We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sefton Hotel

Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sefton Hotel
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    120
    74
    34
    15
See reviews for
47
138
18
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (361)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Liverpool
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are staying in this hotel now it's our first visit to Isle of Man ,we hired a car from airport and spent the day driving around the island .in my opinion Douglas is the best place to stay and this hotel is in best place to enjoy Douglas.its in a central location on seafront and really close to main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for your 5 star rating. Your comments regarding our staff are most appreciated and we will of course pass these on. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and our restaurant. As you say, The Sefton is in a central location and has excellent sea views. We hope you enjoyed your first trip... More 

Chester UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Parts of hotel a bit dated, but get a room in new part at the back overlooking internal garden. Good breakfast, room comfortable, free parking ,good service from staff, food in restaurant of fgood qualityy albeit slow service. Overall good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review from which we are pleased to hear that your room was comfortable, our food was of good quality and you received good service from our staff. Thank you for chosing to stay at The Sefton and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. More 

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the pleasure of on of the suites at the weekend (normally £250 per night , but I got a winter deal for £149 including dinner in the bar and breakfast !). The suite itself was roomy, clean, relaxing, and with great views over Douglas bay. The bed was uber comfortable, the suite well appointed and welcoming. Dinner in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and your 5 star rating. To hear that your stay was "faultless" is praise indeed and your comments are really appreciated, thank you. We note that you will definitely be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

clean tidy rooms and value for money great little pool and spa with a great trainer basic but good. restaurant and breakfast is value for money over all a very good standard the staff are very friendly and are willing to help out and a big plus is it has its own under ground car park if you have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your 5 star rating. We are of course delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, finding your rooms clean and tidy, our staff friendly and overall your stay good value for money. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will stay with us again... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was visiting Isle of Man to judge their dog show and travelling alone, the society had booked me into a B&B which I didn't like as the room was "dark" so I left and bravely wheeled my suitcase along the promenade and liked the façade of the Sefton, so in I went! At this short notice I had choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting such an informative review. It sounds like you enjoyed a very busy few days here on the Island and we are pleased we were able to accommodate you at such short notice. The Sefton first opened its doors in 1892, with various sections added over the years and as a result has a few quirky features,... More 

Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spend a very sunny weekend on an extremely good value off season DBB deal staying in an atrium room. Really comfortable beds, large,quiet room so we slept very well. It was lovely to sit on the balcony before dinner and enjoy the calm atmosphere of the atrium. The shower in the bathroom had a nasty shower curtain and very stingy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your balanced feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and by the sound of it you even brought some lovely weather with you! Your comment regarding the provision of shower gel and shampoo has been noted - we will pass your comments on... More 

Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

100 Welsh rock and rollers just spent a weekend at the Sefton hotel. They are undergoing vast refurbishment so we are going to check with them next year to see how it is. The staff were very friendly but some of the rooms are very poorly decorated. The food was nothing more than average and someone commented that it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are sorry to hear your comments regarding our food, we will of course pass these on to our Chef, however in the meantime please accept our apologies. On the plus side we are pleased you found our staff friendly. We are indeed in the process of refurbishing a few... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good Hotel and facilities. Decor a little dated or worn (carpets) in places but not enough to spoil your stay. Good Breakfast to start your day. Unfortunately despite a very comfortable bed I got very little sleep due to the noise of what I think was a generator or air con unit outside my bedroom window. My colleague was staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for chosing to stay at the Sefton and for taking the time to submit a review. Overall we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us however please accept our apologies for the noise you encountered from the service unit outside your window. We do not normally receive feedback of this nature and we will therefore ask our... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

My friends and I normally go here on a Sunday every other week. Staff very friendly and polite . Can't do enough for you. Food is normally exquisite however last Sunday 1st March was not up to usual standard . Disappointed as we normally tell every body about sunday lunch. Hope the lady chef is back next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review although we are disappointed to hear your comments regarding our Sunday Carvery. We have of course passed your feedback on to our Chef. We welcome all feedback from our guests, whether good or bad. If there were any particular concerns which you would like me to look into, perhaps you... More 

UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stayed for one night, bed, breakfast and evening meal. My husband has a mobility problem, he is not in a wheelchair but has a walker so we stayed in an accessible room. The room overlooked the Atrium and was very pleasant. Bed was large and comfy with lots of space around it. Great stay with good food in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your positive feedback. We are of course delighted to hear that you would "definitely stay again" and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question