We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Douglas hotels

The Rutland Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-23 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
The Rutland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
71%
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Eric W Rugby, United Kingdom
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    57
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
19
72
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were an elderly couple on a coach tour with a favourite company. The Hotel Building was in good order, but it had been altered so that it had many narrow corridors and odd steps. The single lift would only take three people for perhaps sixty rooms spread over four floors. The alternative was to penetrate the labyrinthine passages. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A hotel situated in a good position on the prom giving a good view out to sea and of the bay.The room was spacious and comfortable but a better mattress would be a benefit.The meals were good and the staff excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is ok. It is nicely situated on the promenade with a lovely view of the bay but is quite a long (nice) walk from the town centre- about 25mins. The room was a decent size and had a good shower but the bed was lumpy and despite opening the windows as far as they would go we couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from a stay whilst visiting the Manx Classic GP, we were lucky and had a front facing room, with plenty of windows to open so we didn't suffer from the hot rooms some other people complain about. The staff were very friendly as were all of the local people we met, and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned from the Isle of Man Classic GP event, where we stayed for three nights at the Rutland. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. However, we paid extra for an "Executive" room with a sea view. There was nothing "executive" about this room , as together... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your visit to The Rutland. While we're happy to hear that you found the staff helpful, we are sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay that you felt could be improved. Should you return to the Isle of Man we hope we to welcome you again. Many thanks and... More

, Isle Of Man
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Rutland Hotel. We stayed 1 night for our Anniversary. When we arrived in our room there was roses, bubbly,a balloon, banner and a lovely card from the staff and management waiting for us ! What a lovely kind gesture.It made our stay even more special. The room was fantastic and spotless. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day coach trip to the Isle of Man. We stayed at the Rutland Hotel, we were very pleasantly surprised. Our hotel room overlooked the sea, was very roomy and spotless. It had obviously been recently decorated and the bathroom was superb, being large and well equipped. The food was very good, especially the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Rutland as part of a coach holiday. The hotel was welcoming and the staff efficient and friendly. A lot of money has obviously been spent on upgrading the Victorian building. We did enjoy our holiday but if we stayed here again we would certainly select a front room! Even if we had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your visit to The Rutland and your kind words about our staff. We are though sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay that you felt could be improved. We will investigate the issues you have raised and of course ensure we correct any matters as necessary, including the external... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel - room was spotless and comfortable (albeit very hot weather so a bit airless despite fan) - had a beautiful meal delivered to my room by two friendly and courteous staff (steak was lovely and tender and very cheap) - breakfast lovely, lots of choice and all good quality -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at The Rutland as part of an Isle of Man package holiday. Whilst the hotel was chosen for us, the TripAdvisor reports were encouraging. The Rutland is situated halfway around the Douglas Promenades, equi distant from the town centre and the Manx Electric Railway terminus. The promenades are 2 miles long apparently, so be prepared for a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 19-23 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Douglas with
any amenities