We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Sandown hotels

The Ocean Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sandown PO36 8AB, England
Hotel amenities
The Ocean Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    46
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
55
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for five days and we had a sea view from our room, just outside was the swimming pool. It's a salt water pool that is heated and was very clean to swim in, also there were showers to wash yourself down after your swim. Now for the room we stayed in this was a good size and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Finedon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at The Ocean Hotel Sandown 2nd to 6th September 2014. The hotel is a credit to the owners. The staff are dedicated to ensure all guests have a enjoyable stay, Hola was our waitress and quickly got to know our likes and dislikes on our table, always cheerful and is a dedicated member of the owners staff. Fab time,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was about the 5th time we have stayed at the Ocean and we were not disappointed. As others have said, the rooms are a little dated and could do away with the faded bed runner and cushion. However, the room was very clean as was the good sized en-suite. Also it had a large wardrobe and good sized dressing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for August Bank holiday and had a great time. Rooms are clean, and although a little dated, they are comfortable and well equipped. We had a Sea view and Balcony overlooking the heated outdoor pool. Good breakfast every day, and a good and varied evening meal menu. It was our second visit and we had some friends with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
newport south wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself, my husband, my mother and father came back to this hotel we stayed here a few years ago and it was great so we thought we would go back for our anniversary we were there from the 1st August 2014 for four nights we booked side sea view rooms - the rooms themselves were very dated with woodchip wall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel every year for 9 years and absolutely love it. This year being no exception. We arranged sea views privately with the hotel after booking with a coach tour. The rooms given were lovely, over looking the pool with a patio which we sat out on every morning and evening looking at the stunning bay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Southampton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with 2 children. Only 2 little positives- right on the seafront and on day 1 we had a friendly waitress for breakfast. Other than that, what can we say- smelly room - the smell seemed to be oozing from the old, worn carpet. Dirty, poorly decorated walls with peeling woodchip. Furniture that looks like it has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Carol Ann C, Owner at The Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

We were surprised to see your comments regarding your stay with us, having addressed your earlier complaint by offering alternative accommodation of which you commented was ‘lovely and bright’ and ‘much better’. If you had cause for further complaint our Reception and Housekeeping staff are always on duty and would have addressed any problems you had. In response to your... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife an I spent four nights as part of a coach trip. Both of us having mobility problems we were told everything was on one level with a lift from reception to all floors. No one told us threre were a flight of stairs to climb before getting to reception. Despite advising our tour operator of our wish for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Ocean Hotel on the sea front at Sandown is a wonderful place to stay - the sea in front, and the shops right behind. On arrival the hotel seemed slightly old fashioned, it was built in Edwardian times and much of the interior is original. Our week's stay couldn't have been bettered. The staff are friendly and helpful, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Colduk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were booked into the Ocean Hotel, Sandown with Shearings and the experience was somewhat unique. Remember woodchip wallpaper? All over! The creaking floors were more than a match in volume for my arthritic knees, and the ill fitting and rattling doors on room 90 were worthy of a haunted house. The creaking floors made the rooms burglar proof I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Hotel

Address: Sandown PO36 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Hotel 2*
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sandown
The Ocean Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sandown with
any amenities