We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Sandown hotels

Royal Pier Hotel

Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Pier Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
62%
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Sandown
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
janicebond695 Brighton, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (186)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (75)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    32
    17
    27
See reviews for
32
84
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

this hotel in good position opposite pier and beach,the high street just up road. but its like faulty towers only nicer. my room was clean enough the shower room very small and floor boards creaked. the hotel could do with a bit of t l c. the staff were only young but frendly and did their best. the food basic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are continually refurbishing the Hotel and in the last few weeks we have upgraded quite a few bathrooms. Floorboards creek in most old buildings but we are pleased you still enjoyed your short stay. More

hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here for one night with my son whilst walking the coastal path. Just wanted a good bed and shower for a rest between walks. This hotel has really seen better days and needs to be closed down. Was welcomed by a receptionist stuffing her evening meal into her face. The hotel is terribly outdated and smells musty. It has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay The Hotel is obviously not your type of Hotel, but we manage to run a busy Hotel and most of the time successfully. We do remember you as you were upset you had to pay for a newspaper in the morning. Although your confirmation letter stated that departure time was 10.00... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel as a birthday trip. Looked at the reviews and they were quite mixed. On previous occasions we have booked hotels that didn't have an overall good rating, but they proved the reviews to be wrong or at least not as bad. I can tell you that trip advisor were not wrong on this occasion ! The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The blankets you complained about were changed immediately. Sadly the net curtain had been used to open the window instead of someone moving the curtain aside before opening the window, hence it got ripped. They are made to order, so the one fitted was... More

1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we have just come back from thls hotel it is not a good standard, it needs to close and be refurbished, the rooms are terrible wallpaper patched and torn the furniture looks like it come from the local tip,no fridge,no fan, we asked the manager for one i was told that there was none, if one room had one they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. The bathrooms are currently being refurbished. It is difficult to have air conditioning fitted in such an old Victorian building and the week you were here it was exceptionally hot everywhere. Most of the beds have been replaced in the last year, but if you had a problem you should... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from staying at Royal Pier went with Buckleys coach holidays and luckily weather was fantastic as there is nothing to do in the hotel if weather bad, pool is supposed to be heated it was absolutely freezing! No entertainment in hotel itself apart from bingo but only when hotel is at its fullest, adjoining jubilee bar has live... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The pool has a set temperature, so I cannot understand why you said it was freezing and if so, why it was not reported to Reception. Maybe you were not made aware that the entertainment, which is held 7 days a week, is in the Jubilee Bar which is part... More

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wasn't overly happy with the hotel as we had a really uncomfortable bed the room was a little dirty, the breakfast (full English on menu) wasn't exactly what I call a breakfast it was cold and the food looked and tasted like rubber, bathroom was pretty vile with stains on the walls and shower curtain. GOOD POINTS- reception staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is very difficult to provide a Hotel bed that suits all tastes - for some people they are too hard and for others too soft. We apologise if you felt the room was 'a little dirty' if this had been reported to Reception, we could have rectified this. Fortunately we get very few complaints... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from staying at the Royal Pier Hotel, Sandown. Overall we enjoyed being there. We travelled with Travelstyle Tours and many of us were OAP's. The hotel couldn't be any nearer the pier or the sea front. It was pleasant just to sit outside and watch the world go by, even a troop of passing Morris Men... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to see that your enjoyed your visit to the Isle of Wight. We are very lucky at the Royal Pier to be in such a splendid position opposite the Pier and the Beach. We will pass on your kind words to the staff. Unfortunately we have no... More

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here the weekend of July 11th - July 14th 2014 We are both in our mid twenties and I would go as far as saying WE WAS NOT WELCOME This hotel is purely designed for the older generation We got up to the room and it was a disgrace!! Tiny room, carpet dusty, bed very uncomfortable and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I feel I have to be honest in how I reply, as I always am. Your comment “we was not welcome” says it all really. All guests are welcome. You were checked in as normal; you straight away queried the price of £25pppn and asked for a different room, we were however full at the... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I would like to add a new review for this hotel. I have been wrong about this hotel in the pest and would like to apologise to the manager. This is a comfortable hotel with good food that you have a good selection from a menu, and even has entertainment in the evenings especially if you do not want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

stopped here for 4 nights bed breakfast and 3 course evening dinner food was plentiful well cooked and presentable choice of three available on starters, main meal and dessert just like home cooking served by a very nice waitress named alley gave good service and presented every request with a smile and as though was no trouble she worked very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It really boosts morale to read such positive comments about the food and service we provide. We are pleased that you decided to visit us again and it was lovely to see you. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sandown with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
65

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Royal Pier Hotel and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Pier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer