We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wight Bay Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP , England
Hotel amenities
Wight Bay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
sandy_live Gurgaon, India
Add Photo

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    101
    61
    10
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You cant expect much from a 2 star property but Wight Bay Hotel deserves a good review as they not only helped us checking in late in night but everything stated online was right and we did not find any difficulties while staying there. Good, hearty breakfast was served every morning and in house bar is also very good. Free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a weeks stay at the bay shore hotel with Alfa, I have never been so well looked after in Alfa hotels as I have here. The room was clean and modern and the the staff were fantastic, the food was very well cooked and a good choice menu. I was so impressed that I have booked again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived in the wight bay hotel (actually signposted the Riviera) at around 6pm only to be told I had to wait an hour to check in WHAT?? I sat outside in the car and was shouted at to check in just before 7.Whilst checking in I was told that I had timed it wrong as all staff were doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for the honest and genuine feedback on your most recent visit. Unfortunately during food service which last from 6pm till 7pm we are sometimes unable to check guests in to the hotel. Sometimes when the hotel is full whom ever is on the reception helps within the restaurant. I your case you were asked to take a... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Wight Bay Hotel over the Isle of Wight festival weekend as we didn't fancy camping and we thought it was a good price for two nights. We booked through booking.com and noticed that they had free wifi, brilliant we thought! But it was not to be. Unfortunately we couldn't seem to pick up any wifi in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, its only with comments such as yours are we able to learn and move forward with exceeding customer service. You are correct we do state on booking.com the hotel does provide free internet access, however in same sentence it also states it is in the public areas only.... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel due to the following experience: I arrived at around 11pm and was unable to check-in due to: 1. No working door bell 2. No one answering my knocks on the front door 3. No one answering my phone calls to reception 4. No one warning me about the difficult of checking in 'late' 5.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for the feedback, Clearly you did not read the terms and conditions of your late deal discounted room when you purchased it through booking.com. It clearly states that check in times are from 15:00 - 20:30 daily, any guest wishing to check in later can do so with prior arrangement with the hotel or through booking.com. Turning... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the hotel for 4 nights last week on a coach trip to the Isle of Wight. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment by new owners. Really enjoyed our stay. The new beds were extremely comfortable and our room was spotlessly clean. All the staff were great and made us feel really welcome. The food was brilliant every day and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for the feedback, its only with constructive and genuine feedback are we able to learn and move forward with exceeding expectations at every level. I will pass on your comments to the team today! Tyrone More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel very clean and tidy good friendly staff nice food very comfortable beds would come again enjoyed our stay.the evening entertainment at the hotel was good the nights we stayed my friends loved there break here good value.THANKYOU

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for the feedback, its only with constructive and genuine feedback are we able to learn and move forward with exceeding expectations at every level. I will pass on your comments to the team today! Tyrone More 

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

spent the weekend with just go holidays could not fault hotel at all rooms good food great staff brilliant entertainment every night would certainly like to visit again our party thorourly enjoyed our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bing G Thank you for taking the time in writing your review on your most recent visit to the Wight Bay Hotel, it is only with genuine, constructive and honest feed-back are able to learn and move forward in exceeding guest expectations. Clearly you enjoyed your stay along with your party and I am very pleased, I will pass... More 

lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading the reviews before our stay at this hotel I was looking forward to a great holiday.. Well I honestly thought that I had read the reviews of a different hotel. The bedrooms were dull and tired looking, the entertainment in the evening abysmal and the food was poor .and the portion sizes minute. My partner had 8 chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for the feedback on your most recent visit to The Wight Bay Hotel. It only with constructive, honest and genuine feedback are we able to learn and move forward with guest standards and service. I am surprised by your comments considering the remarks and reviews others within your group have given to me personally such as... More 

ayrshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a Dvid Urquhart tour to this excellent hotel.We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay here. The hotel is spotlessly clean through out. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed and clean towels when we requested them. The food in this hotel is excellent. We had a buffet breakfast with a good choice of cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for the feedback on your most recent visit to The Wight Bay Hotel. It only with constructive honest feedback are we able to learn and move forward with guest standards and service. I will pass on your comments to the team Tyrone More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay