We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Shanklin B&Bs / inns

The Bayhouse

Keats Green | 8 chine ave, Shanklin PO37 6AG, England
Hotel amenities
The Bayhouse
Ranked #35 of 53 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

What a fantastic stay! - I couldn't have asked for a better location which was a great base to go explore the whole Island. The view from the breakfast room was stunning. Free internet (wifi) was a plus. My room was clean and tidy. The owners were nice people and made me feel welcome. Thank you for a lovely stay!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bayhouse2013, Owner at The Bayhouse, responded to this review

We are the new owners of The Bayhouse from February 2014. Up grades and decoration now taking place through the bedrooms. We hope for great time with future guests and look forward to meeting you all . More

Hucknall, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Arrived on 4/10/13 around tea time and lady in reception asked for payment immediately and offered us upstairs or downstairs room.We chose upstairs and proceeded through a maze of dark corridors as the economical lighting was slower than the average human.The room was poor so we returned to reception to see the lady about changing rooms.After stating that they took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
bayhouse2013, Manager at The Bayhouse, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. On arrival we always take paying . Most hotels do. We advertise the hotel as 2 star as we understand that the bedrooms need upgrading. As for the layout of the corridors , i'm sorry we can do much about this. The reason i explained to you that... More

Notts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location! It's a stunning view of the sea and right next door to Shanklin Chine and five minute walk from Old Shanklin and the beach. We stayed in the family room for two adults and a child, however, we were able to fit a travel cot in too and have enough space. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July with a friend, We arrived straight from both working nights and were knackered, Our check in time was 2pm but we arrived at 11am to find our room ready for us, It was a hot day and asked for a fan which was no trouble, Paid the extra for a cooked breakfast which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

DISMAL. The only plus is the view which you don't get from the room. The breakfast is appalling: no real coffee, Happy Shopper yoghurt and very little to eat at all: just cheap. We didn't even bother with it after the first day. If there was a cooked option, no one bothered to tell us... The manager seemed pleasant enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bayhouse2013, Manager at The Bayhouse, responded to this review

I Honestly feel disappointed with this review, the guests stayed for 3 nights only a few days ago with there bikes which we helped store and keep safe, They were showed there room which is only 2 doors away from the reception area. And explained about cooked breakfast available if they wished one. They did complain about the reception on... More

Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I always say that if it is good I would go back, well I would go back if 1) the room had a shower and it worked 2)the room had a tv that didnt keep on losing the stations 3)we would like to have access to wi fi in the room 4)the beds didnt have plastic mattress protectors 5)there would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have just returned to Australia after spending three months at the Bay House Hotel. During that time I was treated with the utmost kindness and consideration by the owners, who, knowing that I was on my own made almost part of their family. Any small glitches were dealt with promptly with humour and concern. Clean, warm rooms and towels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torbay
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and spent a week there over our wedding anniversary in early May and enjoyed every minute of it. The management who have recently taken over this hotel are very friendly and helpful, nothing is to much trouble for them.and they or their staff are always available for help or advice. The rooms are clean, the towels changed every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I cannot comment on the standard of rooms because I only visited to eat and relax, initially the loud music coming from within put us off but the location over rode the music and I am so pleased we did go in , taken into the restaurant away from the bar deadened the music and we sat overlooking the bay.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My Husband and I booked a romantic getaway on my Birthday.We werent expecting anything out of the ordinary when we chose to book a stay at the bayhouse.However,we were exteremely disappointed at the lack of basics. Although,the location was beautiful and jus a small walk away from the beach,the rooms faced the side walk which gave visible access to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
bayhouse2013, Owner at The Bayhouse, responded to this review

My wife and i cannot help but feel disappointed at this review , The guests booked this room at 1am and arrived the same day. On arrival the guests were told by myself that the chef was off but the bar/restaurant was open if they required it. The guest told me they would be popping out. The guest bedroom is... More

Been to The Bayhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayhouse

Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Shanklin
The Bayhouse Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Address: Keats Green | 8 chine ave, Shanklin PO37 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owners from feb 2014. Decorating all bedrooms and improving our service ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bayhouse to your Saves list