We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Sandown hotels

Melville Hall Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Rate B&B from £28pp
Melville Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melville Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
trafficboy Newbury, United Kingdom
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    333
    114
    50
    47
See reviews for
63
533
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (848)
  • Mar-May only
    (220)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (240)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (228)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here on the travelzoo deal for two nights B&B. The intial room we were given had a few housekeeping issues, however once these were raised with reception,we we offered another room without any issue. Staff all very helpful and quality of food good. Spa is quite small but clean, and loved having a quiet beer in the outdoor hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Melville Hall for a couple of nights in February and had a great time. The staff were very welcoming and efficient and the room was delightful. All you could hope for was in the room, including tea / coffee, ironing board, DVD player etc. We were also given a complimentary coffee in the lounge on our arrival.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, we had a nice welcome, service was very good, food was excellent and nicely presented and free use of the leisure suite was a bonus - we had an upgraded room which was roomy with a nice en-suite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose The Melville Hotel and Spa because it sounded just perfect for our needs. It looked a bit oldy worldly with a lot of character. A couple of days away with my daughter and her partner who has COPD was just what was needed. We explained our needs on booking and when we arrived we were not disappointed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's great to hear that you and your family had a wonderful short break with us. We're glad your Superior rooms on the ground floor were comfortable, warm and have everything you needed to ensure your break was relaxing and enjoyable. I'm glad you thought the... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went with 3 other couples for a weekend get away. After reading all the hype on the internet, we chose this hotel. This is what we found: It was very very difficult to park in the grounds - at first I had to park in a side road opposite the Hotel. Other cars came in after me and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It was in fact myself that checked you out of the hotel on the morning of your departure. When I asked if everything with OK with your stay, you and your party all replied saying that everything was fine. It is always worth reporting any problems during your stay so... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We both needed a much needed break, hence chosen Melville Hall Hotel in the IOW, as I have not been before. We arrived 2 hours earlier than the official check in time, the Reception lady very kindly checked us in, and as our room was ready, we were allowed to go into our room. On entering, it was great to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you had a great stay with us. I do apologise that there was a plumbing issue in your room when you arrived at the hotel. However I'm glad the Assistant Manager rectified this straight away and found another Superior room that you were... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great few days away here. Every member of their staff were fantastic. All very polite and helpful. Just want to mention Noel the waiter in the evening, nothing was too much bother for him a very pleasant and cheerful Man. Food was excellent and the breakfast was great with so many choices. My partner and I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and you enjoyed your meals in the Restaurant and there were plenty to choose from. I will pass your kind comments onto the staff including the Spa therapists, as well as Noel. We hope to welcome you back to Melville... More 

Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

here we are again! this is our 5th visit because this spa break is a must! 2 nights with 3 course evening meal on the first night and ferry and full use of the leisure suite and fab prices on the spa treatments of your choice! ladies get booking! the hotel staff are professional and friendly.a pleasant lounge and bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you again Carol for leaving such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. It was great to see you come back to Melville Hall for your 5th visit, and this time to bring your parents as a surprise. It's wonderful that they too had a great time and will come back again to see us in the near future. Thank you... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at this Spa hotel for a couple of nights. The room was good room 237, plenty of room for the 2 of us. Hotel was clean. The food was excellent, cannot complain at all. Pots of coffee & cream whenever we asked for it. The Spa was good, only niggle would be the Jacuzzi could've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's lovely to hear such great comments, we're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the staff made you feel welcome and at home. I'm glad you enjoyed your treatments at Utopia Spa and it's wonderful to hear that the staff were very friendly and polite. Thank you again for... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very helpful, friendly staff from the moment we walked through the door. Leisure facilities including outdoor hot tub open until 10pm which was a real bonus! Great facilities including a beautiful big fish tank to admire and a lovely relaxation room. Treatments were very relaxing and professional and breakfast had a good selection. Thank you for making our break everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us an enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor facilities on offer. It's lovely that you enjoyed our beautiful fish tank whilst waiting for your treatments, which we are glad helped make you feel relaxed and pampered. I will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melville Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown

287 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Spa Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Twin Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay