We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland Hotel

10 Queen's Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Auckland Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    56
    13
    12
    12
See reviews for
13
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'm reviewing this holiday / hotel on the price I paid. Four of us booked a weeks holiday here with National Holidays as a cheap base to go walking on the I-O-W. Our driver Mal was very profession and being a driver myself and sitting in front I was more then happy with his driving. Yes the Auckland is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel for a week with National coach holidays never having done this type of holiday before and I have to say we had a fantastic week. After reading some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive. On arrival our cases were taken up to our room. We had a top floor balcony room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
a long way off
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Auckland is a two star hotel, so do not expect five star luxuries. With that in mind, its affordable rates provide good value. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the food is fine and the friendly, co-operative staff are real assets.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on a 7 day break with National Holidays.The hotel is clean,comfortable,the food is excellent and the staff are lovely,especially Carol in the dining room.Its very handy for the lift to the beach,and Shanklin Village is only a 10 minute walk away.We had a really good week apart from the dreadful weather.If you drink tea and coffee take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Am very disappointed with this hotel the shower was poor we had to bath every day could not fix shower and no room was available to move us into. It's says on the website this hotel as had a refurbishment I can tell you this are room as had NO REFIT the bath room floor was dirty the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

THESE GUESTS WERE VERY RUDE AND THESE PHOTOS HAVE BEEN DISTORTED. WE ARE HAPPY FOR TRIP ADVISOR TO COME AND CHECK THE ROOM TO SEE FOR THEMSELVES! At no point did these guests come to reception and make a complaint. They were very rude in the dining room to members of staff. The shower was in full working order but... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

This hotel is completely un-customer friendly for the elderly or infirm. No ground floor rooms or lift facility. The owner was disrespectful to both my parents and fellow residents. At best this gets a 6/10 which is purely down to the food quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

FALSE AND UNTRUE COMMENTS ARE NOT WELCOME, COMPLETELY UNFOUNDED. The company these guests booked with states quite clearly that we do not provide any ground floor rooms and that we do not have a lift. These guests never ever approached the reception, therefore how is it that they are making rude and untrue comments about the owner which are completely... More 

Newcstle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We had a very nice room at the front with a balcony,bath with shower and very clean,the food was good and waitress service too.average bar prices.No lift and twelve steps to the first floor.Very well situated for the shops and the old village.thinking about returning one day,even though my wife uses a wheel chair.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

My wife and I have just spent a week at the Auckland and found it a very nice hotel. It is one of the best coach holiday hotels we have stayed in. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The bed was fine if a little bit hard, but definitely needs new pillows. The food was good although the choice was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome back in the near future. Best Regards More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

just got back from this clean friendly hotel,staff brilliant food was excellent.stayed in room 104 spacious and comfortable.hotel was situated near old shanklin village which is picture postcard,locals so friendly.both my husband and i will return,and thankyou auckland hotel for a great stay. entertainment was 2 nights not to our liking ,but you cant please everyone.we went with national holidays... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your review, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. And we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Best Regards More 

Blantyre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Just back from a short break away to the Isle of Wight as a 30th birthday present from my husband. We booked the Auckland Hotel as it was where my grandparents went for their yearly holiday for many years and where myself and my family had visited when on the at the same time. We were pleased to see that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we very much hope to see you again in the future. It was always a pleasure to see your Grandparents and they always enjoyed their holidays here at the Auckland very much. Kindest Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#38 of 55 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#15 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#8 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#39 of 55 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#35 of 55 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#34 of 55 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay