We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland Hotel

10 Queen's Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Auckland Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    53
    12
    12
    12
See reviews for
13
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Am very disappointed with this hotel the shower was poor we had to bath every day could not fix shower and no room was available to move us into. It's says on the website this hotel as had a refurbishment I can tell you this are room as had NO REFIT the bath room floor was dirty the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is completely un-customer friendly for the elderly or infirm. No ground floor rooms or lift facility. The owner was disrespectful to both my parents and fellow residents. At best this gets a 6/10 which is purely down to the food quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

FALSE AND UNTRUE COMMENTS ARE NOT WELCOME, COMPLETELY UNFOUNDED. The company these guests booked with states quite clearly that we do not provide any ground floor rooms and that we do not have a lift. These guests never ever approached the reception, therefore how is it that they are making rude and untrue comments about the owner which are completely... More 

Newcstle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very nice room at the front with a balcony,bath with shower and very clean,the food was good and waitress service too.average bar prices.No lift and twelve steps to the first floor.Very well situated for the shops and the old village.thinking about returning one day,even though my wife uses a wheel chair.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I have just spent a week at the Auckland and found it a very nice hotel. It is one of the best coach holiday hotels we have stayed in. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The bed was fine if a little bit hard, but definitely needs new pillows. The food was good although the choice was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

just got back from this clean friendly hotel,staff brilliant food was excellent.stayed in room 104 spacious and comfortable.hotel was situated near old shanklin village which is picture postcard,locals so friendly.both my husband and i will return,and thankyou auckland hotel for a great stay. entertainment was 2 nights not to our liking ,but you cant please everyone.we went with national holidays... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blantyre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Just back from a short break away to the Isle of Wight as a 30th birthday present from my husband. We booked the Auckland Hotel as it was where my grandparents went for their yearly holiday for many years and where myself and my family had visited when on the at the same time. We were pleased to see that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Just got back real good value for money hotel clean and fresh payed extra for a balcony room thought it was well worth it staff were lovely and helpful just remember you are paying for a buget hotel so take your own tea coffee if you have upmarket taste the coach driver Amanda was brilliant best value for money ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This is the best hotel we've stayed in on a budget holiday, room was spacious, bathroom excellent. The staff are very friendly and the food was a very high standard. The hotel is in excellent location, the bar is reasonably priced, we can't fault it, I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We stayed last week and it was one of the best budget holidays we've had so far. Our room was on the top floor with a balcony so we had good views over Sandown Bay. The bedroom was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. We took our own coffee sachets to supplement the ones in the hospitality tray plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable 5 day holiday here in April last year and it is by far the best hotel we have stayed in for bedroom with a great view from the balcony to the wonderful service we received especially from the lovely waitress who made us very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#36 of 55 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#15 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#7 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#38 of 55 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#35 of 55 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#34 of 55 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay