We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke of Gordon Hotel

3.0 of 5 Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    68
    23
    15
    14
See reviews for
21
77
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (219)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hi stayed here for one night on the 18th Dec 14. charged me £40 b&b despite there billboard stating £35 b&b. Got room 107. Bathroom not clean had to wash bath out myself. Room was cleaned however no towels left. Bed lumpy and uncomfortable tv sat to high on a shelf that you could not turn it over by remote... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A nice traditional hotel mainly occupied by older clientele on coach trips. Overall very good and clean although a few details could be improved. Service in the bar was very good with friendly staff whilst breakfast service was less organised. Ensure you don't get a room above the ballroom if you want to sleep before midnight as the noise from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

recently returned from a Turkey and Tinsel break run by Cairngorm Travel held in this hotel. Our reception was certainly warm and welcoming. We were greeted on entry by the staff who were most helpful in showing us to our rooms and delivering our luggage. The rooms were spacious and warm having everything we could possibly require. Plenty of tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just returned from a 5 day tour with Cairngorm Travel. I had a few issues with the hotel which is wholly owned by Cairngorm Travel. I was charged a singles supplement to stop in a single room & when I asked why was told it was to cover the cost of cleaning my room, a first for me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 5 day coach trip to the Duke of Gordon Hotel. The hotel looked very welcoming with the log fire. Everywhere appeared very clean and the hotel was tastefully decorated. All the rooms were very comfortable and well heated. The staff were very friendly and polite. The food was very nice with plenty of choices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and the area in the future. Paul & The Team More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Just returned from 4th visit in the last 2 years. The hotel is still a little dated but provides a service which is very acceptable. The rooms are comfortable, clean with all the facilities you could require, and the food remains varied and well presented. All the staff are helpfull and friendly and we will continue to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments. We have recently had new carpets fitted throughout the ground floor and in all public areas and as part of our ongoing refurbishment program we are continuing to redecorate throughout the building. I sincerely hope the you will visit us again in... More 

Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a pre xmas 5 day coach trip to Scotland. Our hotel for 4 nights was the Duke of Gordon, Kingussie. The hotel could be the biggest building in Kingussie. It sits on the main street overlooking a park area. There is a pleasant frontage with lions on either side of the entrance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here and look forward to welcoming you back to the area in the future. Paul & The Team More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Arrived friday afternoon and with no prior warning was met with bare floors due to carpets being fitted in time for a wedding on Saturday !!! Nail guns etc going on until early hours _ 2.10 am according carpet fitters and continued all next morning to get carpets done on time . Very poor organisation on behalf of hotel !... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your comments. I am sorry that your visit was disrupted by the fitting of a new carpet to the ground floor areas. If you would like to call me I would be happy to discuss this further with you in person. Regards Paul Brown General... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

A fully satisfactory lunch with good service. Lunch menu is fine, food is fine but nothing excels. Good bar. Well maintained property. Photo shows the hotel from the public gardens on the other side of the road ie they are not part of the hotel. A pretty typical highland hotel with hard-working friendly staff. caters for the coach traffic as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your comments. The hotel is fortunate to over look the award winning Memorial Gardens at the front of the hotel. Always a wonderful floral display throughout the summer months. I trust you will visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

highlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Just been for lunch and was left seriously disappointed, The soup for starters was lentil and courgette, I gave it a go but was seriously underwhelmed, it needed seasoning, badly, ok you can add but you can't take away, The main course was belly pork and was really disappointing, there was a layer of grease on the gravy, which had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal in Ghillies Rest. In response to your comments regarding the seasoning of our menu items, we do not over season any of our dishes. In todays market there are many people that are on a low salt diet so table & sea salt, ground white pepper and black pepper mills... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay