We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grange Bank House

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
3 Grange Road, Shanklin PO37 6NN, England
Grange Bank House
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again Peter and Carol made us feel at home with a wonderful welcome, thoughtful attention and superb breakfasts. The accommodation was as usual to a very high standard and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation is very close to the High Street and the local attractions and eateries and is only a few minutes walk from the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and friends for 1 night. We were greeted with a warm welcome, given a comprehensive tour and offered tea in the sun lounge after we'd settled in. Everywhere was clean and tidy. Peter was extremely knowledgeable about where to eat. After a quiet night sleep, we were served a delicious breakfast which we ate at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Thanks peter & Carol for a great stay at the Grange bank.Everything spot on ie The Room,Breakfast & most importantly the both of you for been sincere & Generally very nice people.Also, most of the time the weather was sunny, While overcast on the mainland. See you next year. Patrick, Eastbourne, East Sussex.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Stayed two nights in room #9, I have high standerds but i could not find any fault or critisisum of any kind. I have stayed in several B&B's in shanklin and this was by far the best in all ways possible. Please don't thing it's low price is in any way a reflection of the service you will get, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Good hotel obvious attention to detail. Decoration good and beds comfortable. Owners very helpful and friendly and facilitated an early breakfast so we could catch the 9.30 am ferry with lots of time to spare. Would visit again and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Our stay with Peter and Carol was everything we could wish for in a B&B. Spotlessly clean, we could not fault the ensuite room, and had hot showers morning and evening. There was a good selection of food at breakfast, cooked to perfection in the case of the full English and its variations. The location is excellent, in the Old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very clean relaxing place to stay. Everything was fine but shower was cold which spoilt the stay. When we asked about the temperature of the showers, we were told that as breakfast is between 8.30 and 9.00 and everyone is needing to get ready for this time, that other guests must have been up earlier and used the hot water.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter and Carol R, Owner at Grange Bank House, responded to this review

Dear Steve and Marie I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. On arrival we take our guest to their room and explain how to operate everything including the Mira showers and then offer tea and coffee and biscuits in the sun room when they have settled in their room, as I am sure you will... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very welcoming , spotlessly clean, comfortable, easy access to town, chine, beach, buses. I had a single en suite room with kettle, TV, everything I needed. Breakfast is extensive with freshly cut fruit, range of cereals, every combination of full English breakfast you can imagine, all cooked on an aga so not greasy and cooked the way I asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This guest house sets the standard for others to follow. We feel sorry for the others!! Peter and Carol do a superb job, they are so welcoming, friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfasts are delicious. The rooms are lovely, so clean, beautifully decorated and furnished. The beds are really very comfortable. The location couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I both from Australia stayed there for 3 nights very disappointed, the breakfast could only be taken between 0830 & 0900 and obviously most of the meal had been pre cooked, the bacon and sausage were awful, no cafeteria coffee, too expensive was the response. First day I had tea, yuk, so weak, second day decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter and Carol R, Owner at Grange Bank House, responded to this review

Dear Janet I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We had just started to clear breakfast room when you arrived at 10am, we stopped what we were doing and let you check in 4 hours early. just to clarify as stated on your booking, entry to breakfast room is 8.30 to 9am. all our breakfasts... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question