We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Sandown hotels

Trouville Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trouville Hotel to your Saves list
Trouville Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
88%
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Bellingham-Bowls London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (221)
  • Photos (31)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    76
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
65
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked to take a coach load of 46 bowlers and holiday makers to The Trouville in July 2014, and the only complaint we had from anyone in our party was of our own making, because we booked the wrong type of room for them, but the hotel sorted that for us! The hotel provided exactly what we needed for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Trouville August 2nd to August 9th.Spent eleven hours getting there. When we arrived there were young porters to take our cases to our rooms. There were over thirty in our party and the lads dealt with job very well.Our room overlooked the beach which is only a few paces from the front entrance. The room was clean, good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review you have given us - thank you very much! After reading your review hopefully the long journey to get to us was worth it! We're so pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay and that you would recommend the Trouville. I will pass your comments on to Martin and the rest of the staff and we... More

London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner & I decided to book a 3 night stay (fri-mon) at The Trouville due to their '3 nights for 2' deal which included dinner, bed & breakfast plus ferry return ferry, sea view room & free parking for £190pp which we thought was excellent value, especially during peak season. Megan on reception was very friendly & helpful when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Trouville Hotel and for your honest opinions. We're glad you found the service on Reception to be efficient and you enjoyed the location of the hotel, particularly the sea view from your room. We're sorry that you were not impressed with the evening meal you received in the restaurant... More

Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were booked in another hotel in Newport. A friend recommended Trouville and we were so grateful that she did. We enjoyed our stay. Staff were really nice. Manager is excellent! My little boy was so happy too with the colouring stuff they gave. It was so relaxing and very convenient as it was just in front of the beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your son's excellent colouring sheet was proudly displayed on our noticeboard for all to see! We hope you will al return to see us again soon. More

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

In fact, I extended my stay! Okay this one may look dated outside with paint work chipping off but inside it's nice and clean. It was very hot outside, but inside it wasn't too bad as the doors and windows were open allowing the seabreeze to flow in. Manager, very nice and very helpful. Reception - very friendly, and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a brilliant review! We're so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your break with us....and that you extended your stay! We're glad the weather was sunny for you during your stay so that you could make the most of the beach (on our doorstep!). We would love for you to return to stay... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Upon reaching the hotel we were surprised to find that the hotel had a large reception area, bar and lounge area ...Unfortunately that's as good as it got! Considering how hot the day was we were surprised to find there were no fans nor air cons in the room, I even saw the staff were fanning themselves with the menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel, what a beautiful, sunny time you chose to come to the Isle of Wight! We're sorry you could not work our WIFI system, a member of staff would have been happy to assist you getting logged on if you'd have asked. Tap water is perfectly fine to drink on the... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had to slept for a night in IOW 2 weeks ago and I booked this hotel after checking the reviews here. It seemed a nice decent little hotel by the seaside. After a long day's journey we arrived the hotel around 8pm. Upon checking in, as soon as the staff (a lady with harsh expression and tune) saw my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Trouville Hotel. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the service upon arrival. I believe you made your booking through Expedia. On this booking site it clearly states the maximum occupancy for a standard double room is 2 guests, therefore you have knowingly made a booking... More

Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel only once but I feel it deserves a good review because I found it to be a very clean hotel . The rooms were comfortable and everything changed every day. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble, so helpful. The hotel was practically on the beach ( so close).. Really lovely, close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Trouville Hotel, we're really glad you decided to share your view with others. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We hope we will see you again in 2014! More

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just returned from a week's holiday at Trouville - part of package with Cairngorm Travel. Every thing about this hotel was great. Location fantastic - right by the sea and easy access to shops etc. The staff were outstanding - nothing too much trouble. Rooms clean and comfortable with tea/coffee replaced daily. Meals great - as a vegetarian I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review you have given us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and that you were impressed with our vegetarian options available at dinner. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you will return again too! More

Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After a very sad time in our lives we decided at short notice to take a break on the Isle of Wight. After finding the Trouville on the internet and checking out the reviews on Tripadvisor we booked a four nights package, which included ferry cost, on the Saturday and by Sunday 11 a.m we were on the ferry. Hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trhotel, Manager at Trouville Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read that you had just experienced a sad time prior to coming to the Trouville Hotel. We are pleased that you chose to come and stay with us and we hope it helped, in some way, to have a break. We are grateful that you appreciated the linen tablecloths and napkins, and also the vegetarian... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Trouville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trouville Hotel

Address: 10 - 16 Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trouville Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sandown with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown #3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown #8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated centrally on Sandown’s seafront, the three star Trouville Hotel is the ideal location for an Isle of Wight Break. Opposite the golden beach and with panoramic views over the sweep of Sandown and Shanklin Bay, the hotel offers the comfort and care for a well deserved break. The hotel’s 88 well appointed rooms, most with sea view, provide the facilities expected by today’s well travelled guest. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
88

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Trouville Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Trouville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer