We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melville Hall Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Offers & Announcements
Save 49% Best Rate B&B
Melville Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Margaret Francis London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    344
    118
    52
    47
See reviews for
65
559
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (881)
  • Mar-May only
    (253)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (240)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (228)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I went with a friend on a voucher for a two-night stay. A long time since I last visited the Isle of Wight and it is an island that stays true to itself. This authenticity is reflected in the Melville Hall Hotel- all the staff were not just friendly but seemed very sincere in wanting their guests to feel welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this through Travelzoo out of season, staying in March. 2 night stay including breakfast was £95 for two people. Spa was nice, lovely detox room and sauna. swimming pool and jacuzzi outside. Decor was a bit outdated and the rooms were clean but again needed updating. The bathrooms were a little tatty but the towels and rooms were cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you had a lovely break with us and that the Travel Zoo deal you booked with was excellent value for money. I't's great to hear you enjoyed the short walk down to Sandown beach and that you made use of the leisure facilities available at Melville... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband brought me here for my birthday treat hot stone massage, jacuzzi, spa and hydro bath in our room a fantastic relaxing break. Lovely staff great food and the menu changed each day. What a wonderful find will definitely be back and because you are a ferry ride from mainland it feels like a true break.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It;s great to hear that you had a great stay with us for your birthday and the treatments you had at Utopia Spa were enjoyable and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melville Hall in the near future. Regards More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner booked this hotel very last minute and we were not disappointed we did fantastic staff fantastic food...service staff room brilliant we have rebooked to go bk in june for a long weekend cant wait

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful short break with us and that you will be coming back in June! We look forward to welcoming you back for your special break. Regards More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel Last minute, to arrive the same day. We are a couple in our 30's. We were so amazed at this place the room was lovely and the staff so welcoming and helpful !! The facilities are wonderful. We have now booked to come back for our honeymoon weekend after our wedding. Yes its not the ritz but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's great to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us that you are coming back for your honeymoon! I'm glad you found the staff very friendly and welcoming and that the food is delicious and well presented. We look forward to welcoming you back as a newly... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a delightful stay at the melville hall hotel, the food was lovely, and our room was clean. The staff was very friendly and welcoming . The hotel was close to the beach. We Will defantly be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you had a wonderful stay, the food was lovely, your hotel room was clean and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We look forward to your next visit to Melville Hall Hotel. Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights over the Easter weekend at Melville Hall Hotel and had a great stay. The room (122) was warm without being stuffy, and the window could be opened if need be. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage in the room for clothes and other belongings. The bathroom was huge, almost as big as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and that your hotel room and bathroom were both spacious and comfortable. I do apologise that other guests disturbed you during the first night of your stay. I personally stayed in the hotel on the Saturday evening as we had noise... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel, spa, treatments & restaurant were amazing. We cannot rate Melville Hall highly enough. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to help us. We will certainly be returning. Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. It's great that we made you stay on the Isle of Wight so memorable and the staff, meals and spa were amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a short stay here on the spur of the moment, taking advantage of a good deal for dinner, bed and breakfast, with the ferry cost included. We very much enjoyed our stay on the Isle of Wight and loved exploring the island. We didn't use the spa facilities, so can't comment on those, but breakfast and dinner were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you had an overall enjoyable stay at Melville Hall Hotel and our position was ideal for you to travel the Isle of Wight. I do apologise that you felt the hotel is tired, we do have an ongoing refurbishment schedule in place. Thank you again for... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the end of March arriving on the ferry, which was included on the Friday night and we had time for a quick session in the leisure suite. The outdoor pool wasn't heated but the large jacuzzi area was and was lovely. We had a three course dinner in the evening which was faultless and to a restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall on TripAdvisor. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing break with us and felt as though your stay was excellent value for money with the spa credit you received towards treatments. I'm glad your fourposter room met your expectations and was comfortable with all the amenities you needed. It's... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

304 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Spa Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Twin Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question