We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Shanklin hotels

Medehamstede Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Medehamstede Hotel to your Saves list
Medehamstede Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
63%
Ranked #44 of 55 hotels in Shanklin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Mica767 Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (181)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (52)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    72
    35
    18
    16
See reviews for
24
76
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After a short stay here we can say the staff made it better than it otherwise may have been. Parts of the outside of the hotel are in need of repair but the gardens were well looked after and lovely sun trap in the afternoon. The inside was a similar affair but the general feel was homely and comfortable. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having booked a break on the Isle of Wight in what seemed a pleasant hotel, I was shocked at the entertainment. It was very bad indeed. The singer Jules was less than average, her gentleman companion was vulgar and the act was the worst I have ever seen. When I went outside to have a smoke the singer also ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't know there is a scooter convention in Isle of Wight every year on August Bank Holiday hence the reason we stayed here as most other Hotels were booked. Tried to give it a chance but too much was wrong. Seriously outdated and in need if some TLC. Plumbing was horrendous with very loud noises even with just turning the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here after seeing an advert in national newspaper.The exterior is nothing like the pictures.Very run down & needing some decorating.Parking is a joke,its just a small piece of waste land for about 10 cars.The decor inside is very old & mis-matched.Lots of dust & even some cobwebs along carpet edges.In our room the tv cable was hanging off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotels exterior could do with a good paint up, this is the main thing that you notice on approaching the hotel, it is a large Victorian house converted into a large number of rooms, our room was OK but no shower only a rubber pipe type spray you had to use in the bath, the meals are small in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good three night stay here. Staff helpful and friendly in all areas. Dinner Bed & Breakfast at £33 per head! Choice at mealtime, food perfectly acceptable. Same story as many places, refurb and update needed in rooms but though basic it did the job. Limited parking not an issue outside school holidays. Would recommend but don't expect the Ritz!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I would fully agree with all of the points made by the review in May. The room was drab, wallpaper peeling, walls damp. The bathroom was spartan, poorly lit and suffered from damp. My main problem with the room however was the fact that whoever was staying upstairs made it sound like they were moving furniture around until well after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you had a problem with your room it would have been helpful to have reported this to Reception and if at all possible we would have moved you to an alternative room. Unfortunately some guests are not as respectful to other guests and had this also been mentioned to... More

nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently spent a week here with a Travelstyle coach holiday. It proved a lovely experience. Bedroom clean and comfortable. Dining room clean .Bar, well run. Garden lovely.Entertainment reasonable. Food good. Well sited for beach lift and town. . Will visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write your review. The staff work hard to provide the best service they can and its good to see that you were able to recognise and comment on their efforts. Thank you. We do hope to see you again in the future. More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After a long and tiresome journey we arrived after 11 hours travelling to be met by James the hotel manager. Our cases were offloaded and we were given the key to our allocated room. Unfortunately since my booking I had a stroke and our room was No. 24 at the top of the hotel, many stairs and without a lift.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do work hard to try and make sure everyone enjoys their stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to Wendy, Janice and Tracey. It is always helpful to let the Hotel know in advance if you do have any special requirements and we will... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a cheap hotel that gives you the opportunity to visit a beautiful island at a bargain price BUT!... this is not a new building. It as seen better days including the décor, furniture, carpets and fittings but it is cheap enough to not really complain about it. It was clean and tidy. The rooms functional and the showers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a budget hotel and feel we offer good value for money. We appreciate that you have been kind enough to recognise this and comment favourably in your review. We hope to see you again should you decide to make a further visit to this lovely Island. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Medehamstede Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Shanklin with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Number of rooms
52

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Medehamstede Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer