We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Sandown hotels

Royal Pier Hotel

Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Hotel amenities
Royal Pier Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
steffical Hampshire
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    69
    35
    18
    27
See reviews for
33
91
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is a little dated but you get what you pay for. The beds were spotless and the rooms clean. The food was good and the staff really friendly and helpful, especially Scott. The hotel also boast an indoor pool and we enjoyed evening entertainment on both nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We feel we offer good value for money and we have over the last few months refurbishment 15 of our bathrooms and this will continue over the coming months. All our staff work hard for the Hotel and I am pleased you have mentioned this and I will pass on... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I certainly would not recommend this hotel to Royalty. Arrived for a weekend on 12th December 2014 on a coach trip organised by the Holiday Shop. The organiser came on the coach when we arrived at the hotel and the information sounded very helpful. Our room number 34 was very basic and dark but warm. Plenty of milk was left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. It is difficult to please everyone where food and wine is concerned. It is very rare that we have complaints about our breakfast and evening meals and we are sorry it was not to your liking. With regards to your comment about the wine, our suppliers assured us that we could... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to Sandown many times and always looked at the Royal Pier on our strolls round and always said it look lovely. Well we were right, the welcome from the staff and the helpfulness of the staff was absolutely spot on. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day break and would recommend this hotel and staff to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we might see you again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once again thank you for a lovely weekend, staff very helpful and pleasant Nothing was to much trouble for any one the room was very clean and tidy with plenty of tea bags milk and sugar maybe freeview TV would be nice not just the 4 channels but you are there to enjoy the island not watch The hotel could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Roy for taking the time to write your review. All our staff work hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay here at the Royal Pier. As you mentioned, we are in a great location opposite the Pier and seafront as well as being close to public transport routes to other parts of the Island. We will pass... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This not a hotel I would recommend for a themed holiday i.e Tinsel @ Turkey. There is no "seasonal spirit" the restaurant staff are running around like the proverbial they do not have time to interact with guests. I arrived on Monday 24th November dinner was acceptable, Tuesday morning items of the full English breakfast were stone cold on informing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All our staff work very hard to make the Tinsel and Turkey breaks enjoyable. The Hotel is elaborately decorated and there are a number of Christmas trees in the public areas. We celebrate ‘Christmas day’ with festive music and a traditional Christmas dinner.... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although have not stayed here this year (2014) I have stayed here twice before in 2012 and 2013 and I have found this hotel has clean rooms a good choice of food (you are asked what you would like from a menu for your evening meal) and has evening entertainment throughout the week, how sad it is to see a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to inform you that since your last visit we have refurbished a large number of our bathrooms, having listened to our guests requests for more rooms with showers. We feel we offer good value for money with varied food choices, entertainment every evening and an indoor pool... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

On arrival the hotel looked run down and dirty from outside. Our room had dirty Towels with Brown stains on which I took back and they gave me semi clean ones. No mattress covers, pillows had two in that were old falling apart and dirty . The Furniture was tired and dated. The wall paper was peeling, the ceiling was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you the review following your stay at the end of October. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and apologise once again for the towels. I remember replacing them myself for you and they had come direct from the Laundry. We are refurbishing the Hotel at the moment, but the ceiling was not coming down. There was... More 

oldham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

we only went for the weekend but for location right on the front could not have been better, the food was excellent 3 choices of starter mains and sweet although some moron complained the soup was to thick some people are never happy, all the staff were really good ,also it is a very clean , comfortable, and well run... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit. We are so pleased to hear your enjoyed it and yes, I agree, some people complain about anything. I will pass your comments on the the staff and I appreciate your comment 'a well run Hotel'. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

After visiting in May we decided to retry the royal pier this half term As we were pleased with everything last time round. As usual everything was good Food, service, entertainment. Our waitress Louise was fantastic and made my grandson her special nuggets!! The only downside was the lack of promised redecoration that was promised previously Will definately return Keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit. We are pleased you enjoyed your break with us. The redecoration has started as we have refitted 10 new bathrooms since August & we are continuing with them. We have also carried on with the outside work which was essential. Once again thank you for your review, and we hope to... More 

somerset
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I had book a trip to this hotel, even after reading some of the reviews on here, I have unfortunately had to cancel due to a family bereavement. I called the hotel to inform them that I would be unable to stay. The "woman" that I had the misfortune to speak to was the most disgustingly rude thing I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

We have requested that Trip Advisor remove this review as we feel it is very unfair for someone to review a Hotel that have not even visited. The person that has wrote this review had booked a room with us via Booking.com. It clearly states in the Terms and Conditions that the cost of the first nights’ accommodation is taken... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay