We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wight Bay Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP , England
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Wight Bay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Hotelgirl12319 Sheffield, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    105
    62
    11
    11
    10
See reviews for
52
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just got back from a brilliant stay at the hotel. The new manager Peter and his team were superb, nothing was too much trouble for them. We were made to feel very very welcome, service couldn’t have been any better. There was a buffet style breakfast with a good variety of food including croissants, fruits and yogurts. You never went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was clean &bright, with toiletries in bathroom.The service was excellent. Staff helpful & polite. The manager did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Life entertainment most evenings. Very competitive prices. Good parking facilities. And centrally located. Would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed at this hotel for 4 nights ---room very clean and attended to daily---breakfast was excellent and plenty of it ---staff very friendly----close to beach and shops------only down side was that it states that bar sells snacks ,but it does not and also there needs to be a list of which nights the entertainment is on ----apart from this everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

THANK YOU to all members of staff for making this an enjoyable holiday break, from the moment we booked in on arrival the staff were eager to please and very informative,our room was spotless each and every day,breakfast was beyond excellent with such a good and varied choice as it was buffet style and the staff were very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter P, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Walter, It was great to read such a positive comments about our hotel & staff! We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Wight Bay Hotel soon! Many Thanks! Peter Pordan More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic one night stay at the Wight Bay Hotel. We reserved two sea view rooms, one for my parents and one for my wife and me. Unfortunately when we arrived they only had one sea view room, but the manager refunded the difference and was very apologetic. We were still very happy with both rooms, my parent's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter P, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter, I would like to thank you for your kind words on our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to Sandown again soon! Kind regards, Peter Pordan More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the island on a motorbike trip with my son for overnight stay. It cost £50 for the two of us including full English. Can I remind all critics on here we are talking £50 a night here so don't expect all the latest trendy furnishings, you won't get them, instead you get a large clean room with a comfy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A hotel in a pretty good location, short walk from the pier. Walking in is like walking back into the 1960s, clean and tidy but a bit tired and dated. Couldn't fault the staff, friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was filling. Can see a bit of a problem in updating, the whole area is a bit rundown, Sandown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You cant expect much from a 2 star property but Wight Bay Hotel deserves a good review as they not only helped us checking in late in night but everything stated online was right and we did not find any difficulties while staying there. Good, hearty breakfast was served every morning and in house bar is also very good. Free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I arrived in the wight bay hotel (actually signposted the Riviera) at around 6pm only to be told I had to wait an hour to check in WHAT?? I sat outside in the car and was shouted at to check in just before 7.Whilst checking in I was told that I had timed it wrong as all staff were doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for the honest and genuine feedback on your most recent visit. Unfortunately during food service which last from 6pm till 7pm we are sometimes unable to check guests in to the hotel. Sometimes when the hotel is full whom ever is on the reception helps within the restaurant. I your case you were asked to take a... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We stayed at The Wight Bay Hotel over the Isle of Wight festival weekend as we didn't fancy camping and we thought it was a good price for two nights. We booked through booking.com and noticed that they had free wifi, brilliant we thought! But it was not to be. Unfortunately we couldn't seem to pick up any wifi in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wight Bay Hotel S, General Manager at Wight Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, its only with comments such as yours are we able to learn and move forward with exceeding customer service. You are correct we do state on booking.com the hotel does provide free internet access, however in same sentence it also states it is in the public areas only.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#7 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#13 of 32 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#21 of 32 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay