with a nice view of the hills. The bed was so comfortable. Breakfast tasty, hot and cold buffet. Mainly geared up for coach parties but a nice break never the less. Would have no hesitation in going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was an excellent visit with delicious food and pleasant staff willing to put themselves out for the guests. We were piped in to dinner in the evening. The evening entertainment in the ballroom was very professional and enjoyable. Bedrooms were beautifully warm because the weather was quite wintry even though it was the end of April.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked for 2 nights only stayed 1.First room they gave us was single beds [booked a double] There was constant loud rumbling noise coming from roof outside,we would never sleep with that going on. OH NO ONE has complained before and no work is scheduled in. 2 bus loads had arrived by now. Gave us the last room available [single... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This location was recommended to us through the worst tour ever (Jamie and Claire Tour by MacKenzie Adventures). The staff was very friendly, the drinks were tasty and reasonably priced. The entertainment for the night was some local musicians that come and play their instruments for fun. It was a great collaboration of Scottish tunes. Scot, one of our tour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have been staying at the Duke Of Gorden since 2001, both on the coach holidays & privately. The hotel may be old but as Queen Victoria stayed there you can hardly expect a new modern building. We have always found the accommodation, food and staff very good, There have been improvements over recent years but these take time and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. We have many regular guests that return to the hotel and it is always a pleasure to see them. I often describe the hotel as an old Dame, plenty of character and charm but at over 100 years old the bones creak a little. As you have... More 

Auchinleck, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for just over 2 weeks while i was working in the area and couldn't fault the place,my room was spotless and cleaned every day and staff were very friendly.would definitely come back here

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments, it means a lot to the hard working team here to know their efforts have been acknowledged. We look forward to your return. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the misfortune to stay at this hotel for 2 nights whilst on a charity walking weekend. The hotel looks ok from the outside. It could do with a bit of a face lift as it is looks somewhat tired. The bedrooms r adequate, we stayed in room 109, the en suite is very small and the bath is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff on duty to be friendly and helpful I am, however, concerned that you felt the meals served were on the small side. All meals are served a standard portion size for all guests; we would happily give... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like my work colleagues, my partner and I stayed in this hotel for the first time on our Annual Charity walk. It will be our last time here. The front of house staff were surly and non-communicative, not ideal for a customer facing team! The food on our first night was average but edible, however the menu choice was limited.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DukeofGordonHotel, Director of Sales at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the hotel and it is with regret that I must offer our sincere apologies to you and several of your colleagues that you were taken ill the day after retuning home. It is unfortunate that... More 

Kochi
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As part of a charity walk arranged by colleagues, my family and I spent a weekend at the Duke of Gordon hotel. I have to admit that having read up about the hotel, before I got there, the expectations running high. After a three hour drive from Edinburgh it was nice to finally drive up to the parking lot. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. Creaking floorboards are unfortunately unavoidable in a building that is over 100 years old but we hope this did not disturb you and your group too much. Kingussie is an ideal place for people to go on short or long walks over... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at this Hotel last weekend. We had a room which was tired and in need of some tlc however had a comfy bed. What surprised us mostly was how thin the walls were - we actually had to whisper to each other for fear of disturbing others. The meal on the first night was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the hotel and that you were dissatisfied with the service you received from some of the team members. It is with regret that I must offer our sincere apologies to you for being taken ill... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay