We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Douglas B&Bs / inns

Arrandale House & Apartments

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Arrandale House & Apartments to your Saves list
Arrandale House & Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
85%
Ranked #13 of 33 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    61
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
52
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
77 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Arrandale Apartments, just a few doors up Hutchinson Square from Arrandale House, for five nights. Our ground floor apartment offered value-for-money, pleasant self-catering accommodation. Bathroom and cooking facilities were good. There was plenty of space in the combined living room/kitchen. We found the location convenient, although the short but relatively steep uphill stretch from the seafront... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carfin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Don't know where to start but here goes, left at reception for 20mins phoning a number linked to other apartments block presumably that just rang out, Then eventually got into room and the place was filthy, bed unmade, wet towels on the floor, rubbish everywhere and I won't even begin to do scribe the toilet. This BTW was 1600hrs not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

We were disconcerted to read this review and are currently trying to trace the guest so we can investigate the circumstances relating to the comments made. If this reviewer wishes to contact us direct, we would be delighted to hear from him/her. More

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Arrandale hotel for 3 nights. Staff are considerate and friendly at all times; not only during my stay but after I left the hotel. I left my camera at the hotel room. Then, staff send email and gave me a phone call to let me know it at once. Unfortunately, when I noticed the email, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay. The room was clean and a nice size. The breakfast choice was good. The location is a little away from the seafront, but it is only a few minutes walk down the hill to get there. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and happy to help book a taxi or provide details on how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
workington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in the Arrandale for a week while we were holidaying in the IoM. We chose it mainly because of the reviews and they weren't wrong. Good points: very clean, breakfasts were excellent with good quality food well cooked, staff very friendly and helpful, close enough to sea front to walk (but all uphill coming back), evening meal available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose this place due to its reviews and were not disappointed, the room was a reasonable size and the power shower was fantastic. The breakfast choice was very good and nothing was to much for the serving staff. It is up a hill so a vehicle would be ideal for you to get here but it is not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stockport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We travelled to the island for my husbands birthday, he has always wanted to visit, I was none to keen but I really had a surprise. The Island is lovely lots to do and see. The people are so friendly. The staff and the owners were lovely. We had a meal in the hotel the first night and then sat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. It is always good to receive feedback from our guests. It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the not too distant future. Feel free to contact us direct for the best possible rates. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The room was clean with a terrific view. The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. The only thing that would make it better is a lift. Those stairs are very steep - but we managed and it was worth it for the view from the top floor window. Would certainly go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you with us and I enjoyed our chat. I hope you have been able to sort out your overcharged bags with the airline. Just to keep in mind for next time; we are able to help you with your travel arrangements (sea or air) when you book direct with... More

Elgin, Morayshire
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel itself is okay and in fairly good order, just details to work on. Our room had no working shaving light in the bathroom, the bathroom door was reluctant to close properly and there were exposed electrical terminals (well out of reach) on the ceiling light rose. The hired staff were excellent, very welcoming and helpful, but the owners seem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and overall positive review. With regard to the items mentioned: indeed the ceiling rose had dropped which was reported by the staff and corrected. Well spotted the little note on the fridge which was left from the winter when the bar is closed and the fridge is on a timer. To avoid further confusion I... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We really like this property and stayed in the holiday flats. We had a one bedroom ground floor flat, and despite having two adults and two teenagers for 12 nights, were quite comfortable with the pull out couch and the extra bed in the lounge area and the two twin beds in the bedroom. Lovely and clean and we really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review of your stay with us. We were glad to have been able to assist you at such short notice after your dreadful experience. I hope you had a good trip back to the US? It was a pleasure having you with us and hopefully see you again sometime in the future. More

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrandale House & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.