We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Pier Hotel

Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Pier Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    81
    39
    20
    29
See reviews for
38
100
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

wheelchair unfriendly, manager down right rude, lift out of the arc, rat/mouse droppings on bed, staff wonderful but couldn't do much in fear of manager, have photographs of evidence,hotel in need of a revamp, rooms unbearably hot room view flat roof with mice droppings, mice/rat droppings on bed ,stairs out of lift wheelchair unfriendly. my mother was told she would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, P A to Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt the Manager was not sympathetic to your problems. She is on annual leave so it is not possible to ask for her comments, but having spoken to some of the staff on duty that day you were apparently extremely agitated and annoyed that you were given a room on the first floor. There is... More 

Chichester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

V good view and v clean but after a hot and sweaty walk from Ryde would have liked complementary shampoo. Swimming pool was small but nice - no incentive to use special towels as would have involved a trip to reception and an additional payment. Decor Tired. No entertainment despite being told most days. We were there on an August... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, P A to Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are predominately a coaching style hotel and like all hotels run on a budget therefore we do supply soap to start you off, but most people do bring their own toiletries with them. We are in an enviable position over looking the beach and Pier with the benefit of... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

rooms smelly of b o also shower /bathroom dirty, sheets never changed all week i have stayed in this hotel on a other occasion and it was great but on this vist it was not the same it as run down the first thing we did was shop for cleaning aids there were four of us went and the holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that when you stayed with us we were not able to offer you a sea view rooms. Many of these rooms are booked well in advanced and we were completely full. It would be lovely to be able to give everyone a sea view room, but sadly this is not possible,. We do remember you complained about... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Did a bus tour to this hotel July 2015...it is a lovely huge hotel but we found it I a very tired state.our room overlooked a back yard with huge pipes, not so good.My immediate impression of our room was of one in an old folks home..very basic but clean,the shower how ever was so small you couldn't move your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you would not visit us again as the coach company you travelled with visit us many times during the year. We have already refurbished a large number of the bathrooms, but sadly not the room you were in. Our refurbishments plans will continue later... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

The staff at the royal pier were polite and friendly, rooms cleaned daily if required. Overall is one of the best Sandown Hotels. We stayed there for seven nights, choice of menu was good and the food was too. We were a family on a Nova coach tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your kind comments and glad that you had a enjoyed your stay. Nova do come to us on a regular basis, so hopefully we will see you again. Once again many thanks. More 

Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

we had a lovely room with a large balcony overlooking the beach and pier with a perfectly adequate en suite and plenty of tea/ coffee etc and the meals were fine, always on time and served by friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you appreciated the views you have from our balcony rooms. Our staff are friendly and enjoy making our guests welcome. We hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, June O'Reilly More 

west midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

well about this hotel i cant say it aint all that to bad good position not far from beach and sandown pier went with travelstylecoach tours for 7 day holiday was in june this year 2015 i never been to this hotel before and have been to nearly all the hotels in sandown this i think was a 3 star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You are correct we are in a great position and the staff here work very hard to ensure they give a good service! I am sorry that the food was not to your particular taste, we very often have excellent comments about the quality of our food. As... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Coach Trip stay on a budget. Good Value, Choice of menu. Clean rooms, friendly staff and good entertainment. Some rooms larger than others but we used 20 of them. It represented good value for money. Some rooms have Wi-Fi. It would be good to have fruit juice and cereal at breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for your lovely comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased you found the staff friendly as we take great pride in our hospitality. We welcome your comments regarding breakfast and will look at this for the future. We hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the... More 

WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is tired 😫...woken at 12.30am ..leak above..moved to room 66...no offer of compensation or even a meal! Don't ask for orange juice at breakfast...you can only choose one item from four! Never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed following your recent stay. Your booking was made via Booking.com and I was there to check you in. It was very unfortunate about the leak from the room above and we are very sorry about that. We moved you to a sea view room at no extra cost as compensation for your... More 

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Went to this hotel with a coach party from Littlehampton. I wasn't sure what to expect but needn't have worried, lovely hotel, a bit dated but very clean and more importantly very happy and friendly staff 😀 The food was lovely and the waiting staff were so helpful. The entertainment was good for the whole weekend and the bar staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review, it is important to us to receive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back again. The staff enjoy their work, and as you mentioned in your review they are happy, friendly and try hard to ensure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#8 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#15 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay