We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Sandown hotels

Royal Pier Hotel

Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Pier Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
61%
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Sandown
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
cynthia j Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    33
    18
    27
See reviews for
33
86
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived back home from our holiday ..Feeling very very happy with our stay. .Before we came did have a peek at the reviews from previous guests..,we were a little apprehensive about staying here...Some comments good ,some bad..But we found our stay was very nice...Staff very welcoming when we arrived...A big thankyou to all staff from the manager,,, receptionists,chef ,kitchen staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. It was a pleasure to receive such a positive review and I will pass it on to all of the staff. We agree we are not the Ritz, but we do feel that most of the time the staff here are very hardworking, friendly and try hard to please our guests.... More

Coventry
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Short stay,well placed hotel,opposite beach and pier.Hotel undergoing some refurbishment,slowly but surely....Staff very pleasant and courteous, food ok (breakfast only), most facilities on hand .Bedding was clean (sheets and blankets), should really be replaced with light washable duvets with maybe a light blanket if needed .Otherwise fine, and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
England, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival pleasant surprise as hotel is directly opposite the beach, near to shops and other amenities. Local buses get you all around the island. On checking in we requested a table for two for our meals. We were told there were none left, and we had to go onto the end of some other diners table. Waitress service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. When I started to read it I thought you were staying in a different Hotel as our dinner is served between 6.30-7.00 pm. Your comments regarding the Dining Room were not factual. You arrived on a coach, so you all came into dinner at 6.30 pm and we then had to... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the royal pier over August Bank holiday and I must say I really enjoyed it. We had a lovely sized room with a sea view and we found it nice and clean. The hotel is in a great location right opposite the beach. We took full advantage of the indoor pool which also has a hot tub. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review following your recent stay during the August Bank Holiday. I was a very busy weekend and we always enjoy the scooter guests and like to make them welcome. Sorry about the Orange Juice but sadly we do work to a tight budget, but perhaps too tight. More

United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a Bank Hol weekend break at the Royal Pier Hotel. Even now as I read the recent reviews I just cannot believe what guests have said. There is nothing wrong with this hotel, it's clean, the food was excellent and the staff helpful and charming. It's an old property set in it's ways which is no bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I really appreciate your comments and it is nice to have positive feedback. I totally agree that people nowadays spend a lot of time 'fault finding' instead of enjoying their holiday Thank you once again. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel in good position opposite pier and beach,the high street just up road. but its like faulty towers only nicer. my room was clean enough the shower room very small and floor boards creaked. the hotel could do with a bit of t l c. the staff were only young but frendly and did their best. the food basic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are continually refurbishing the Hotel and in the last few weeks we have upgraded quite a few bathrooms. Floorboards creek in most old buildings but we are pleased you still enjoyed your short stay. More

hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here for one night with my son whilst walking the coastal path. Just wanted a good bed and shower for a rest between walks. This hotel has really seen better days and needs to be closed down. Was welcomed by a receptionist stuffing her evening meal into her face. The hotel is terribly outdated and smells musty. It has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay The Hotel is obviously not your type of Hotel, but we manage to run a busy Hotel and most of the time successfully. We do remember you as you were upset you had to pay for a newspaper in the morning. Although your confirmation letter stated that departure time was 10.00... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Booked this hotel as a birthday trip. Looked at the reviews and they were quite mixed. On previous occasions we have booked hotels that didn't have an overall good rating, but they proved the reviews to be wrong or at least not as bad. I can tell you that trip advisor were not wrong on this occasion ! The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The blankets you complained about were changed immediately. Sadly the net curtain had been used to open the window instead of someone moving the curtain aside before opening the window, hence it got ripped. They are made to order, so the one fitted was... More

1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

we have just come back from thls hotel it is not a good standard, it needs to close and be refurbished, the rooms are terrible wallpaper patched and torn the furniture looks like it come from the local tip,no fridge,no fan, we asked the manager for one i was told that there was none, if one room had one they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. The bathrooms are currently being refurbished. It is difficult to have air conditioning fitted in such an old Victorian building and the week you were here it was exceptionally hot everywhere. Most of the beds have been replaced in the last year, but if you had a problem you should... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just returned from staying at Royal Pier went with Buckleys coach holidays and luckily weather was fantastic as there is nothing to do in the hotel if weather bad, pool is supposed to be heated it was absolutely freezing! No entertainment in hotel itself apart from bingo but only when hotel is at its fullest, adjoining jubilee bar has live... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The pool has a set temperature, so I cannot understand why you said it was freezing and if so, why it was not reported to Reception. Maybe you were not made aware that the entertainment, which is held 7 days a week, is in the Jubilee Bar which is part... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sandown with
any amenities