We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Ventnor B&Bs / inns

Windsor Carlton

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Alexandra Gardens, Ventnor PO38 1EE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Windsor Carlton to your Saves list
Windsor Carlton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
93%
Ranked #11 of 27 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014
Medusa1976 Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (47)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Chose The Windsor Carlton to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary, we love Ventnor and after reading positive reviews it did not disappoint. Stayed in room 5 "Caroline" on first floor, had beautiful four poster bed with quality bedding. Gorgeous views of the sea and cliffs. The room has nice touches including binoculars, books, dvd player and a tassimo machine. Beautifully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in room Eleanor, which faces the down, for 3 nights. The room was large and spotlessly clean, can't fault it. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts were fantastic. We tried a few different things off the menu and they were all really superb, the Eggs Benedict and the French toast with forest fruits were particularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Windsor Carlton. Marvellous views from the bedroom. Stylish decorated property throughout. Thorougly recommend Freshly cooked memorable breakfast and finished off with the owners fabulous home made marmalade !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Windsor Carleton is a lovely, ideally placed Victorian guest house in Ventnor. Our bedroom was room 2 (Beatrice) and from there we had wonderful sea-views right across the bay. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated and the only slight downside was the bathroom was quite small. The owners were extremely friendly and the freshly made breakfasts each... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'll start with the good points: + The bedroom (01 - Eleanor) was very big, clean and had excellent views of the sea + Breakfast was great in terms of both service and quality of food + The staff were amazingly friendly The bad points (in my opinion) were mostly based on the room we stayed in, rather than the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased that overall you felt the Windsor Carlton was a great place to stay. We were disappointed that you were unhappy with your room, however. (So that others are aware, room Eleanor faces St. Bonaface Down and is not a sea facing room). Your stay was in room Sylvia which has... More

Gosport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were in Ventnor for a friend's 60th birthday and spent two nights at the Windsor Carlton Hotel, in the 'pink' room (sorry, the room had a name but I cannot remember it!) with the Queen Anne bed, with a view of St Boniface Down from our window. The Hotel is right at the edge of the town and the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a colourful and glowing review of your stay at the Windsor Carlton. (We think you would make a very successful career in review writing, if you haven’t already!) You were with a large group of people who had travelled over for a party, and it was a bit daunting to see... More

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My partner and I spent two very relaxing days at the Windsor Carlton in August 2013. The room was spacious and clean with good sea views. I liked the coffee machine and the fact that binoculars were provided - always good for a nose at what's going on down on the sea front. I would personally have preferred a bigger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review. We take your point about the tv. The 19 inch television is the size recommended, but bigger can always be better ;-)) Hope to see you again some day - Thank you More

suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having just returned from Ventnor in the Isle of Wight, I thought I would review where we stayed. It was The Windsor Carlton B&B and what a lovely place it was. We had the Elenor room on the top floor which was tastefully decorated an spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful, with more toast added if required. Wendy... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this review

We can see Wendy asking for a pay rise if the compliments continue ;-)) Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you to the Windsor Carlton again one day. More

Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Windsor Carlton is a fine Victorian house - well appointed and spotlessly clean - in a central Ventnor location. We stayed in 'Sylvia', a very pretty French-styled room on the top floor with garden and sea views. The ensuite shower was tiny but we were advised of this in advance and the room was priced accordingly. If the guest... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We take your point about back ground music at breakfast - the radio is normally playing, and pleased you felt at home with us. We certainly enjoyed having you. We do hope to see you again. Thank you More

Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose the Windsor Carlton as the base for our four-day tandem cycle trip to the IOW and would thoroughly recommend this lovely B&B to others. Well done to the owners on running and maintaining such a characterful period property! The top-floor room, located at the rear of the property was spacious, tastefully decorated and well appointed, with an en-suite... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ventnorman, Owner at Windsor Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in room Eleanor, our top Downs facing room. Hats off to you for tandem cycling around the Isle of Wight. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Windsor Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Windsor Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Carlton

Address: 5 Alexandra Gardens, Ventnor PO38 1EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Carlton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Carlton Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer