We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cygnet Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
58 Carter Street, Sandown PO36 8DQ , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cygnet Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cygnet Hotel
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A breath of fresh air, very friendly hotel, meals were excellent including their Steak & Ale Pie .Evening entertainment was varied & enjoyable, rooms were very clean & comfortable with all amenities e.g Tea & Coffee + T.V. Finally to be greeted & waved off by the Hotel Owner was special. Thank you all Cygnet Hotel. Colin & Cheryl

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colin and Cheryl Thank you for taking the time to review the Cygnet Hotel, we are so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us hope to see you back very soon. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in April could not fault a thing, rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful and the food was very good. Would definetly stay here again nice touch that Audrey came to say goodbye. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Cygnet hotel, It is so nice when guests enjoy their stay stay with us, look forward to seeing you again soon from all at the Cygnet More 

Hebburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good hol, but hotel let it down, from poor beds,gloss purple head board, entertainment 2 nights out of 3.Foist smell around the place.average meals, small portions.Hotel a good 15 min walk downhill to prom, then another 15-20 min walk along prom, for the attractions etc. No buse to hotel from seafront. bad for people with walking difficulties.--The staff were excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our Hotel and that the colour of our decor was not to your taste, But on a positive most of our guest enjoy the hotel and the decor, and if any one with a walking difficultly finds it hard they tend to get a taxi to take them... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on a 5 days National Holidays Coach tour and based on reviews I read on Trip Advisor I chose The Cygnet Hotel. Big mistake. Because of various issues with the rooms we were allocated three different ones during our stay. Each one was small and in a very poor state of décor. Cracked Artex on all the walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had such a bad time at our Hotel, as you know we did try to resolve all the problems that you came to reception with, myself and the staff did all we could to make every thing right for your stay with us, but that just did not seem to do any good, As... More 

Usk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We stayed here recently with a coach trip, lovely homely hotel,.. good evening entertainment, fabulas food,.. too far for us to walk to the town or beach but that is our personal opinion, the hotel/rooms are bit dated, my biggest grip was the drastically uncomfortable bed, very lumpy could feel every spring. prob would'nt stay here again, would rather be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there we are sorry that your bed was lumpy if I was told of this I would of change the mattress for you, I do hope that this did not spoil your stay with us, More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Stayed here recently with a group of friends - the hotel is close to the beach in a lovely part of the Isle of Wight. The rooms were clean and well presented, and functional. I would be hard pressed to make it homely, but when you are staying on the Isle of Wight, you likely won't be spending too much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review, we are so pleased that you had such a nice time here on the Isle of Wight More 

Alliston, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Did a mini vacation to Isle of Wight and stayed at the Cygnet hotel.I was visiting England from Canada. An older property with the most wonderful staff I have ever met worldwide. Hotel is small and personal and most of all CLEAN. The meals are well planned with a good choice at each sitting.Entertainment excellent.... Thank you all at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacquelinelemoigne, Manager at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and that you enjoyed the Isle of Wight hope you visit again soon. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The trip was a David Urquhart week end trip with a tour of the Island, the hotel staff were top notch for service and could not do enough for us, in reception and the resteraunt and bar. There was evening entertainment on Friday and Saterday night. The coach driver was absolutely brillient and can not be faulted

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review its so nice to be able to pass all the reviews on to the staff as they all work so hard glad you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Highcliffe united kingdonm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Having just returned from a 3 day stay at this hotel I can't praise it enough. Staff and management couldn't do enough for everyone. The room was spacious and pristine, warm and beds so comfortable I had the best nights sleep in years. The food was good home cooking and plenty of it, with a wide choice (I had smoked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and the photos,hope that we see you again soon More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

we just came home 13/3/15 after 5 day,s at the cygnet hotel thank you audrey bill and jacqui for a fantastic few days we may have been short of numbers but that did not stop you giving us all a good time we have never met such nice people (owners)great rooms great food we made our own entertainment which you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Jacquelinelemoigne, Owner at Cygnet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you hope to see you soon for more fun and laughter More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities