We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Sandown hotels

Royal Pier Hotel

Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Pier Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Sandown
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (180)
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (72)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    30
    15
    25
See reviews for
29
82
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just returned from staying at the Royal Pier Hotel, Sandown. Overall we enjoyed being there. We travelled with Travelstyle Tours and many of us were OAP's. The hotel couldn't be any nearer the pier or the sea front. It was pleasant just to sit outside and watch the world go by, even a troop of passing Morris Men... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to see that your enjoyed your visit to the Isle of Wight. We are very lucky at the Royal Pier to be in such a splendid position opposite the Pier and the Beach. We will pass on your kind words to the staff. Unfortunately we have no... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here the weekend of July 11th - July 14th 2014 We are both in our mid twenties and I would go as far as saying WE WAS NOT WELCOME This hotel is purely designed for the older generation We got up to the room and it was a disgrace!! Tiny room, carpet dusty, bed very uncomfortable and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I feel I have to be honest in how I reply, as I always am. Your comment “we was not welcome” says it all really. All guests are welcome. You were checked in as normal; you straight away queried the price of £25pppn and asked for a different room, we were however full at the... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would like to add a new review for this hotel. I have been wrong about this hotel in the pest and would like to apologise to the manager. This is a comfortable hotel with good food that you have a good selection from a menu, and even has entertainment in the evenings especially if you do not want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stopped here for 4 nights bed breakfast and 3 course evening dinner food was plentiful well cooked and presentable choice of three available on starters, main meal and dessert just like home cooking served by a very nice waitress named alley gave good service and presented every request with a smile and as though was no trouble she worked very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It really boosts morale to read such positive comments about the food and service we provide. We are pleased that you decided to visit us again and it was lovely to see you. More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Me and a friend had a stay here for a night before the Isle of Wight Festival and it was good enough for the night, maybe another 2 or so at a push but but no means perfect. The room was good enough, not very big or very modern, and the beds weren't overly comfortable but I slept well despite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We agree the rooms are not modern. The Hotel is a lovely Victorian building and we try to keep with the character and style. We have started upgrading our bathrooms and adding flat screen TV's, but we can only do a few at a time. We are pleased you commented that... More

Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here back in March and I have to say that despite the fact I did not have high expectations prior to and upon arrival (we had got a cheap deal and I had already read the bad reviews on trip advisor), what we were met with was little short of awful. I have to say that despite the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay in March. I feel that I respond fairly to all reviews received. I always find it strange when someone sends in a review some 2 months after their stay as it does not allow us to check what room they were staying in and if they reported any problems during their stay.... More

Bussum, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Upon arrival we had to find a parking place. Sea front is Always a problem, but the receptionist advised us a parking in one of the Streets nearby. The room was quit a climb but clean and neat. Breakfast started at 8.30 sharp, by a gong. A good choice of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed it and glad you managed to park close by. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Arrived on 4 night break Rooms are a little dated but told refurb under way, En suite very small Bedding clean and fresh but dated... Needs duvets Food excellent Bar prices average Entertainment sufferable Will return to see if changes were made... 7-10

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Some refurbishment has started and hopefully next time you consider coming you will hopefully see the changes. We are pleased to read your comments about the cleanliness of the Hotel and the excellent food. More

whittlesey cambs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

stayed at this hotel at the begining of April hotel dated but clean and tidy food not so great found a hair in my egg at breakfast . Rhi and Malcome the bar staff were very good, Hotel lift needs a bit to be diesired very small the doors were hard to pull, but would go back but it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay at the beginning of April. We are sorry about the issue you had with breakfast and will pass on your nice comments about the two bar staff. More

Whittlesey,cams United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3. Nights at the beginning of April.On whole the Hotel was not to bad but old .We New this from the start but we're looking at Hotels to take about 40 people from my bingo club for weekends away next year.The room we had was No.53 as soon as they New who I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay in April. We have looked at upgrading the lift, but it would be difficult and very expensive, so at this point in time we are not able to. We are sorry you were not happy with the food. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
65

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Royal Pier Hotel and other travelers.
2 questions

See which rooms travelers prefer