We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parkbury Hotel

29 / 31 The Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parkbury Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Parkbury Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    53
    29
    21
    19
See reviews for
33
67
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have just got back from holiday. Stayed in room 21. Staff where very polite and helpful. Hotel needs updating. Our room was ok, never had hot water in mornings. It was a coach touring hotel, and they seemed to take priority over us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great first impressions, v helpful staff and plenty of large public rooms. Bedroom large, clean and comfortable. No phone in room. Morning bath/shower impossible as no water pressure (everyone else bathing at the same time?), trickling cold water at best, dangerously boiling hot water. Budget hotel perfectly OK if you can find somewhere else to have a shower!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are lovely at this hotel. Friendly, helpful and cheerful at all times. The hotel itself however is in desperate need of a refurb - carpets are tired and not that clean and the rooms although clean lack the touches of what you would expect in any basic hotel or BB room. We did have to ask for another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

My partner and I spent one night here with breakfast included. First impressions were good. The receptionist was welcoming and friendly, advising us of nice places to eat. We went to our double room and were impressed with the size and the balcony. Unfortunately, that's where the positives end. At 3am we were woken for over 90 minutes by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

The hotel it's self is slightly dated and old fashioned, but I like some nostalgia, the staff all very friendly, laid back and pleasant. The room I had was basic, but clean and the bedding was fresh, they could do with replacing the mattress as it was 'boney' and made uncomfortable sleeping. The shower was nice and hot, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

This review reflects the value for money this hotel represents .We had room 37, large double very good value for money, mattress a little hard otherwise ok. breakfast was good and waititng staff helpful. Would stay again. Things are a little dated and the residents lounge not as welcoming a sit could be, perhaps a TV. Wifi is woeful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This hotel was not what I had expected, it was outdated, cold, small portion breakfasts, the room we had was a twin room but the position of the beds meant that two people could not sit in bed to watch the tv ( unless they were in one bed ) on an evening and that is if it was working,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

LEICESTER
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

the hotel has a ship theame all the way few all the staff were so friendly helpfull the room was very clean good hot water lovely view off back garden lovely front garden to sit in watching the world go by meals very good sandown is 10 minute down hill walk would defintly come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I would stay at the parkbury again I love its quirkiness ,even though it could do with a bit of an uplift ,it was clean lovely soft towels good food brilliant staff ,we were on ground floor ,a little noisy from upstairs but not enough to bother about would perhaps ask for a higher floor if returning all in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

went on a weekend trip with national holidays to the Parkbury IOW the hotel was very dated but clean and tidy. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food was of a very good standard with a good choice, breakfast was excellent We had entertainment on the sat night but not very good should have gone out. we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#5 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caprera Hotel
Caprera Hotel
#1 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#7 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#36 of 55 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay