We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Sandown hotels

Melville Hall Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Melville Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Melville Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
75%
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Sandown
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
kevgp
  • Overview
  • Reviews (785)
  • Photos (94)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (188)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    308
    110
    48
    45
See reviews for
54
496
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

From the minute we entered the hotel the staff were helpful and cheerful. With my partner being wheat intolerant the staff ensured that she was offered a variety of food and gave sound advice. The rooms were cleaned well and had everything we required to make our stay comfortable. Looking forward to our 4the year there next year. From Kevin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review on Melville Hall Hotel. It was a pleasure to welcome you back for your third visit on the Scooter Rally weekend. We're glad we could cater for your wife's dietary requirements in the Summerhill Restaurant and everything met her needs. The staff are already looking forward to welcoming you back next August Bank Holiday... More

Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had an excellent stay at Melville Hall, the food was excellent and the staff are so friendly and very efficient, no matter what you ask for, nothing is ever too much trouble. This was our 3rd visit to Melville Hall and we have booked again for next year, excellent hotel with great staff. Julie & Ian Portman

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on TripAdvisor! I't was a pleasure to welcome you back to Melville Hall. I'm glad you had a great break with us over the Bank Holiday and Scooter Rally weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us over the weekend and we're glad you thought the staff... More

nuneaton
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed three nights in two rooms, one a standard twin and the other an upgraded king. We only stayed B&B so cannot comment on the restaurant food. I have stayed in many hotels of different sizes from Travelodges to 5 star and this is a very good hotel. In summary it's a relatively small 'adults only' hotel with excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you found it good value for money. Thank you for all your kind comments on the staff, your hotel rooms, the spa facilities and the character of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

So happy with our decision to pick this hotel for our Isle of Wight holiday. Good value for money. Great breakfast, sauna, swimming pool, hot tub and jacuzzi facilities, Wi-Fi - all inclusive! Friendly and helpful staff; We had a relaxing time and I would definitely consider staying there again. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's lovely to receive such positive feedback on your visit to the Isle of Wight and your stay with us. We're glad to hear you made use of all our facilities whilst you stayed with us and hope you found it excellent value for money. We look forward... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Melville Hall Hotel for 2 nights in August 2014. Parking was a little tricky BUT the welcome from Jackie was amazing. She told us everything we needed to know about the Hotel and the facilities. We were on the ground floor in Room OO2 and it was quiet, comfortable and plenty of space.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Island had lots to offer you whilst you visited. It was a pleasure to personally welcome you to Melville Hall and show you around the facilities at Utopia Spa. It's wonderful to... More

Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked 3 rooms (one on each floor) for different family couples. We were extremely pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful, the food was beautifully prepared and our room on the top floor was delightful (can't comment on the other 2) The only, minor proviso is that the bathroom, needed modernising and perhaps rearranging as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the meals in the Summerhill Restaurant, to your Superior Room on the second floor. I will ensure your kind and positive comments are passed onto our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are friendly and it is close to the train station and town but that is all you can really say for the hotel. The breakfast was poor and the restaurant menu dated, we ate out every night on the strength of it. The rooms were disappointing, we stayed in a Superior Room and I have stayed in much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We do apologise that you did not find breakfast in the hotel to the standard you would have expected. It is always worth reporting such issues whilst you are here and we would have been able to resolve this by offering you an alternative. If we were also... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our 4th time here and once again the staff were amazing, the room was good (we had a Superior room) but being on the ground floor meant it was noisy from rooms above us. The pools, sauna and detox room were put to good use and only one of the three meals we had there was slightly under... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We're glad you had yet another great stay and the staff thoroughly looked after you. I do apologise that one of your meals was slightly under par, if we had been made aware we would have been able to offer an alternative meal at the time. It is... More

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I (both living on the island) stayed at this hotel for his birthday, as he hasnt lived on the island for long and I wanted to book somewhere lovely by the seaside. I was by no means disappointed at all and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room, with an amazing 4 poster bed and whirlpool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for Melville Hall. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, even as Island residents, you were able to unwind and relax from the stress of everyday life. Our new Spa Breaks available provide great value for money where they also include a Spa welcome gift and treatments. Thank... More

Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned to the mainland after a lovely weekend break in The Melville Hall. Have visited several times before and found all as usual, warm welcome, courteous staff in both restaurant and reception. Superb first evening meal with Noel his usual attentive and charming self in the bar. Enjoyed the spendid and clean spa facilities, we use hotels all over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JackieClaridge123, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Melville Hall Hotel. Thank you for leaving a lovely review about your recent stay with us. We're glad you found the Reception Team helpful with a guided tour around the Hotel & Spa. I will ensure your kind comments are passed onto the Restaurant team on your evening meal and that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Melville Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melville Hall Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sandown with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown #6 Family Hotel in Sandown
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Melville Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer