We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cygnet Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
58 Carter Street, Sandown PO36 8DQ , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cygnet Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cygnet Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stopped here in April 2011 when I came here with Harry Shaw(Coventry). There was a tree in reception which the hotel had to be built around and it was an unusual sight.As for bad criticisms with food I never found any.There was a water shortage one day but was fixed within a few hours and I couldn't find any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, The tree is still in the reception area, thanks for taking the time to review us, hope you come back and ill show where the is its growing nicely now, More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have recently returned from a 5 day break with national holidays . Staying at this hotel . We have a few of these breaks with national and i have to say this was one of the better ones we have stayed in . It being privately owned we all received personal service . Thanks again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Margaret Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us hope that you come to the Isle of Wight again and stay with us, all the best from the Cygnet Hotel More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

My two young daughters and I stayed here end of May. I'd spoken to the hotel on the phone prior to our visit to arrange a few bits to accommodate our needs. When we arrived the owners and staff were so welcoming and friendly. Even sorting us an unplanned evening meal. Which I'd add was great. As for our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is so nice to hear that you had such a great visit to the Isle of Wight and our Hotel, hope to see you and your girls again soon all the best from all at the Cygnet Hotel More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

A breath of fresh air, very friendly hotel, meals were excellent including their Steak & Ale Pie .Evening entertainment was varied & enjoyable, rooms were very clean & comfortable with all amenities e.g Tea & Coffee + T.V. Finally to be greeted & waved off by the Hotel Owner was special. Thank you all Cygnet Hotel. Colin & Cheryl

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colin and Cheryl Thank you for taking the time to review the Cygnet Hotel, we are so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us hope to see you back very soon. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in April could not fault a thing, rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful and the food was very good. Would definetly stay here again nice touch that Audrey came to say goodbye. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Cygnet hotel, It is so nice when guests enjoy their stay stay with us, look forward to seeing you again soon from all at the Cygnet More 

Hebburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Good hol, but hotel let it down, from poor beds,gloss purple head board, entertainment 2 nights out of 3.Foist smell around the place.average meals, small portions.Hotel a good 15 min walk downhill to prom, then another 15-20 min walk along prom, for the attractions etc. No buse to hotel from seafront. bad for people with walking difficulties.--The staff were excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our Hotel and that the colour of our decor was not to your taste, But on a positive most of our guest enjoy the hotel and the decor, and if any one with a walking difficultly finds it hard they tend to get a taxi to take them... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We were on a 5 days National Holidays Coach tour and based on reviews I read on Trip Advisor I chose The Cygnet Hotel. Big mistake. Because of various issues with the rooms we were allocated three different ones during our stay. Each one was small and in a very poor state of décor. Cracked Artex on all the walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had such a bad time at our Hotel, as you know we did try to resolve all the problems that you came to reception with, myself and the staff did all we could to make every thing right for your stay with us, but that just did not seem to do any good, As... More 

Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We stayed here recently with a coach trip, lovely homely hotel,.. good evening entertainment, fabulas food,.. too far for us to walk to the town or beach but that is our personal opinion, the hotel/rooms are bit dated, my biggest grip was the drastically uncomfortable bed, very lumpy could feel every spring. prob would'nt stay here again, would rather be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there we are sorry that your bed was lumpy if I was told of this I would of change the mattress for you, I do hope that this did not spoil your stay with us, More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Stayed here recently with a group of friends - the hotel is close to the beach in a lovely part of the Isle of Wight. The rooms were clean and well presented, and functional. I would be hard pressed to make it homely, but when you are staying on the Isle of Wight, you likely won't be spending too much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review, we are so pleased that you had such a nice time here on the Isle of Wight More 

Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Did a mini vacation to Isle of Wight and stayed at the Cygnet hotel.I was visiting England from Canada. An older property with the most wonderful staff I have ever met worldwide. Hotel is small and personal and most of all CLEAN. The meals are well planned with a good choice at each sitting.Entertainment excellent.... Thank you all at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Manager at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and that you enjoyed the Isle of Wight hope you visit again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay