We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sefton Hotel

Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sefton Hotel
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    121
    75
    35
    15
See reviews for
47
143
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (368)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Aintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just visited this Hotel for a couple of short breaks during May . We took a couple of friends and arranged for an Atrium room and upgraded Atrium . Sadly the rooms allocated ( 195 + 196 ) did not provide much of a view ( considering the upgraded price ) indeed the major view was of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed and balanced review. Overall it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us, despite a few niggles which are noted and for which we apologise. We are delighted to hear that you will be returning. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location on the sea front at Douglas. I had a room with a balcony looking into the atrium which was a lovely addition to the room. Staff were very welcoming in both the hotel and restaurant. The bar food is simple but good and being adjacent to the hotel helped. Very relaxing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your 5 star rating. It is always good to hear that our guests are made to feel welcome and leave us feeling relaxed. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future. More 

Ashton in Makerfield, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely Bay front situation of an old building, architecturally odd, like 3 old buildings not quite gelling together. Breakfast was good but marred by our disappointment of standard of room. Mould in the corner, cracked cornices, flaking paint, view to broken vent from kitchen. The most disappointing fact was that they tried to charge for breakfast when my ferry left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review although we are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies that we did not respond to your email back in June last year. Please rest assured that all reviews are taken seriously and we make every attempt to address the issues... More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay to celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary. The room booked for my mother wasn't accessible for her, they changed her room without question or fuss to a far superior room. This made her holiday even more special . The hotel staff were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much. We were lucky to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review from which we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, especially given that you were celebrating your parents Golden Wedding Anniversary. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We have only recently entered into partnership with Harbour Lights at the Sefton and it is pleasing to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Planned to stay 2 nights, but flight cancelled so stayed a third. Excellent staff and service in an elegant Victorian hotel on the seafront with amazing views. The lifts are a bit erratic but the hotel is well geared up for people with mobility restrictions and the menus offered in all eating places varied and well cooked/presented. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to read your review this morning and we thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break on the Isle of Man, albeit slightly longer than you had originally planned! Thank you again for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our party stayed for three nights in late April 2015, 4 couples staying in Atrium rooms and 5 couples in sea-view rooms on a bed and breakfast basis. Also on the first evening we had a private dinner in the Cowell Suite. Everyone liked their rooms; everyone enjoyed the breakfasts in the Harris restaurant; everyone really enjoyed the private dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for your 5 star rating. We are really pleased to hear that your stay was a success and that all couples enjoyed their rooms, breakfasts and the private dinner held on the first night of your stay. Your praise and thanks to our staff is appreciated and your "thank you" to Samantha... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We stayed here on our first visit to the Isle of Man. The view from the room took in the whole bay and in the beautiful weather was wonderful. It is an easy location to head off in any direction. The hotel is quite dated but does have a lived in charm but the room was adequate, with a clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. As you say the view from the front of the hotel of Douglas bay is lovely - helped by the beautiful weather we have been experiencing lately. We do hope you enjoyed your first visit to the Isle of Man and we hope you will visit us again in the... More 

Liverpool
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We are staying in this hotel now it's our first visit to Isle of Man ,we hired a car from airport and spent the day driving around the island .in my opinion Douglas is the best place to stay and this hotel is in best place to enjoy Douglas.its in a central location on seafront and really close to main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for your 5 star rating. Your comments regarding our staff are most appreciated and we will of course pass these on. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and our restaurant. As you say, The Sefton is in a central location and has excellent sea views. We hope you enjoyed your first trip... More 

Chester UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Parts of hotel a bit dated, but get a room in new part at the back overlooking internal garden. Good breakfast, room comfortable, free parking ,good service from staff, food in restaurant of fgood qualityy albeit slow service. Overall good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review from which we are pleased to hear that your room was comfortable, our food was of good quality and you received good service from our staff. Thank you for chosing to stay at The Sefton and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. More 

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I had the pleasure of on of the suites at the weekend (normally £250 per night , but I got a winter deal for £149 including dinner in the bar and breakfast !). The suite itself was roomy, clean, relaxing, and with great views over Douglas bay. The bed was uber comfortable, the suite well appointed and welcoming. Dinner in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and your 5 star rating. To hear that your stay was "faultless" is praise indeed and your comments are really appreciated, thank you. We note that you will definitely be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay