We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hermitage Guest House

Spey Street, Kingussie PH21 1HN, Scotland
The Hermitage Guest House
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at The Hermitage for three nights in April of this year and was delighted by the welcome I got from Andrew and Pauline. They went above and beyond to help me while I stayed with them and were polite, very friendly, professional and wonderful hosts. The room was perfect: incredibly comfortable bed, sheets, room and en suite were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Stopped here whilst cycling the Lochs and Glens North and South. Nice location and warm welcome from owner. Bike was locked away on arrival in shed which was secure. Shops, restaurants and pubs close by. Room was clean and bright and breakfast was excellent. Payment method preferred by owner was cash (due to bank charges on credit cards) which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

The Hermitage is a beautifully appointed house, on a quiet road but convenient for the station. We had a superb room with windows looking two ways, a very comfortable bed, and an excellent breakfast. The hosts were welcoming and helpful; we would definitely stay again. I had a walk along the lane in the evening and found a picnic area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

A friend and myself booked a weekend stay at the hotel for some end of season snowboarding on the local mountains, from the moment we arrived we were treated very well and was told on numerous occasions if we need anything at all, all we needed to do was ask. We both agreed the breakfast was amazing and it kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the kind review we look forward to welcoming you back again More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

I stayed two nights and was made to feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable, clean and had everything I needed. The location is great just a few minutes walk from the centre of Kingussie and the railway station and you are quickly out into wonderful countryside. I would thoroughly recommend the Hermitage as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we hope to see again soon More 

Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I've been in this lovely guest house 2 nights with my husband. I think this is the best guest house in which I've ever been. The owner is very nice and polite, always making sure you are ok. The house is in general very nicely furnished and very cozy, and the rooms are spacious and spotless. The bed and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Hermitage' More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had one night at this B&B and were very happy with everything. I guess the only very small complaint was the fold out bed. I must say there are not too many of them that are comfortable. Apart from that , a lovely night. Friendly hosts. And thank you for the book of maps, it was very helpful. Lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With respect to the "fold out bed", you asked if we could put an extra bed in one of the rooms and we did point out that it is not ideal for an adult and that we would normally only offer it for a child. We... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here for one night with my partner last year. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. Unfortunately we didn't have any breakfast as we were setting off for the second part of our journey early but the owners offered to make us a packed lunch. No complaints here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we're always pleased when Guests enjoy their stay We would love to welcome you back to The Hermitage some time in the future when hopefully you will have time to enjoy Breakfast More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for three nights and left this morning. It was so nice we would have liked to stay longer. The room was clean and nicely decorated, with an obvious attention to detail. The bed was comfy and the shower excellent. Breakfast was delicious and over the course of our stay we tried out the cooked breakfast, salmon and egg... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to sample the different items on the Breakfast menu More 

Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everything about tis B&B is outstanding. Host were fantastic, nice to have interaction with Shelby the lab and his soccer ball. Location was great, beautiful views, and the weather was good to boot! Breakfast selection was very good, nice and hearty before embarking on our journey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HermitageKingussie, Owner at The Hermitage Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your "fabulous" comments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and the "Hearty Breakfast". Shelby says "thank for playing football" More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities