We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Shanklin hotels

Auckland Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Queen's Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Auckland Hotel to your Saves list
Auckland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
72%
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
coupleswindon swindon
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    12
    10
    11
See reviews for
12
63
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just spent 5 days at this hotel our room was at the very top room was immaculate very roomy with a lovely large bathroom this room appeared to have not long been refurbished beds were very comfy the only complaint is if you want more coffee tea or sugar you have to purchase at the desk every other hotel we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

we stayed late july, i must say we got off on the wrong foot as we had to reschedule our ferry crossing due to unavailable night , the cost was refunded by the hotel manager. has to be said is a little dated suitable for elderly couples, there was entertainment two nights pity this was not supported more, only two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we take all reviews on board. The date of the holiday for this guest was changed, the administration fee incurred for changing the ferry ticket was refunded. We believe the price we charge for the four course dinner is extremely reasonable. As far as the pressure was concerned the thermostat inside the unit was replaced... More

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good points - clean, good service, lovely large room with balcony, appeared to be new tiling in bathroom and new carpet, light and airy generally. Breakfast OK, excellent location. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Less good - very dated 1970's feel, did not like rigid meal times, shower pathetic, bath and toilet needed replacing with modern items, bath waste corroded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon Best Regards More

Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just spent a week at the Auckland hotel and yes it's decor is dated but very clean. The staff and owners are very friendly and welcoming. This is the first time we have visited the Isle of Wight and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a good sized double room which had a large en suite. We stayed on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your review, hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards More

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room last minute online for 1 night as wanted to start my holiday earlier than planned. The Auckland isn't somewhere that I normally would have considered as it is fair to say it does not have the same visual impact as other hotels on the same road. However I can honestly say how pleasantly surprised I was once... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again in the near future. Best Regards More

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

stayed at this hotel 15 june 2014, 7 days with national holidays, the hotel and room we stayed in was clean and tidy the meals were good although those with large appitites would proberly say please sir i want some more.but we had sufficient at both meal times and the staff were pleasant and sociable at all times they would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tameside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just returned from this hotel on holiday with National Coach holidays and were very pleased with the hotel. The staff were very obliging and the hotel was clean, meals good and very good value for money. It is very well placed only 3 mins to lift down to beach and a 6 min.walk to old Shanklin the pubs there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you at the Auckland in the near future More

Dorset
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Auckland Hotel exceeded all my expectations even after reading favourable reviews in Tripadvisor .Pleasant situation in a quiet road opposite beautiful old church and truly a very short walk to the sea and the lift to the beach - on the budget of this trip with Just Go! Holidays I was immediately surprised with the location, followed by excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you at the Auckland in the near future. More

Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

just back from a just go trip got there late but booking in was quick with help of two lads who had cases in rooms we were soon sorted and eating eve meal. staff very friendly and helpful . entertainment on two nights very good would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to the Auckland in the near future. More

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have just had a long weekend stay at the Auckland Hotel. We had a very nice room with a balcony and comfortable beds. The hotel is very clean and has very friendly staff also serving good food. We had an extremely enjoyable stay. We will return in the near future. Special mention for the very efficient waitresses.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable weekend with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Auckland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Address: 10 Queen's Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (44)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Shanklin with
any amenities