We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melville Hall Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Special Rate
2nt Summer Break £138pp
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Melville Hall Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

943 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    346
    365
    128
    54
    50
See reviews for
73
596
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (943)
  • Mar-May only
    (279)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (276)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (228)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
East Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a one night stay to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary, will definitely be returning very soon. The room we stay in was very well presented, plenty of room for two, bed comfortable, jacuzzi bath 10/10. The factilities and customer service was amazing, food and waiter service was brilliant, will definitely recommend to family and friends, this Hotel is local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us to celebrate your 1st anniversary. I'm glad that the food was amazing, your room was very comfortable and well presented and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again or... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Taking advantage of the 2 day'package deal' including spa treatments. From the moment we arrived to the point of departure everything was handled with professionalism. Friendly reception, and a nice 'feel' about the place, not ultra modern but certainly not run down, a sort of old world charm. For a relaxing couple of days it does have the added advantage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you had a wonderful stay with us and you thought the staff were professional and friendly. It's great to hear that the food was excellent and you thought the indoor and outdoor facilities were well maintained. I'm glad the hot stone massages you had at Utopia... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed for a 2 night spa package and I would definitely recommend it. The package was great value and included treatments, ferry travel and meals. I was not expecting much of the food as it was all included in the price but was pleasantly surprised and it was really really good! It was fresh, decent portions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor and thank you for your kind comments. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and thought the package you booked was excellent value for money. I'm glad you thought the hotel was clean, the food was delicious and the treatments were very enjoyable.... More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were bowled over by the customer service and experience we received. Looking at some of the reviews I was a little worried about what to expect, all the reviews slating the cleanliness and calling it run down are completely unfair. The hotel is an older building and they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's lovely to read all of your comments and it's great to hear that you had such a great weekend away with us. I'm glad you thought the 'Perfect For Me' package you booked including breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent value for money, the hotel... More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a Wowcher deal we stumbled across and so pleased we did! It was such a good deal as neither of us had been to the Island before for a weekend break. We got the early ferry as saving of £30, journey across was pleasant with only an hour crossing. The car journey to the hotel was only 30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's great to hear that you had a fantastic short break with us and the deal you booked through Wowcher was excellent value for money. I'm glad you were able to make the most of the facilities by relaxing around our outdoor pool and you enjoyed... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a last minute two night say and liked the idea of a spa and some hotel leisure facilities ticked all the boxes. Overall we had a nice stay - the hotel is a little dated in its décor but it sort of adds to the character in a strange sort of way, our room was clean and quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I do apologise that you were disappointed with some aspects of your recent visit to Melville Hall Hotel. We pride ourselves on the high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel so we were surprised to read your comments. Our treatment rooms, leisure facilities and public areas are cleaned... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we have visited this charming hotel for a short relaxing spa break. The hotel is located close to Sandown beach in the IOW. The food was excellent and well presented - full breakfast and a delicious 3 course evening meal. The room was a good size with a TV, hairdryer, plenty of plugs and tea/coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us and found that the food in the Restaurant was delicious! I'm glad that Jo was very helpful during your stay and you enjoyed the Spa treatments and use of the facilities. We look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights and if we hadn't paid in advance we would have left. It is seedy and run down -a throwback tontine '70s and probably had had nothing spent on it since then. Everything is worn or falling apart. Problem the worst breakfast anywhere. A disgrace. Do not go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I do apologise that you left us feeling disappointed. I personally spoke to you on several occasions during your stay and at no point did you bring it to my attention that you were dissatisfied with any aspect of your stay. Since your departure I have spoken to... More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited with friends a few weeks ago. The spa area has everything you could want Detox cabins, Sauna, jacuzzis pools BUT it's dirty The sauna has blood splattered up the walls. The indoor pools windows have not been cleaned. There is a relaxation room after your treatment the furniture is filthy at the bottom of the sofas. The treatment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I do apologise that you were disappointed with your recent visit at Melville Hall Hotel. We pride ourselves on the high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel so we were surprised to read your comments. Our treatment rooms, leisure facilities and public areas are cleaned on a daily... More 

Standon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a bit put off by the video on the website if I'm honest, but wanted an adult only break and this was just perfect. Most of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Decor was dated but that didn't matter to us. Room was clean, loved the pool and hot tub. Breakfast lovely but dinner was excellent. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and especially enjoyed your evening meals. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the Head Chef and kitchen team so that they are aware of how fantastic you thought the food was. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Spa Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Twin Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#7 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#19 of 55 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay