We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cygnet Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
58 Carter Street, Sandown PO36 8DQ , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cygnet Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cygnet Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    24
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
New marske
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 4 night stay to this hotel yesterday , we travelled with National holidays , the hotel and the food were very nice , but what made it for me was the staff ,Unfortunately whilst there my wife sustained a very nasty accident whilst walking up to the hotel from the town , she tripped and broke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we all hope that your wife is getting better after her nasty fall, take care and hope to see you again, More 

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay to celebrate our silver wedding , the staff was very friendly & helpfull hotel very clean & the entertainment was very good ,breakfast was great . Would certainly use this hotel again . Thank you to you all Steve & Marion Taylor

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, We are so glad that you had such a good stay with us and hope to see you both again very soon. More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights with national holidays . Food lovely staff great , very nice stay here .rooms and beds comfortable. Would stay again .only criticism could do with more outdoor seating , excellent stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon, sorry about the lack of seating but when we have put tables and chairs out people seem to take a shine to them and walk off with them we have even had one set bolted... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I stopped here in April 2011 when I came here with Harry Shaw(Coventry). There was a tree in reception which the hotel had to be built around and it was an unusual sight.As for bad criticisms with food I never found any.There was a water shortage one day but was fixed within a few hours and I couldn't find any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, The tree is still in the reception area, thanks for taking the time to review us, hope you come back and ill show where the is its growing nicely now, More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

We have recently returned from a 5 day break with national holidays . Staying at this hotel . We have a few of these breaks with national and i have to say this was one of the better ones we have stayed in . It being privately owned we all received personal service . Thanks again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Margaret Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us hope that you come to the Isle of Wight again and stay with us, all the best from the Cygnet Hotel More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

My two young daughters and I stayed here end of May. I'd spoken to the hotel on the phone prior to our visit to arrange a few bits to accommodate our needs. When we arrived the owners and staff were so welcoming and friendly. Even sorting us an unplanned evening meal. Which I'd add was great. As for our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is so nice to hear that you had such a great visit to the Isle of Wight and our Hotel, hope to see you and your girls again soon all the best from all at the Cygnet Hotel More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

A breath of fresh air, very friendly hotel, meals were excellent including their Steak & Ale Pie .Evening entertainment was varied & enjoyable, rooms were very clean & comfortable with all amenities e.g Tea & Coffee + T.V. Finally to be greeted & waved off by the Hotel Owner was special. Thank you all Cygnet Hotel. Colin & Cheryl

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colin and Cheryl Thank you for taking the time to review the Cygnet Hotel, we are so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us hope to see you back very soon. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in April could not fault a thing, rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful and the food was very good. Would definetly stay here again nice touch that Audrey came to say goodbye. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Cygnet hotel, It is so nice when guests enjoy their stay stay with us, look forward to seeing you again soon from all at the Cygnet More 

Hebburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Good hol, but hotel let it down, from poor beds,gloss purple head board, entertainment 2 nights out of 3.Foist smell around the place.average meals, small portions.Hotel a good 15 min walk downhill to prom, then another 15-20 min walk along prom, for the attractions etc. No buse to hotel from seafront. bad for people with walking difficulties.--The staff were excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our Hotel and that the colour of our decor was not to your taste, But on a positive most of our guest enjoy the hotel and the decor, and if any one with a walking difficultly finds it hard they tend to get a taxi to take them... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We were on a 5 days National Holidays Coach tour and based on reviews I read on Trip Advisor I chose The Cygnet Hotel. Big mistake. Because of various issues with the rooms we were allocated three different ones during our stay. Each one was small and in a very poor state of décor. Cracked Artex on all the walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had such a bad time at our Hotel, as you know we did try to resolve all the problems that you came to reception with, myself and the staff did all we could to make every thing right for your stay with us, but that just did not seem to do any good, As... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#5 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#7 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caprera Hotel
Caprera Hotel
#1 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay