We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Douglas hotels

Sefton Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sefton Hotel to your Saves list
Sefton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
67%
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Daren T Barrhead, Alberta, Canada
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    110
    69
    32
    13
See reviews for
42
124
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barrhead, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent three nights at the Sefton. The rooms overlooking the atrium are lovely and should be requested so not to be placed in the older section of the hotel . There was a separate siting area looking out onto the Atrium. The breakfast was good value for the overall price. This was provided in a buffet style with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very busy during TT weeks but food choice limited then to a ' high through put' model. When less busy there is very little atmosphere, with canteen style tables and bright lights. Shane - could ve do much better. Food drink and staff were all ok but there was nothing special outside TT

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review. As you quite rightly state, TT is a very busy period for us and we do have to cater for large numbers. I am assuming from your review that you are referring to Sir Normans, which serves a bar food style menu, as opposed to the Gallery which is our fine dining traditional restaurant.... More

Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here with work arriving at 11.36pm from the boat. No reception team at night only a mann smoking on the front. He gave me the key without any instructions where to go. They have 4 lifts all going to different parts of the hotel (you have to choose your colour as cannot walk around) The hotel felt like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What can I say. Sorry just does not seem long enough. It appears that your visit started badly and never really got back onto the level. I can assure you that what you experienced is not a true likeness of The Sefton as can be seen from our other reviews. I shall ensure that my... More

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were told the Sefton was Douglas' best!? It's not up to date, but perhaps that's why folk go? Right on the Prom. We had sea view rooms. Really excellent views. Lift not working for all visit. Sir Normans bar snack food dreadful, I'm afraid. Stodgy, greasy. On the other hand breakfast was damn good. Wanted 1 kipper tho, kept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that the food offering in Sir Normans bar lounge was not to your taste. Sir Normans serves a relaxed bar food style menu as opposed to the Gallery which is our fine dining traditional restaurant. I am pleased that you found the team... More

Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good hotel, clean, with friendly helpful staff. Lacked one or two 4 star things, like bath robes. Restaurant good but did not changed menu during our 6 night stay which meant we ate out more than we intended. Loved the big airy atrium room. Very good breakfasts in a room overlooking the bay. Shower was a bit small and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SeftonHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review following your break here at The Sefton Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. The team strive to deliver a friendly, relaxed,but professional service and will be happy that you experienced this. Thanks again. Robert Duncan More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a couple of nights for work & really enjoyed it. The hotel is slightly dated but in a classic & endearing way. My room was clean & spacious & had a unique balcony overlooking the garden atrium in the centre of the hotel. The breakfast was tasty & with a fantastic view facing the stunning coastline.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your lovely comments. We are of course delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room clean and spacious. As you say, the breakfast room comes complete with a stunning view of the coastline - it makes for a good start to the day! We look... More

Chester UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite some poor reviews I found this hotel to be of a good standard. The New Attrium Rooms are excellent, but some in the older front part are a little dated. The lift at the front of hotel wasn't working for our 3 day stay so an elderly parent had a long walk to the older front part bedroom. Food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are pleased overall you found our hotel to be of a good standard, with good quality food and plenty of choice. We apologise that the lift was out of action during your stay ...repairs are currently underway and we hope this will be back in action shortly. Thank... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying for 15 nights (over Manx GP) we booked a luxury, seaview double room as both my wife and I like watching the sea ! Unfortunately the windows were so filthy that we couldn't see anything. When I had a moan I was tol;d that the cleaners would be around in a few days. They did come but only cleaned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are sorry to hear your feedback regarding the windows ....as you can imagine the outside windows do take the brunt of the sea air and we note these were cleaned during your stay however there is no excuse for dirty "inside" windows and we will review our procedures in... More

Stamford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After 7 years being a loyal customer we have now called time on the Sefton. Reception on arrival was underwhelming and unfriendly, sky tv has been taken away, no turn down, haven't learnt the art of cooking an egg without it tasting of vinegar, decor needs updating to name but a few of the issues and the saddest of all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, General Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am obviously extremely disappointed to read your comments and in particular your remarks relating to myself. I believe that Rom, my Senior Operations Manager, did in fact discuss some issues with you as I personally was not in the Hotel at the time. I can assure you that our guest satisfaction is always of... More

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night in this hotel. We were upgraded to an Atrium room which was nice, but for little glitches that needn't have been there. Maintenance should have sorted this out. It's these little problems that can downgrade a room, which should be classified as luxury, but unfortunately due to the small issues in the room, wasn't! That's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you experienced a few little "glitches" in your room and we hope that you mentioned these to our staff during your stay - such feedback is vital to us and helps us to iron out any possible issues for our guests. The Atirum... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sefton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Douglas with
any amenities