We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chesterhouse Hotel

3.0 of 5 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Chesterhouse Hotel
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    15
    22
    20
See reviews for
13
59
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel as part of a Newmarket holidays Tour of the Isle of Mann.We were well impressed with the way the hotel was run. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff seemed to go out of their way to please us, nothing too much trouble for them. Our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a wonderful coach trip break at this hotel. Our room was lovely, food was great & the staff (especially Mark) were first class. Nothing was to much trouble for them. We had 2 nights of entertainment. A female singer who got everyone singing & dancing. The second night of entertainment was John Lee who was great!! Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hook, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Chesterhouse is in a wonderful position overlooking the promenade, a few minutes walk from the high street, close to the ferry terminal and bus services for the island. All the staff are wonderful and will go the extra mile for you. We were in a very basic room,(301) which I am sure if we had wanted to be upgraded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of an overflow from a coach group. Wonderful room on the seafront with marvellous views all along the promenade. Room was large, comfortable, clean and we were lucky enough to have a shower instead of a bath/shower. All the staff we met were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Open meal times... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The Chesterhouse is in a great location on the promenade within 2 mins walk of Douglas City centre. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The room I stayed in had no views except for a wall (room108). The noise (very loud) from the extracter fan starts from about 6am to about 11pm so was unable to have the windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great stay. Our room was at the back ot the hotel (room 311) and it was a bit noisy late at night as it sits above a lane used by late revellers but that`s not the fault of the hotel. The staff were all very attentive and welcoming and the breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We arrived at this hotel with a coach party and were made very welcome. First of all the food was excellent, two nights entertainment (in our five days there) the staff were very friendly and nothing too much trouble for them. BUT the bedroom was awful. I think it must have been a single room but they had put twin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for your visit and review of the Chesterhouse, notably your kind words regarding our staff and restaurant. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the bedroom and certainly will take all your comments on board to investigate the issues you have raised. Should you return to Douglas, we would like the opportunity to host... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I recently stayed here for five days and quite honestly couldn't find fault with anything, although on my own I had a double bed,plenty of space to walk either side and a decent sized bathroom, all very clean with a daily service to replace used towels etc; the choice of food was very good,breakfast was a good selection...nobody could say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to write this review and for staying with us at The Chesterhouse Hotel. In particular, we're delighted to hear your kind words about our staff and the food you had at all your meals with us. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, More

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days in a large room on the first described as 'executive' that overlooked the promanade and bay. Buffet breakfast was good, staff were helpful and friendly but we had trouble sleeping due to the location of the room. Guests moving around, slamming doors, talking loudly and lugging luggage into the lift at 5AM in the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I was very disappointed with this hotel as I booked the "executive room". The view from my room was amazing. But the noise from the main road was very loud. I could comfortably hear people outside after a few drinks. The windows are in need of an outside clean. I was on the 2nd floor and my door opened up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay