We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Douglas hotels

Sefton Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sefton Hotel to your Saves list
Sefton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
turnipgreen herts
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    89
    56
    28
    11
See reviews for
33
104
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
herts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night in business. The hotel was arranged for me and not selected by me but it was a nice surprise. There was free wifi and the rooms were fairly basic but actually very nice. The nice surprise was a balcony overlooking an atrium area filed with trees. The bed was nice and comfortable although if you have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are pleased you found your stay good value for money and your room and bed comfortable. We have noted your comment with regard to the service at the function and will look into this on your behalf. Thank you. More

Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old world style hotel with good food and it is in a wonderful location. Very nice staff and a wonderful great buffet breakfast. It is a good place if you are going to be doing business at nearby restaurants and also visiting some famous tourist sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you for your comments regarding our staff and breakfast. I notice that you have travelled from California .. a belated "welcome" to the Isle of Man and we trust you enjoyed your holiday. More

Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really did not like this Hotel from the moment I checked in. No welcome at reception, gruff manner (like you are doing me a big favour to let me in) and a room card which did not work. Talking of my room, i couldn't find it. The lifts were being refurbished and the signage to the first floor atrium... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel and we are sorry that we did not fully meet your expections. We have noted your comments and of course will review and address these where possible. We note your comments regarding Sir Norman's Bar however we do offer fine dining in our... More

Jersey, CI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a few years since I was last in the Isle of Man, but I have always gone to the Sefton where possible - it's conveniently located, and always has a decent standard. I wasn't disappointed in that - but I was disappointed to find that they have closed their swimming pool (and removed all reference to it or explanation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you for your comments. With regard to our swimming pool, I am delighted to advise that this is due to re-open at Easter time and we apologise that it was unavailable during your stay. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and you enjoyed our... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Sefton is a pleasant seafront hotel that is desperately in need of an upgrade. Staff are friendly and the first floor breakfast room has lovely sea views if you can get one of the window tables. The restaurant is OK but doesn't quite pull off the French sophistication it's seeking. The 'Sir Norman's' bar is often fairly full with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay at The Sefton. We are pleased you found our staff friendly and we have noted your comments - thank you. More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

rooms very nice and comfortable with balcony within the atrium we had 473 which looked down on greenery and fish ponds, staff very nice would stay again.if you hire a car the hotel has a small underground carpark.also the bar of the hotel is called THE SIR NORMAN named after norman wisdom, great bar to spend an hour or two.There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are pleased you found your Atrium room comfortable ....as you say, it's nice to be able to sit on the balcony without getting wet on rainy days (of which we have had far too many of late!). We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Sefton is a very nice hotel. Comfortable, good service and right on the Douglas seafront (not that I was there to enjoy that). My room (and many others) overlooked (from a decent-sized balcony) a fascinating atrium style courtyard with flowing water features and lots of greenery. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I slept well. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review. We are pleased you found your room comfortable and you received good service during your stay. The Atrium was added to the hotel back in 1999 and as you say has some interesting features - we think it is rather unique. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More

Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent 5 days there in August 2011 and the location great and the view over the sea could not be more central across Douglas Bay. Service on arrival was bit vague I seem to recall we had a trainee who did not know what to do but they should have had basic training especially in August for a premier... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lancashire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel for the weekend for the sole purpose of watching TheUpHighs a pop opera duo who was performing at the hotel for their 2nd year running , the staff at this hotel are amazing can't do enough for you , the rooms are amazing and come with an ensuite, tv, coffee and tea making facilities, ironing board and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following you stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the UpHighs pop opera duo and equally pleased to hear your comments regarding our staff, hotel facilities and food. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More

wigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Oct.2013.(2nd visit) Whilst I enjoyed my stay and would reccommend this hotel, I was disappointed to find that there was NO pool (as advertised). Apparently it had been closed for a "while" but current stock of brochures (stating there was a pool needed to be used! ('havnt stayed in a sea view room but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. I am sorry that you were given a brochure advertising the pool - as you quite rightly state, this has been closed for some time. We have removed all reference to the swimming pool from our websites and all brochures "should" have been amended accordingly- please accept my apologies... More

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 4-star hotel in Douglas, close to the capital’s main shopping and business districts, The Sefton combines finely restored Victorian elegance, a modern extension centred round a beautiful indoor water-garden, and the new 5-star quality Sefton Suites. If you want luxury, convenience and tranquillity, The Sefton is the obvious choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sefton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.