We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chad Hill Hotel

7 Hill Street, Sandown P036 9DD, England
Hotel amenities
Chad Hill Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
UmmUnaysa London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    16
    11
    6
    13
See reviews for
9
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a four night getaway from London, with my 11 month old baby. We got a cheap deal, was well worth it. Good points: The owners were very accommodating, friendly, approachable and welcoming, especially with our baby. They made us feel at home and gave our experience more of a personal touch. Breakfast was fair, owners took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The owners seemed very friendly, the location was really good and the weather played ball. Unfortunately, the showers just didn't work - the water was either scorching hot, freezing cold, or there was no water at all. The landlady kindly inspected the shower unit and said that it "seemed fine now". Two days, two mornings without running water wasn't cool.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely weekend, relaxing and made to feel very welcome, and the owners were very accommodating. The breakfast was very good and all cooked to order.would definitely stay here again.Near to beautiful beaches and all amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loughborough, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the Isle of Wight for a long weekend, hoping for a quaint and friendly hotel - Chad hill Hotel was just the ticket. It was dated, but in a charming way. Exactly as we would have hoped for a seaside town. The owners were welcoming and very hospitable. I have seen conflicting reviews but we all found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

firstly I'd like to say the hosts were fantastic but the place is very dated and smells musty. Showers very small unless your 8 stone and 4 foot nothing you will struggle to thru bathroom door let alone use shower. I could have dealt with the old ess of the place but not being able to wash easily ruined our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room at last minute, and got to say we were disappointed with the standard of it, but thought "it's only a night" and at least we have a bed, the bed didn't have any flat sheet under the duvet, the room was cluttered beyond compare with mismatching furniture, linen and curtains, we walked into town, had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
juds57, Owner at Chad Hill Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Chad Hill, we try very hard to meet guest expectations, which is one of the reasons we have a Licensed Bar, paid for in the hope that it will make a customers' stay more enjoyable. Unfortunately, if we allowed everyone to bring in their own drink this service... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Never easy to get a cheap deal with a family room. This was a good price with a location walking distance from the pier and beach. The beds were nicely lined up for the five of us. Bad points: bathroom needs an update, the shower was a bit like standing under a leaky gutter. One of those ridiculous hose hair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent little hotel, quirky and the owner very welcoming, genuinely warm and friendly. I loved the fact it was nostalgic and personal. Breakfast was fantastic, the rooms clean and the bed really comfy. Quite location and I would highly recommend I stayed 2 nights and would definitely come again! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I had a comfortable two night stay in the Bluebell Bedroom, which had everything I needed including free WiFi! The hosts very welcoming and catered to my vegetarian preferences. The food was delicious. I enjoyed staying in a place with historic character, close to the town centre, transportation and the beach. Overall, a good value for the money I paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I went to the Island to visit friends.I chose the hotel as it is easy to get to with out having a car I traveled by train and the fast cat ferry from Portsmouth.The train station(Sandown) is a five minute walk away, there is ample parking If you go by car. Most of the hotel is in the original Victorian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#16 of 32 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#8 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#36 of 55 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#15 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay